We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beer Bucket - CLOSED

Beer Bucket
Cuisines: Mexican, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We popped in as a group for a few drinks - great atmosphere & staff couldn't be any more friendly or attentive. Great little spot & will definitely be returning!! Also bar man gave great & unbiased advice about when to leave for queue at Cocos - much appreciated & very honest - thanks a million :0)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurelvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“OK for a couple of drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A little disappointed by this place given all the fab reviews, but I think we may have caught it on a bad day as the upstairs bar was closed and there were only a handful of people downstairs (even though December should be peak season).

It's a little off the beaten track and is quite rough around the edges (my partner says "spit and sawdust") but fine for a couple a couple of drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
231 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Cold beer and good people-watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Beer Bucket is something of an institution in Playa. We've been going there since Jaime owned it way back in the 90's -- although the location has changed three times since then. It's been at the current location for several years, though, and there's always a nice crowd of locals and tourists hanging around. The beer is very cold and reasonably priced and there's a good selection of mixed drinks, too. This is not a restaurant or a "stay-all-night" place, but it's a fun place to sit for a while to catch up on the local gossip and watch the people go by. Edith is a good manager who's been there several years and can offer tips for other places to go, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melindamccrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Coooooldest beer in Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Beer Bucket is a bar! No "let's go have some calamari and a glass of wine" place or "best burger in Playa" place or "you should have our cheesecake" place. This is a bar (on 10th Street b'tween 5th and 10th Avenue) where it just so happens, has the cooooldest beer in Playa. There's always a good crowd where you hear all sorts of accents (Spanish, of course, but also British, German, Austrailian, and, sometimes, the Southern drawl of Virginia Beach). Edith, who runs the place, and her bartenders know when you want another cold beer. Just when you're about to ask for one, it appears in front of you. Service is great, people are interesting and it's always a good time. If you're looking for a taste of the locals and the tourists (and did I mention the coldest beer in Playa?) head to the Beer Bucket.....they also make a great Margarita and have all mixed drinks and wine but the main attraction is....well, you know.

They ask a few questions below. FYI: some seating is out doors. It's an open air bar with some stools that are on one side of the bar that's kinda on the sidewalk. Great seaing for conversation. It's prices are very good with a happy hour every day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TioDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Beer Bucket, best ambiance in Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I have been stopping by the Beer Bucket for a cold bucket of beers for the last 7 years of visiting Playa. We've been around to see the Bucket under Capt. Ron and Sharkey, as well as the new owners. It's always our first stop of the evening to get things started with a few cold Victoria or Modelo. The barmaids are great, and we always see a few familiar faces. It's the kind of place we hang around out where we live in the States. No phonies, just regular people who like cold beers, friendly atmosphere, and great prices. We've taken friends from our hotel there several times, and they've also loved it. After we check in, the Beer Bucket is always our first stop for a cold beer or two.....or three.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghbeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Bucket also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing