We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Ranked #74 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Good food,very clean, will return next year, clean beaches, great sailing,plenty of things to keep the kids busy,staff very friendly never had to wait at the bar. great place would recomend to any one for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sailerman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,



Thank you for having taken the time to write this positive review.



The most important goal to us is to provide all of our guests with happy and memorable vacation experiences. We are glad to know that we have achieved this.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,753)
There are newer reviews for Viva Wyndham Azteca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 3,753 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

First time in the Mayan Riviera. Resort great, close to beach , although surf was up due to wind.Lots of lounges in the beach area, but people have a tendency to put their towels down early, and don't show up until much later if at all.. Had access to other Viva resort about a 12 min. walk. About a 25 min. walk to downtown, with access to Cozumel Ferry. .Accom. good, staff pleasant. Food variety excellent - unbelievable at the choices.

Room Tip: Not familiar enough with the whole layout - but we stayed on the top floor - 3200 series, close to t...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill-Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear customer,

It is really satisfactory to receive your positive feedback and to know that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.


Thank you for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.



Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a great holiday here with friends. We were somewhat concerned before we went about the food, after reading some of the reports on trip advisor, especially as holiday food is extremely important to our two husbands! However, we need not have worried. The selection of food in the buffet was consistently excellent, and I defy anyone to eat everything even over a two week period! The fruit, vegetables and salads were gorgeous and the cheese very tasty too. We often ate there three times a day and had no complaints. Occasionally there would be a tough piece of meat, but no problem - just go back and get something else from the vast selection! Breakfast in particular was set out to cater to the tastes of just about any nationality you could imagine.

We also enjoyed the three a la carte restaurants. The men liked the Italian best (steaks!) but the women probably liked the Mexican best. The seating for this is outdoors and on the night we went was verging on the chilly, so a wrap, jumper or suchlike is recommended. Being British, we were somewhat disappointed that the resort do not in any way enforce their stated policy of long trousers and shirts with collars in the a la carte restaurants.

The serving staff in all the eating locations were unfailingly great to us - helpful, cheerful and with great senses of humour. We did tip frequently, but did not feel that this really affected their attitude towards us. Bellita, who manages the a la carte restaurants, was particularly sweet and is to be congratulated on her management of them.

We so enjoyed the cocktails! It was great fun trying the specialist ones that were served every night, and those by the lower bar in the late afternoons. The wine was disgusting, seemingly watered down to random different strengths on different days! However, we had been warned on tripadvisor of course, and could have paid for good stuff if we wanted. We decided that so long as we treated it as a drink rather than wine as such, then it was often bearable. We often decided to stick to unlimited delicious cocktails instead though!

We had an ocean view room (booked through the dependable Virgin)which we were very happy with. Some of the rooms further back in the complex did smell strongly of damp. Wonderful view from our room, a proper balcony with chairs and table, and we were able to dry our swimming gear on these every day. The bathroom was fine, the shower great. We were not bothered to have to take flannels with us, again having been warned of this on trip advisor, as it something we often have to do in Europe anyway. The room was kept impeccably clean, and we loved the towel animals every day. As for there only being two bottles of water in the mini-bar, we tipped the maid for extra the next morning (she gave us 3) and then realised that all we had to do was refill our bottles all the time from the more than plentiful purified water taps everywhere around the complex. We had also taken a couple of water flasks with us (again warned by the wonderful trip advisor). So, what's the problem? Ecologically it makes total sense.

The activities were brilliant. We didn't really join in much ourselves, but were always politely asked and not hassled in the slightest. We often really enjoyed watching others doing dance classes etc, and particularly enjoyed seeing the children. The children's activities are obviously fantastic, and they were all enjoying themselves so much. We did go to one evening show, put on by the hard-working, enthusiastic animation team. We decided it was great for families with children up to about 12 years old!

The beach is just incredible, with fabulous walking along the edge of the sea for a long, long way in each direction. We particularly liked walking to the right, where eventually the hotels stopped, giving way to countryside. All very pretty, and if you look carefully there are many iguanas on the rocks on the beach at this point. There are plentiful straw shades on the beach - which is more than some of the hotels have. You really need to see the hotels beachside rather than roadside before choosing one. The sea was never totally calm when we were there, but going in the roped-off area worked very well. A couple of days all we could do was jump the waves rather than swim, but that was great fun too. It is very shallow for a long way, so completely safe for supervised children.

We went on a couple of outings - booked through Virgin as we had a bad (and dangerous) experience in Thailand when we booked an excursion through an outside provider (don't ask!). Chichen Itza is a must, and going to the sink hole afterwards was great too. Our guide was fine, but unfortunately not very inspiring or enthusiastic. This was probably highlighted as there was a great contrast to the guide on our first trip , Riaz on the Coba Cultural. Coba was very interesting, but best of all was going to a Mayan settlement in the afternoon and being taken around the smallholding and habitations of one of the self-sufficient families. Riaz is half-Mayan himself and just oozes knowledge and enthusiasm. It was immensely interesting.

We did go to see the sister hotel, but decided we liked ours much better. In particular, we loved the pool bar with the view right down to the sea, rather than the seemingly somewhat claustrophobic one in the middle of the complex at the other hotel. Depends what you want really. We liked being in a smaller hotel, particularly as it was not noisy at night time.

This is not a 5 star hotel and you don't pay 5 star prices, and you shouldn't expect 5 star accommodation. We have been to Sandalls in Jamaica, which cost us considerably more. There were some things we preferred about Sandalls, but there were very definitely some thing we preferred about here too. Overall we were very happy, and would particularly thank the staff who work so tirelessly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank smilingtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,



Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of our Resort, its facilities and services and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.



We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the Viva Wyndham Azteca contributed in making your visit to the Mayan Riviera an unforgettable experience! Your comments about our staff and about the impeccable service make us very proud. Your kind remarks will be passed on to them.



Once again thank you very much for sharing your experiences.



We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.



Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Viva wyndham Azteca from March 7-14th. It was absolutely awesome. I have been to this resort before, and I must say each time it gets better. The location is perfect! Everyone(staff) is amazing. They go out of their way to make you feel important, cater to your every need. The smiles, drinks, beach, rooms, total environment, is breath taking. It is a smaller resort, which being as this trip was for relaxing, the size is perfect.
If you plan on going to playa del carmen check out blue lobster on 5th ave, the seafood is fabulous. The taxi is $7, or you can walk it in 15 minutes. Another highlight is our room was on the 3rd floor so always wi-fi, most of the reviews and people we spoke to said they had to go to the lobby to get wi-fi, not us, we had it most always, except on the beach. The entertainment staff worked their butt off and it showed.
Yes its a 4* resort but the food is impeccable, fresh fish every night, the fruit and vegetables were so fresh, just as if they just came from the garden. The deserts were also great. You will not be disappointed with this resort, unless you are looking for a partying atmosphere, but then you can go to coco bongos :-)

Room Tip: 2325 was a great room, wi-fi and newer, awesome view of beach and gardens
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ch0rney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear guest,



There is no greater compliment than to hear from our loyal return guests that their stays are exceptional time and time again.



We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay while enjoying our convenient location and entertaining activities. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your positive review of the Viva Wyndham Azteca.



Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at the Viva Wyndham Azteca are the best!!
And I want to Thank, Angel, Oscar, Mario, Enzo, Camilla
Daniel, Roberto and everyone else for helping to make our
trip as great as it was.
Jackie Campbell

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear customer,



Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
We are glad to know that you had the chance to enjoy your vacation at our resort.



We would be delighted to welcome you back to our Resort and thank you for recommending the Viva Wyndham Azteca on TripAdvisor.



Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed last week in Feb13' had a good holiday. Approx 45 mins transfer from hotel, check in quick and no problems. Given directions and had to find own room (no porter!) room large but basic, kept clean all week with clean towels each day. Beach beautiful, plenty of sun beds but most reserved by 8am. Food always something to eat but nothing fancy. We went to Italian restaurant, no atmosphere and food same as buffet. All staff very friendly and helpful. We took bikes out one morning which we enjoyed and were free for up to 3 hours. A 20 minute stroll down the beach and you are in the town which is quite busy with lots of bars and shops.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ChesterfieldAJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear customer,

It is really satisfactory to receive your positive feedback and to know that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.


Thank you for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.



Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We got a great deal at the Viva Wyndham Azteca. Food quality & variety was awesome, although seemed a bit short staffed at times and would've been nice to have more than 3 ala carte reservations for a 7 night stay. Maid service & room cleanliness was super. Don't be a cheap-wad: Plan to tip... at least an extra $20-25 a day (each meal, maid service, bellman, bartenders, towel guy, anyone that does anything for you). While all staff was attentive & very friendly, we didn't appreciate the high pressure sales tactics of the 'vacation club' timeshare salespeople... perhaps it works on some people, we simply find it disrespectful. We weren't really interested in participating in the activities (we really just wanted to lay around and unwind, enjoy the beach), but the animation staff was appropriately engaging with us. Yes, Viva is an Italian company, and there is a high number of European guests. We found it refreshing. If you're looking for 5 star accommodation, go pay 5 star prices. For what we paid, we got an awesome value and would return anytime in a heartbeat. Thank you everyone at the Viva Wyndham Azteca!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear customer,

We really appreciate your review published on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort.

Thank you for recommending Viva Wyndham Azteca. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.5 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#88 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
6,697 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#84 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,091 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $166 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing