We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wanted to love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Ranked #70 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from two weeks spent at this resort, February 9 - 23. Despite being 3rd time repeat visitors, and despite e-mailing the resort manager twice prior to our arrival, we were very disappointed in our room location. Reception was unable to change our room as the resort was full. I even requested to go to the Maya but apparently they also were full. I was advised to come back to the desk in two days for "maybe" a room change. I was at the desk the next morning. While I waited to speak to the manager I was talking to people checking out of 2106. I asked the manager if I could have that room. I was told no, it was an ocean view and a handicapped room, but was offered 2128, a much better location than our first room. Thank you Irene. The next two weeks were very relaxing and for the most part, great. Good food at the buffet, always eaten outside and made better by the friendliness and service by Jorge. Every other evening we would eat at an A la carte, all were good, the best was the Viva cafe with excellent service by Mario. The clientele at this resort is predominately European, the majority being Italian. We did feel ignored on the beach by the hardworking Animacion team as we didn't speak Italian, but the few young men that did speak to us were very friendly and made us feel less invisible. Thank you Antonio (who remembered my name from day one), Oscar and Raoul, we appreciated it! And thank you to Manuel at the pool bar. We loved his cappuccinos and Americanos enjoyed every morning on the amazing beach! Although we really enjoyed our vacation, it was obvious to us, and others, that the Italian tourists are given preferential treatment and perks (e.g. Room assignments) by the staff. This may have an impact on whether we would return to this resort. We did not experience this discrepancy in our previous stay at the Azteca nor our stay last year at the Maya.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the stay you had at our property.


It is really rewarding to read your positive comments and we are glad to know that your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca was enjoyable. Rest assured that we will take your comments as valid observations that will help us to improve our services.

Thank you for choosing our resort and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.



Kind regards,



General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 3,889 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

The ressort is well located near Playa Del Carmen Center(20 minutes walk) and the beach is exquisite. The hotel is a family-oriented ressort, not for the party people and drinking parties. Really family and older crowd of people ressort. Not Cancun at all...Few young people around. Pre-teens and children and people reading books kind of people....
The hotel common areas have been remodel, but the rooms needs an urgent UPDATE in furniture and mattresses (the worst ones in my life in 2 rooms I was). The hotel is SUPER CLEAN and the cleaning ladies are excellent.

The soundproofing in the rooms is bad....as you can hear the doors been slam all day and forget doing a siesta in the afternoon with all the noises from the cleaning ladies moving furniture around while cleaning surrounding rooms....Not the kind of stuff you expect in a 4 stars but in a 3 stars ressort.... The internet services only ofer in the lobby was lslow and malfunctionning most of the time...Usually a 4 stars ressort offers intenet services in all their rooms. The ppol is samll and forget trying to get some peace with all the kids around in the unique pool. Usually a 4 stars hotel has more than a small pool...Another negative point: 80% of all rooms DON'T have a open balcony where you can seat outside....not fantastic....
The food was good as well as the drinks. The staff are very helpfull and nice.

The worst thing in that ressort, the "FAVORITISM" made toward the Italian European Tourists in the ressort. They make up for minimum 40% of the clients and have their own ITALIAN ANIMATION TEAM in the ressort called "Villagi Bravo". The animation teams only deals with Italian, served and helped only those clients....Can you imagine, an Italian Animation Team in a Mexican Ressort ...really bad and found that even the own ressort animation team was making alot of effort to PLEASE only those clients who have a business agreement with the mexican management team....They come from Italy and gets priviledges in the ressort....You can imagine that they have a "strong bargainning power" in the ressort and that the North-American Tourists are not their top priority in term of satisfaction...
We did not get the attention and even the room we should have deserve eventough we had booked our trip 10 months ago for a 2 weeks stay....The FEW North-Americans were "ship" in the worst room section of the ressort with the worst rooms of course....

Felt that we were a "second-class" of tourists in that ressort.... A fair 3 stars, not exquisite at all and with a "favoritism attitude" I did not like at all. Felt I was in an European Ressort and felt betrayed my the Mexican Management who only have interests in their business venture with their Italian Tourists Group....
Never again in the ressort....not made for North-American....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrenchBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,



Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent vacation at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We regret the inconveniences that you might have experienced during your recent vacation at our resort. We take our guest’s opinions very serious and therefore rest assured that your comments will be taken as valid points that will assist us in our commitment to continue improving the quality of our services for our future guest.

We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.


Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Let me begin by saying that I have visited Cuba (3), St. Lucia, Bahamas, Dominican Repubic (2)& Hawaii in the past in a valiant effort to find the perfect resort. I can honestly say that this resort is by far the best of them all.
The staff is incredible, a huge shout out to Mario, Fernando, Raziel, Sergio, Jorge, the cleaning ladies... Food is plentiful and varied, theme nights are fun & entertaining. The fact that it is a small resort makes it even better. Coffee Bar at 4:30 daily at the pool bar is the perfect way to end a day spent ocean side. Activities abound, beach volleyball, bocce, the "crazy game", bingo, soccer, all tournaments organized by an entertainment staff that goes non-stop to satisfy the guests. Nightly shows are amazing and hysterically interactive on some nights.
It is within walking distance of the local market and Starbucks. Safe day or night. Take the time to visit 5th Avenue for additional shopping. Not inexpensive but worth the venture. Also, if you have a chance and are interested visit the ruins at Coba or Chi Chinitza, very interesting Mayan history.
Without a doubt we will be back. We spent 9 incredible days here and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear guest,



Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an outstanding and excellent review about the Viva Wyndham Azteca on TripAdvisor.



We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the Viva Wyndham Azteca contributed in making your visit to Mexico an unforgettable experience! Your comments about our staff and about the impeccable service make us very proud. It is with great pleasure that we share your delightful comments with our entire team. We are absolutely sure it will make their day.



Once again thank you very much for sharing your experiences.



We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.



Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Wyndham Azteca from 9th-23rd Febuary (2 adults + 2 Children age 10 & 9) We booked through Virgin holidays in the UK and had a superior room (2133). The hotel overal was very clean with very friendly and helpful staff. Some of the water sports were not available everyday because the sea was too rough due to the wind, this is not the hotels fault but it was just the time of year we travelled. Our room was pretty standard,and exactly like the pictures in the brochure, we were quite happy with it, tv and mini fridge (although this was not refilled) and a electronic safe which worked fine. Maid service everyday, The entertainment team were always busy organising fun and games around the pool & on the beach but if you didn't want to join in they didn't hasstle you. We really enjoyed watching alot of it! There is loud music around the pool everyday which didn't bother us, It didn't start before 10am and usually finished around 5pm. You have the use of the sister hotel (viva wyndham Maya) we walked up the beach to it a few times it takes about 5 min. It's a much bigger hotel but I think the azteca was a better hotel as I had my children with me and with less people it was much easier to keep an eye on them. The beach was great, loads of sun beds. You can book scuba diving, boat trips/snorkelling from the dive centre but the actual trip go from the Maya. My partner had tennis and windsurfing lessons and he said they were really good.
The food in the buffet restaurant was ok, alot of choice, every night is a different theme night, French night, Italian, American, Mexican etc. I really enjoyed the breakfasts toast, croissants, fresh doughnuts, but if your after a proper 'full english breakfast' you will be disapointed.This is probably due to the majority of guests seemed to be Italian, French, Canadian, we only found 3 or 4 other familes from the UK. My partner ate in the a la carte italian, he said it was very good much better than the buffet.
We booked our trip through the hotel and they were really good. Coba is a must do trip and is only an hour away. A taxi from the hotel to 5th avenue are 70 pesos (around £3.50) or a twenty min walk.
We travelled with Virgin holidays and the rep Migel warned us not to book trips through anyone else and was quite pushy about it. He wanted us to book through virgin which we decided not to. At no point throughout our 2 weeks there did we encounter any timeshare sales people in the hotel.
Overall we were really happy with the hotel and would recomend it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charlotte2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear guest,



It is such a compliment when a guest has enjoyed their stay so much that they felt compelled to write a review.



It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at the Viva Wyndham Azteca and we are happy to hear that your vacation was so memorable.




We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your review.



Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our family of 4 returned to this resort due to how impressed we were the first time (2011). This trip was from Feb. 14-21, 2013. Our son of 15 and daughter of 11 enjoyed it also for the 2nd time around. Excellent staff, excellent food, beautiful location, etc. Take the time to visit all of the ruins in Playacar. We missed so much the first time around. Be sure to book a sitting at the Bamboo room for an excellent oriental dinner. We had room 2122 and it was a fantastic location. I gave a 4 star for the Sleep Quality only because I found the beds hard. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room 2122 has patio doors out to the gardens close to the pool. We loved it. It was the midway poi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VLCimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear guest,



Thank you for having taken the time to write this positive review.



We are delighted that your first experience at our Resort was such a success that you honored us with another visit. We are even more thrilled that you enjoyed your last stay as much as your first one.



It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Azteca.



Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from staying at this resort over Valentines Day. Had a wonderful time. The staff here is top notch with the activities crew! These young people speak a variety of languages, are high spirited and always super friendly! The food at the buffet was more than adequate with surprise cocktails on the courtyard to impromtu food on the beach! We only went to 2 of the 3 ala carte restaurants & both were fantastic with food & service. I only have a couple of negative comments being the water pressure in the shower (a common complaint in Mexico) & that on Sunday & Monday the maid service was slow getting to our rooms probably due to the fact that they concentrated on getting new rooms ready for incoming guests. Techno-disco was a little loud from 10-midnight but we were pretty close to that area. All in all, a great resort, great value for the money, beach was perfect with plenty of loungers, cocktails were plentiful with great bartenders,& food was always available.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, stay closer to the beach side not the atrium part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieB174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear customer,

It is really satisfactory to receive your positive feedback and to know that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.


Thank you for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.



Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Azteca. I was slightly concerned as there are quite a few negative reviews on this site (46 people at time of writing have given this hotel one star) I have to disagree and thought it was fantastic. So whistle stop tour.

Rooms are accurately portrayed by photo's here. Daily maid service was appreciated. We were never disturbed at night time. Room didn't smell (as some have reported here)

Food. Not fantastic but adequate. Always found something to eat but the dishes were repetitive. Wine awful - like it had been diluted and topped up with squash. Beer - great. Cocktails - strong !

Beach - Simply perfect!

Pool - As per the pics. Always managed to get a seat - my only real complaint here was the music - why the originals of Bob Dylan, Oasis, Guns and Roses et al had been replaced by some woman and a flute was beyond me.

Kids club. My daughter loved it - the staff were great and were always doing something with the children. My son (10) was a bit too old for it though.

Trips **Before i start here a word of warning** our Virgin rep warned us not to go to the opposite side of the reception as it sold time share. The following morning he tried hard selling his trips to us. For some reason we didn't trust what he was saying and so asked in the reception about time share. They didn't do it, they did trips though. We booked with them and saved over a hundred pounds. Tulum is worth a visit, snorkelling in the caves is great fun but the highlight by far was the Zip wires (at Xplore)

All in all Aztec is a brilliant resort. We had a lovely time and the staff are great (except the Virgin rep)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear guest,



We would like to thank you for sharing your review with other travelers on TripAdvisor.



We truly appreciate you choosing Mexico and especially our resort for your family vacation. We are thrilled to hear you had an excellent time with your family and hope that your detailed review will help other visitors to choose us.



Once more we would like to thank you for your preference and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.



Warm regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,981 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#40 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#89 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#78 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Address: Paseo Avenida Xaman Ha Manzana 8, Lote 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $174 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing