We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family holiday.”
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #84 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just come back from 2 weeks at this hotel booked through Virgin Holidays. There were 7 in our party including our five year old and 6 half year old grandsons. The hotel is excellent. We were amazed at the friendly staff, the beautiful grounds and wonderful animals as well as the amazing beach and sea. The sea was quite rough and quite a pull for young children. The pool was brilliant and very very clean. The entertainment team worked so hard - there was something going on all day for those who wanted to take part. The shows they put on every evening were very professional. The trapeze a brilliant experience for both young and older! We couldn't believe how clean the whole area was, cleaners continually brushing up, scraping away water from around the pool, picking up cups etc.
We cannot fault the food. There was such a choice (most dishes appeared fresh each day) you could eat different food every day. The pool area cooked fresh oven pizzas all day long as well as chips, other meals, soup etc. There was always fresh cut up fruit available. I have been to all inclusive hotels before and never had such choices. I really don't know what some people expect. Each week you had a choice of 3 restaurants out of 6 (3 at the sister hotel), all served exceptional well presented food. The drinks were fine, plenty of choices for cocktails and the barmen were amazing.
Security and management were walking around continuously. Reception were always very helpful and doormen always on hand.
The only downside were the rooms which had no sound proofing. There were notices up to be silent when going up and down the corridors but some guests took no notice. It was rather noisy at times which was unpleasant when you are quite a light sleeper. The room maids were excellent and made animals etc out of towels each day.
The rooms starting in the 3000 would be quieter I think. This was near the adult only pool which looked lovely. The tennis courts on top of the roof of this building were excellent. You could use these for free, archery and the gym for free also.
We had a fantastic holiday, loved the hotel and the people, thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms starting in the 3000 would be quieter I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sheilas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for publishing your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We work every day with the commitment to provide a quality service to all of our guests. It is a joy to hear that we achieved our constant goal in your recent visit to our property.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 6,777 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

I meant to write this review a long time ago and I just haven't had the time to do it. The only positive thing I have to say about this trip was the beach was absolutely beautiful and my wedding day was absolutely perfect. I would go back to this area in Playa del Carmen just for the beach alone! The water was spectacular and the beach was soft and white and just wonderful!

However, I would NEVER recommend this resort to anyone. We traveled in a group of 21 for my wedding. When we arrived, we walked in and we were not welcomed by any of the staff. We figured out where to check in and right off the hop, the man at the counter was rude to all of us. I booked a special room (Since we were getting married) and was told it was unavailable and pretty much "too bad". We did arrive earlier than check-in so our rooms were not available yet, but we weren't told what time to come back and check. We were also not provided any room for our luggage to be stored while waiting for a rooms to be ready. My WEDDING DRESS was just to be left in the lobby.. so we took turns watching our luggage so we knew that it would be safe.

We finally got our rooms a few hours later, one by one. We received an ocean-front room which had a CONNECTING door to loud neighbours with a baby. The walls were way too thin. So not only did we hear a small child crying every single night, we also heard some lady moaning for over an hour. Wonderful (N).

The next day we went to our Sunwing meeting and were told (and confirmed again with him) that we were a group and did NOT have to pay for the use of the locked safes in our room. At checkout, all of my guests were charged for using them. We wouldn't have used them if we knew we would charged. Some of our guests didn't even have money left to pay for them! That was a whole other thing. Check-out the night before we left was the worst customer service I have ever seen. We were told "well.. were always booked full so whatever". In the middle of a conversation with a CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE, a Spanish speaking lady interrupted us to ask her a question and she was very forthcoming and polite answering her question. I think they should treat us ALL with proper respect.

The Wedding Day was absolutely perfect and that was because of Karim Rodriguez. He was so wonderful with us and I appreciated all of the special things he did for us. I can't imagine how the day would have went if he wasn't the guy to help. My maid of honour and I got our hair and make up done at the salon and they were very fast and did an amazing job. The set up for our wedding was exactly what I pictured and when I walked down the aisle I was the happiest in my entire life. We had our reception in the Viva Cafe and it was just right for the amount of guests we had. The dinner was delicious and the DJ played wicked tunes. The next day we got a "complimentary food basket" which consisted of some bananas and apples on a plate.

The food was okay but had the same stuff all the time. When we wanted to get something to eat around 11:00 (it's supposed to be 24 hours), they had leftover dinner food like RICE for us to eat. I DONT WANT TO EAT RICE AT 11:00 at night?! They did make very yummy thin crust pizzas in the wood burning stove but thats what I ate all week. Pizza and pasta.

Our room had a lot of little bugs that we had to kill every time we were in the there, so my advice is to NOT book an ocean-view room because the bugs come right from the beach.

Overall, we made the best of the week. But with the horrible customer service, the same-old food, and the horrible check-in and check-out, none of my guests would ever recommend to another resort. Going down south to get married is supposed to be easy and stress free and breaking down crying on the first night because of the stress was the absolute worse.

ALSO, HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE WITH SUNWING. TOOK 2 MONTHS TO REPLY TO OUR COMPLAINT AND WE GOT AN 'APOLOGY' LETTER BACK FROM THE RESORT THAT PRETTY MUCH SAID IT WAS OUR FAULT. SUNWING.. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the fact that you have shared your thoughts on this traveler’s forum.

We strive to create the best possible experience for our guests so it was disappointing to learn that our services did not meet with your expectations. Please note that our Management has been informed about your experience at our hotel and we took note of your comments.

Service quality is our major concern in the Hotel so we really do appreciate any comment that helps us to improve our service standards.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit the Riviera Maya.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks and travelled with Virgin Holidays. This is the first time in Mexico, but we have been to the Caribbean quite a few times. The hotel location is good just a 20 min walk along the beach to the town or you can walk along the road (takes a bit longer). It is totally safe to go out and about. The beach is excellent too, white sand and really clean, but beware the current in the sea it can sometimes be strong. There are a variety of water sports on the beach most are included. The weather on a whole was good really hot and sunny but we did get 2 full days or rain non stop and another full day later in the holiday, it is still rainy season so some rain can be expected. The hotel staff work really hard including the restaurant and bars. The guys do a great job at the pool bar Fernando during the day and Eder on the evening. The entertainment staff are good with activities and games during the day even when its raining. The circus trapeze is worth a try we have never seen it anywhere else, its something different, good fun and totally safe, the instructors are really professional. The shows on an evening are very good and worth watching. The evening entertainment is probably some of the best we have seen especially the shows with acrobatics. The rooms are basic no coffee facilities, no minibar unless you upgrade but even then only soft drinks, the superior ocean view rooms don't always have full view of the ocean, ours was obscured by a large palm tree, but we weren't there to spend time in the room but out enjoying the sunshine as much as possible.
The downside of this hotel are the meals and drinks. They are terrible, the drinks are warm the beer is warm and flat, the soft drinks are warm, too sweet and flat, the plastic cups at the pool bar taste soapy and they are not always clean. The wine in the buffet restaurant is only suitable to go on chips ! The meals are the biggest disappointment, if you are planning a short break you will probably be able to get by on pizza and chips from the snack bar. The food is repetitive, bland and often not hot. The same pork dish was served at dinner, then again at breakfast and again at lunch at snack bar. The choice is very limited and what is there is repeated nearly every day. The a la carte restaurants in the sister hotel Azteca are better than the Maya. We travelled to Mexico expecting tasty varied dishes , but no sign here. If you are happy to survive on burgers, pizza and chips then this will be ok for you. If you expect a wide variety of fresh fruit, salads, and tasty Mexican dishes then you will have to eat out or choose a different hotel. The town is really cheap to eat and drink out, there are loads of bars, shops and restaurants. The corona will set you back 100 pesos for 4 bottles (about £5), and the food is just as reasonable and very tasty. The people are warm and welcoming and its worth a visit.
It is a shame if this hotel could improve food and drink it would be really enjoyable, this is the first negative review I have ever written about a hotel and we travel 2-3 times per year.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms with low odd number 2301, 2303 are closest to the beach and have best views but noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewcastleDenholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments will help us evaluate our amenities and services.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit the Riviera Maya.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a really good time at this resort despite the fact it rained for 3 out of 7 days while we stayed there. I would change a few things but in general I really enjoyed our stay.

Cons:
definitely outdated rooms. It feels more like a motel when you inside.

reception area...very nice workers but it seems they are always shorthanded, probably the longest check in we ever experience

charge for safe deposit box should be included just for the convenience of guests

there should be no charge for bottled water, first time at all inclusive we have to pay for it

Pros:

Exceptional customer service! everyone was very helpful and friendly. Big thank you to Vivito the crocodile:) very friendly and open young man

Food is very good, always found something at the buffet, tried Mexican, Italian and Bamboo restaurant and really enjoyed it

Lots of activities throughout the day, I tried yoga, zumba, dance lesson and my husband played soccer. Easy to find a schedule of activities ( I wish they would have activities schedule in a kids' club also)

Great location, walking distance to shops, close to Playa del Carmen

Superb beach, always clean

Room Tip: if you are looking for the ocean view but quite room, ask for the room with odd numbers, they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for publishing your positive review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experiences with other travelers.

Our continuous commitment is to provide quality services to all off our guests and therefore it is very rewarding receiving your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

For your information we would like to mention that one of Viva Wyndham Resorts main concerns is the practice of Sustainable Tourism. Our policy of providing one bottle of water per room on the day of arrival is part of many actions that lead to the reduction of waste, energy and water. The policies implemented at our Resort have been acknowledged as Viva Wyndham Maya has received the ‘Green Globe’ certification. We kindly invite all of our customers to refill their water bottles at the bars or restaurants, this with the aim to reduce plastic waste material which remains one of the most polluting and contaminating causes which irreversibly damages our seas and oceans.

At the Viva Wyndham Resorts our main concern and commitment is to satisfy our customers of today but also in the future and we are confident that you understand the importance of these actions. We apologize if this information was not shared with you during your stay with us.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived at the Viva Maya for 3 nights on a Saturday and were given a great room overlooking the ocean and pool. The rooms and balcony were clean and nice. Typical all inclusive vibe. The bartenders were attentive and quick and the bar was open all night. Food was decent and about what I would expect at a value all inclusive. If you're a foodie you might want to step up your budget for a place that caters to that crowd.
We rented a car on the property to drive down to Tulum which was about an hour away and worth the trip. the process was easy and friendly.
Overall a great value for the money and a fun 3 day trip out of town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denvervacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for publishing your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We work every day with the commitment to provide a quality service to all of our guests. It is a joy to hear that we achieved our constant goal in your recent visit to our property.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just returned from this resort on October 29 after spending a week there. The resort is very well kept, the staff are friendly and helpful. When we arrived around lunch time we were able to get into our room immediately. We asked for a room near the beach and they accommodated us if we were willing to take a room with two double beds. There are no clocks in the rooms, no bars of soap (liquid only) and no kleenex. There are safety deposit boxes in every room ($14 US) for the week. I would recommend you get one and put all your valuables in it. We spoke to someone who had his IPhone and money stolen from his room.

The food was very good with many options including healthy ones. The hotel is perfectly located in a gated community with a shopping center just outside the property. It was a great place to go for a walk. It was only a short taxi ride to Playa del Carmen"s 5th Avenue ($7US)

We took advantage of some of the water sports and the bikes while we stayed here.

I would return to this resort. Many of the people we met had been there numerous times.

Room Tip: If you don't want noise then ask for a room away from the beach/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canadian123155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this positive review.

We are delighted that you selected us as the destination for your recent holidays and we are even more thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Viva Wyndham Maya.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We read, many negative reviews prior to going to this Hotel, and to be honest I was a bit apprehensive, but it was booked and could not be changed.

I comment now on our experience at this Hotel.

Location, excellent just as described in the brochure.


Accommodation, we opted for the upgrade for a superior sea view, this was on the upper floor and did give as seaview, but not exactly what we would call superior but ok view.

Food, many of the reviews that we read stated there was little choice in the menu, and I have to disagree with most of what they stated. There was sufficient choices, and this could be seen by the quantities that the guest of all nationalities had on their plates. As well of the standard restaurant there were four others that had to be pre booked, we had no problems at all in booking for these, providing you can be flexible with the times, as not everyone can sit down at 2000hrs, you will get in one of the 4. We managed to get in three and visited 2 of them twice, and cancelled one as we felt that it was too much to have a 4 course meal this many times in 2 weeks, our choice others may like to have a 4 course every other night. The quality of the food in all restaurants was good, and in the pre booked restaurants the food was excellent.

Staff, we both agreed that all staff that we met were all polite and extremely helpful and friendly, we cannot complain about any that we had contact with.

Cleanliness of the rooms and resort, this was to a very high standard throughout the complex, there was not a item of litter that was not scooped up virtually as it was dropped. The management team must be congratulated on the way this site is managed there is an army of staff visible at all times doing something to ensure the guests stay is as pleasant as can be.

Security, the site being on the beach is exposed but the security provided by the resort is excellent unobtrusive, but reassuringly visible.

Entertainment, the team entertainments team of over 30 members, put on acts for both the adults and Children, a wide variety of shows, and activities throughout the day.

Drinks, not just the local variety but also all the named brands as well, and if you really wanted to you could drink for 24hrs.

All in all we both had an excellent holiday, plenty of sun drink, too much food.

We extend out thanks to all the staff, and would most definitely revisit this hotel and recommend this to anyone who would listen.

Paul D England. 10-10-13 to 24-10-13

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view, those with the pool view, can be a bit noisy if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review of our Resort, its facilities and services.

It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Viva Wyndham Maya. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to inform us about their experience at our Resort and we are thrilled to see that yours exceeded your expectations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your gracious review.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#116 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#74 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#80 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#61 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $175 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing