We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun fun fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #83 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for a week and we had a blast! The staff was wonderful, the room was nice, and now far from the beach. There are two pools, one is secluded and adults only, the other is the main pool by the beach. Neither is huge, but they are adequate. There are two hot tubs plus two in the spa, they are huge but NONE of them are hot. The gym is nice, the food is wonderful and there is always something to do. The beach is absolutely amazing and there are plenty of chairs. The drinks are great, and they will make you anything. They are not watered down, and they will add extra alcohol if you ask.
Now the down sides......the evening shows are a joke. Terrible! The wifi is free only in the lobby area and my phone never would pick it up. You can pay for premium service which works in room, but it is $15 for 24 hr. The music is awful for the most part. They have a dj at the pool, and a disco, which is also a joke, but the music is just rap or primal beats over and over. I was hoping for some island music at the beach/pool area.
I saw on here others complaining about the restaurants. They are awesome! You CAN eat in the specialty restaurants every night, we did, but there is a trick to it. You can only make two reservations ahead of time, after that you have to make them on the day you want to go. You can get in, none were crowded when we were there. You can also go to Azteca which is four hotels down the beach. Be warned however that it is much more subdued and quiet there. Maya is the happening place, Azteca is the quiet place.
The rooms and grounds were very clean and security was very tight. I would go there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank sksnadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at the Viva Wyndham Maya during your recent vacation.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Rest assured that also your comments will be taken into consideration as they will assist us to continuously improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    2,750
    1,010
    344
    211
See reviews for
2,100
2,469
137
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband & I have stayed at viva wyndham maya 5 times 2011-2014 Jan 2014 & will be there May 2014 . We love the size & the fact that the beach & pool isn't far from everything. The staff is great especially the maids . If your looking for good food I recommend booking the 3 restaurants when you arrive...you can book there or down the road viva wyndham azteca ( same owners ) The buffet is not bad either....if you don't fancy anything they will make you some pasta. We also like the fact that we can take a walk outside the resort there's a little area where the people sell mexican souveners. Love the courtyard it's alive in the evenings. You won't be disappointed !!!!

Room Tip: We stay on the bottom level because my husband can't do the stairs. They've accommadated us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontrealLamouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear customer,

We really appreciate your review published on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a memorable vacation at our Resort. We are also delighted to hear that you are part of our group of loyal guests, whom year after year honor us with their preference.

Thank you for recommending Viva Wyndham Maya and please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back anytime.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We traveled here for Spring Break 2014 with our two boys, 6 & 9 years old - they loved the clean, large beach perfect for hours of playing and easy access to soda fountain/cold water. Food was right up their alley - nachos, hot dogs, hamburgers, etc. We liked that we could see the boys from our beach chairs whether they were in the pool or on the beach volleyball court or in the water. Was the food repetitive, yes. Did we avoid the college crowd, yes. Did we get the time-share talk, yes. But, since we read the reviews here, on TA, we knew what to expect.

This is not a posh resort, but it's clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoyMomTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments will help us evaluate our amenities and services.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit the Riviera Maya.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The food is a cafeteria. While many all inclusives have a nightly main dish this resort has the same food night after night. The food is hardly of the area but rather mexiamerican and not good at that.
The wifi that is free in the lobby and limited in distance and is very slow. They want 15 dollars a day for premium wifi. Outlandish. They charge extra for the use of a safe in your room and when we tried to use it it wouldn't function and took two days to get fixed. The service is good but not particularly friendly like many all inclusives in Mexico. They don't tell you when you check in that saving chairs at the pool and beach begin at a certain morning time. Then they come around and remove towels with no notice. Poor practice. The rooms are nice but unless you are a premium customer don't expect anything in the room refrigerator.
There are many all inclusives with better food, nice rooms and friendlier staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us because it is the more reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities. We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your stay.
We remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Driving through the ghettos was a thrilling experience that was only secondary to the herd of possums roaming the lush ant infested grounds of the resort.

The staff was friendly but not able to produce a working phone which was able to dial out to civilization. The wifi was not existent as were the pillows in our rooms. The beds should have mosquito netting because each if our rooms were swarming in a cloud of bugs! The bugs seemed to be incubating in the rooms due To the fact neither AC unit was properly working.

To sum it up...we arrived at 730 and left the ghetto at 1215am to find sanctuary at a nearby resort in Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frstclsstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear customer,

Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your recent stay in the Mayan Riviera. We regret to hear that our Resort did not meet with your expectations.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

First of all, if you like hotdogs, you'll get them in 27 different dishes from breakfast to supper. Yes we counted 27! If you dont care for hotdogs stay somewhere else. We were there last month for our kid's senior trip. When we first got there it seemed okay. Then we figured out that it is a timeshare place. Which is totally fine unless you're not a timeshare owner. We had different colored bracelets than the owners and we got completely different service than them also. Im not sure if the hotel thought that we only paid $99 a person for a week in mexico or what the deal was. But we paid $1500 a person and we had 13 people with us. So it def. wasn't a cheap vaca. The drinks are extremely watered down, the food is sub par. The entertainment staff is AMAZING however. Those kids work really hard to make sure everyone has a good time. You get one free bottle of water per room per week. If you want more you have to get them from the resort store. Seems easy right?? Wrong. They refuse to take american money if it has any marks, writing, or tears on it. And if you're checking out make sure you buy a bottle of water etc. before you check out, otherwise youre refused service at their store. Only guests are allowed to shop in the store so if youre there waiting for your transfer, you're not considered a guest anymore. I travel to mexico frequently and this is the worst place ive ever stayed. And dont plan on eating at any of the resort restaurants, they're reserved for owners. Unless you want to eat at 10;30 pm on a thursday. Save yourself a headache and stay somewhere else. i generally am not someone who writes reviews, but i just had to this time. The beach is beautiful, and thats about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the fact that you have shared your thoughts on this traveler’s forum.

We strive to create the best possible experience for our guests so it was disappointing to learn that the accommodations did not meet with your expectations. We encourage our guests to share their concerns during their stay so that we may address them immediately and create the experience they come to expect of the Viva Wyndham Maya.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

A fantastic resort with amazing staff. Very friendly, polite and helpful. We stayed in Block 3 near the Relaxation Pool which was quieter than the other two blocks near the main pool and entertainment area. We did not have a balcony to sit out on during the first few days. We then asked to move to the other side of the block (for reference - odd number rooms) and were upgraded to a Vista Suite at no extra cost. The level of cleanliness is outstanding. The specialist restaurants were brilliant - the food was excellent and the presentation was top class! The buffet restaurant had lots of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but for me, like every all-inclusive, it still becomes very 'samey'. A little bland, but I guess that because they are catering for the masses. The staff here were great again - friendly and remembered your drinks at each meal, just little touches that went a long way. Beautiful beach, lovely pools, great drinking bars and fabulous restaurants. The evening entertainment left a little to be desired - great settings, but poor quality performances. Would I recommend this hotel - most definitely!!!!

Room Tip: Block 3, 2nd or 3rd floor, odd numbers. You will be facing the relaxation pool with a balcony and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TriciaTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Reading your positive review is a real reward for the entire team here at Viva Wyndham Resorts and we are very happy to know we have achieved our goal of offering you a memorable stay at our Viva Wyndham Maya Resort.

Thank you for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,323 reviews
12.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Property: Viva Wyndham Maya
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing