We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprised and will return!”
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #87 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm a simple down to earth person however I do like great quality ! That's exactly what me and my family of 8 found here !

Rooms are simple but will do . I don't spend much time in my room. Tipping your maid a dollar or two helps alot on a daily basis.

Food is good and waiters will go out of their way for you ! Mexican
Restaurant was the best ! Tipping your waiter a dollar or two per person helps a lot !

Shows were good all expect for the Sunday night show !! Hotel needs to change it or replace it with a family show . It's a family place not an adult only place .

So when you stay here enjoy the stay and enjoy the beautiful white beaches !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecc0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya. It is very important to us to receive feedbacks and to know that you had a pleasant vacation.

Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 6,853 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been to this hotel 4 times and this jan1will be our 5 time. Food is good people are friendly and nice rooms are clean and the beaches are amazing . Bars drinks are good and are not water down.just a great place to relax for 2weeks .

Room Tip: To many smokers need a non smoking area on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdmontonCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Resort. We are also delighted to hear that you are part of our group of loyal guests, whom year after year honor us with their preference.
We are looking forward welcoming you back in a very near future!

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent the week of July 6th-13th at this resort. Location on the beach was great. Employees were always kind. The food in the restaurants was fine, but the buffet was another story. The food here looked and tasted the same every night despite what was printed on the description. The best options for breakfast was the omelet station and the pasta station for dinner. Maybe the options could be scaled back in order to improve on the quality of the food. More isn't always better.
We did arrange transfers to and from the airport through the hotel, and this was flawless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main pool. It is always LOUD here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormy1topspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments on your recent vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We can assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us as it is the most reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities.

We hope that you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Viva Wyndham Resorts.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second time to Playa del Carmen, but the first time here. My husband booked the trip for our anniversary as a surprise and got a good deal through CheapCaribbean.com. He did not realize this time of year is the rainy season, so make certain you have an umbrella if you want to go shopping or to the restaurants, or do anything away from the resort. It rained every night. I also used that umbrella when we went to Chichen Itza because it was SO HOT & HUMID!!! Much hotter than in April.

The Playacar area is beautiful and still relatively close to 5th Ave. via taxi. We stayed in a private condo near 30th & 5th Ave. last April & knew a little about the area. A taxi costs $7.00 US to go to the southern end of 5th. You have to catch it at the gate though. We liked the upper end of 5th Ave. with it's nicer shops & restaurants & paid a little more to go up to 5th & 25th where we again got a great couple's massage at Veronica's, best couple's massage on the beach, and costing considerably less than the spa at the resort.

The resort has nice grounds and is well maintained. I had read the reviews before going & knew that the floors are very SLICK when it rains or is very humid, so I was extra careful. I slipped in the hallway & several others fell during one of the rainy times even though the staff tried to keep the water mopped up. Also the mosquitoes were very bad until they finally sprayed about night four. We had brought our own spray which we needed to sit out on the patio.

The bathroom was nice with a great shower area.The water was not very hot and we lost hot water one entire day when maintenance hit a water line they were working on. We did not realize we were supposed to put ALL BATHROOM TISSUE in the trash can & not in the toilet until I was in the ladies bathroom near the internet area & one of the employees mentioned that was why a toilet was not working. We DID have air conditioning! However, we could not change the controls except to turn it off. The a/c unit next door leaked & water seeped under the adjoining door 2 nights. I left a note on the towels I used to stuff under the door & they did come to fix it. However, the smell of PVC joint compound was overwhelming that night & we had to go out for a while until the room aired out. The humidity is VERY BAD at this time of year so things would never fully dry out in the room. We asked for a king sized bed. It was sagging on each side with a ridge in the middle and made noise overtime we moved or turned over! Once settled, it was semi-comfortable and the pillows were fine. We tried to get another room & were told they were booked solid. The room was very bare bones with poor lighting. There was no good reading light or sofa, even though the room was large enough for one. We had trouble getting the WIFI to work, so gave up. It only works up near the front office area. Our room staff were great, bringing extra water & trade out towels when asked. However, I did not know they had facial wash clothes until two days before we left! I also had to ask for a box of tissues after seeing a box on her cart. We did not use the in-room safe which is $2.00/day and very small. The maid left a pre-printed request from management to do so on the 3rd day. I tried making coffee the first night & the pot was clogged & overflowed. They did bring us another pot, but I got coffee from the bar from then on.

We wanted a view of the beach so were on the ground floor near the chairs & the outside eating area. It was fine. However, it was very loud at night due to the shows which were near our building. The tile floors make the rooms very loud. We turned on the TV to CNN or FOX or the local Weather to drown out the noise of neighbors. Security came one night to deal with an irate man who was drunk a few doors down. Folks were always out & about & loud at 2:00-3:00 AM.

I love the food of the region but was very disappointed in the buffets.We were there 6 nights & could only get 2 dinner reservations, again the restaurants were only half full. The Mexican restaurant was EXCELLENT in food & service. We tried to get there a second time, but was told they were booked!! Il Portofino was nice & the food was good, but not great. We went into Playa one night in order to have a great dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. The upstairs buffet was a zoo, hot & packed each night. The waiters were almost a nuisance , often trying to take your plate before you've finished. It rained really hard one night we were there and they closed all the windows making a very hot, humid sauna. The room leaks near the back wall and people fell in the water or on the slick tiles. After the first night, I opted for guacamole, chips, bread, rice & beans. I did have some freshly baked chicken one night as the woman was carving it. Otherwise, except for the ice cream, it was poor at best. Again, I love this type of Mexican food and was used to having great meals, even from the small local cafes not on 5th Ave, last year, so was very disappointed. We loved the coffees and drinks from the outdoors patio bar and their breakfast buffet was good, except for the birds. You have to constantly watch your food or the birds will come & steal it off your plate, even with you there! The flies come in the afternoon & night and get on the buffet food even with all of the nets they have over the food. I did have some stomach distress on our last full day that I am convinced I got from the buffets. Thank goodness for Imodium & being prepared.

A lot has already been said about the smoking and the problems there. Fortunately, we were in a room that did not smell. Otherwise, there is smoke everywhere else. We did not have major problems getting a nice lounge chair spot on the first or second row at the beach, but we went out early to stake out a place with our towels. We came for the beach and loved it. One day it misted rain most of the day but we got loungers under one of the umbrella trees & sat & read in our bathing suits. We did not use the amenities there, but booked a snorkeling and large catamaran trip from another company which we thoroughly enjoyed. The kayaks and other amenities are very nice, but they were being used constantly. It was almost too crowded int he swimming area, especially on the weekend. The pool was packed. It was entirely too small for the large number of tourists. The adult pool is at the opposite end of the property near the spa but both pools close at 8:00. We did not use it as we can sit by a pool at our home. We wanted the beach.

If you are rather conservative Americans and bring your children, you should prepare them for the tiny bikinis that expose the buttocks worn by most of the women. An American family sitting near us had never experienced this before & their kids were rather obnoxious in staring at the women. Most of the tourists were from Europe or South America.

Overall we enjoyed the beach, the Mexican restaurant and a chance to get away. I enjoyed the ruins at Chichen Itza, heat, humidity & all, & had an excellent tour guide. We saw Tulum last year & snorkled at the Dos Ojos Cenote, which was fabulous. We wanted to just come and relax this time. The rain did not really impact anything we wanted to do. We really enjoy the area and would like to return again. However, we would not return to this resort. I expected something nicer from Wyndham.

Room Tip: Consider why you are traveling and how much time you will spend in your room. Do you need a good mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Viva Wyndham Maya, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here.

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your insightful comments are highly appreciated. Your experience and the information you are providing will help us to continually improve our services.
Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Places like Walmart, Golden Corral and Wyndham Resorts serve an obvious and valuable purpose in today’s economy, though one that may quickly remind you of all the things you don’t have and think you can never afford. The apparent Wyndham business model “Live like the rich on $89 a day, all inclusive!” involves more smoke and mirrors than Walmart has smiley faces. With blocks of buffets that may give you the motivation to finally start that dreaded diet, food at the Wyndham Maya is reduced to mere fuel, cell gas, better suited to sustenance than to pleasure. And with repeated reminders –both written and verbal- of what you will pay if you steal or break something you might just be tempted to slip a plastic cup in your suitcase to not disappoint the management’s expectations. Having lived and travelled in 35 countries (with 40+ visits to Mexico over 40 years) I know I can do better, and so can you. For a few dollars more ($200 a week for the family) you can trade the general indignities of the Wyndham (the afternoon of my arrival during a scheduled dance number around the pool one member of the “animation” crew simulated a n sexual act, unmentionable here, to the cheers and ogle’s of boys with their telephoto lenses) and their particular brand of customer service (the hotel requires and retains photocopies of your passport and other confidential travel documents) for the warmth and hospitality of authentic Mexico. Who knows, that hotel may even call you by name.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lundbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort and we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just returned after an amazing overall vacation in Playa Del Carmen. We took our kids, ages 15 and 10. We chose the Maya over the Aztec – and that was a poor choice. If you are deciding between the two – go with the Aztec. That being said, I would simply pick another resort as the Maya was simply awful.

Our trip started off on a sour note as there was no indication that all meals were in the “sweatin’ to the oldies” buffet (more to come on that). Week long residents get three meals/reservations (the restaurants are reservation only) in the restaurants – MAYBE. The problem is that the restaurants are “full” (they are not really) and in our case we could not get a single reservation until our 5th day! The comical part in this is that the restaurants are rarely 50% full at any time of the evening. We were able to get TWO reservations only. We talked with one of the restaurant managers and he told us to come back the next night – so we were able to eat there again. The food in the restaurants was excellent – we liked everything we ordered and the service was excellent. The contrast with the buffet is simply night and day.
The buffet at the Maya is a non-air conditioned (and not really open air either) Sizzler-style buffet. We were able to find breakfast items we liked daily. Eggs made to order, lots of great fruit. Lunch was just awful – but we defaulted to fresh guac, pico and chips daily. Dinner was ok – but it was SO hot in there it was simply hard to eat. At 1800-1900 the temp in the buffet was well above 90 and humid to boot! There was not outdoor dining (they do appear to be building one next to the buffet) like the Aztec and for some odd reason people kept closing the windows which was our only source of relief. This was simply a miserable dining experience...and one we had to partake in frequently. Multiple nights as we made our way to the sweaty buffet – I would pass all three of the Maya’s restaurants and many of them were near empty…yet they could not “squeeze us in”…whatever. I started to get bitter about the dining.

The next major issue - smoking. I felt as if I stepped into a 50's movie bankrolled by big US tobacco - everyone and I mean EVERYONE smoked...everywhere! On the beach, in the pool, in the lobby, int he theatre - cigarettes, pipes, cigars... I recognize people can smoke outside...but this place is crazy. The ONLY non smoking areas are the rooms (which clearly is not enforced) and the restaurants. Every place else the guests are burning them off like there is no tomorrow.

There were a few near-highlights. Coffee at the bars was simply excellent – we had cappuccinos daily under the patio and it was delightful (if we could find a spot with noone within 20' smoking). The staff was generally pleasant and tries quite hard. That being said, it is far below what one would expect at a quality resort. NO ONE and I mean NO ONE says hello / buenos dias / noche at all – even when you are passing a worker on a sidewalk or hallway. They would always reply if prompted – but never on their own. The concierge staff was ALWAYS on the phone trying to book restaurant reservations for guests and you heard the same story over and over – no reservations.

The rooms themselves were clean and served our family well. Beds were ok. Cleaning was odd as it ranged from 0900-1700. Think of a Holiday Inn that passed its prime 10-12 years ago. There are all sorts of scuffs and dings throughout the hotel – lots of things need paint and are just starting to age poorly. It is NOT a luxury or even semi-luxury hotel whatsoever. If the actual Wyndham chain is really associated with this Viva resort, they should be ashamed. The staff also does nothing to enforce the quiet hours as intoxicated guests are commonly hooting and hollering until 2-3 am after the disco closes. We had to pile wet towels under the door and turn multiple tablet with “white noise” on to drown out the commotion. Part of that problem is the fast that you have to have tile surfaces everywhere – that simply multiplies the echos and sound problems.

Bar service was excellent. Good drinks with top-shelf at your request. There is no waiter service at all near the bars or on the beach – everything is “get it yourself” style.

The beach itself is the highlight. Clean, beautiful, and shallow for 30-40 yards which gives you some space. We also never had a problem finding a chair with umbrella – that was nice!
We went to the Aztec twice for our two dinners at Bamboo (not ideal)…the Aztec seemed WAY nicer. Cleaner all over, an outdoor eating area for their buffet (plus theirs was truly “open air” – the whole place just looked nicer.

We did not, however, let this awful resort spoil our amazing vacation. We had a stunningly great week – the low point being our return to the hotel each evening for dinner and an attempt at sleep. A few minor good points gets it a "poor" rating from us as opposide to "terrible"...but it is very much flirting with "terrible".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank orangeprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate the fact that you have shared your thoughts on this traveler’s forum.

We strive to create the best possible experience for our guests so it was disappointing to learn that the accommodations did not meet with your expectations. We encourage our guests to share their concerns during their stay so that we may address them immediately and create the experience they come to expect of the Viva Wyndham Maya.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit the Riviera Maya.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There are way better all inclusive hotels at Playa del Carmen.

This one was alright. We stayed there for the bargain. Just the food was repetitive. They tried to do different themes but at the end it was just plain ol' cafeteria food. Nothing fancy nothing or out of ordinary.

Yes a lot of activities, a lot of shows, snak bar with all the "P's", drink bar, coffee bar.

Beach was great, but in reality the beach is all the same for all hotels in the area. Great sand, great water as usual.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cygnusmando85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments will help us evaluate our amenities and services.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#109 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#71 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
3,853 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#89 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#77 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
5,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $169 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing