We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viva Wyndham Maya
Nearby Hotels
$338
$237
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$415
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
$728
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,004
$872
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$597
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Iberostar Tucan Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
$335
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$477
$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,032
$551
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$241
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,994)
Filter reviews
6,994 results
Traveler rating
2,278
2,968
1,125
381
242
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,278
2,968
1,125
381
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegoa la carte restaurantspool baradult poolboogie boardsanimation teamthe mexican restaurantsister resorthot dogsgated communitynightly showspurified waterkids clubpasta stationother resortsmake reservationsstar resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,215 - 1,220 of 6,994 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a great time over spring break with friends. I didn' t realize the value for the money and how great a job the staff did at involving guests until I staying somewhere else shortly after this trip.

The staff was amazing at remembering guests by name, and caring that they were having a good time. Lots of activities for all ages and fitness types. Loved the early morning yoga! The beach was clean, safe and easily accessible to watch the sunrise each morning. Rooms were clean and more than adequate for my 2 friends and me. Thanks for a great stay. I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smkd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear guest,



Thank you for your kind and detailed review of our Resort, its facilities and services.



We are very glad to read that everything corresponded to your expectations and that we were even able to exceed them when it comes to customer orientation and service, which is in fact the greatest compliment a Resort can get.



Thank you so much for your enthusiastic and motivating comments and we assure you that we will try our utmost to make your next visit as enjoyable as the first one.



Kind regards,





General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and i visited the wyndham maya last wk....well firstly there were a lot more good points than bad....excellant location a 25 min walk to the busy and commercialised playa del carmen fifth ave. the rooms whilst dated were kept spotlessly clean, i requested a room by the relax pool as prev visitors had suggested them....the position of the room was away from all the hussle and bussle of the resorts entertainment.the rooms do vary in size ours had a fridge which was better our room 3136 had no balcony but you could sit out on a small area but to be honest there were better areas to sit...i agree with prev comments the room walls are very thin and certainly noisy neighbours could be a problem..we found the food to be excellant too much of it and too much choice ! we had 4 ala carte restaurant bookings for 10 day stay...the chinese -not great, but the portofino med and miramare italian were a welcome change and really 5 star !
i have to disagree with prev comment when we were at the VWM 40% Americans and 40% Germans we only met one other british couple.
lots of great trips to do we booked with Willy just a short walk to starbucks and so much cheaper but the same trips that you book in the hotel and lots cheaper !
our main negative point was that the hotel is very busy and we were not so keen on all the entertainment, but if you are looking for great family fun and lots of entertainment for the children then you wont do much better than the VWM..
a very important point...book flights with Virgin atlantic they wont charge you airport tax which can be about £45 each payable at the airport on departure.....we heard that thompson and first direct do not include this tax so advisable to check whenyou book..
no problems with petty crime a very safe area to visit......just loved it !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dibde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear customer,



We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. Your opinion is valuable and your suggestions will be taken into account.



We are glad to know that you had a great first trip to Mexico. Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor.



We remain at your disposal.



Best regards,





General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my third time staying at this hotel. The beach is absolutely amazing!! You can bring your chair right down to the beach (which you cant do in other hotels on the strip). The hotel is located in the perfect location and the weather is always perfect. The staff is beyond friendly!!! so accommodating! The food at the restaurants is great, the food at the buffets is adequate. Lots of travelers from different countries which gives it a great feel.
I cant believe the price we pay for this hotel! Will def be back again soon!

Room Tip: rooms facing the theatre may be loud at night!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetTpie10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.



We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Resort. We are also delighted to hear that you are part of our group of loyal guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in a very near future!



Kind regards,





General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My 2 sisters, 17 year old daughter, son's girlfriend and I just returned from our "girl's trip" to Mexico where we stayed at the Viva Wyndham Maya. This was my first time in Mexico and any expectations I had were exceeded. Price was excellent for this all inclusive holiday. Rooms were clean (hot water was a little hit and miss), wide variety of food was good and available almost all the time, beach was fabulous with clean, white sand. Many excursions outside of the resort ( I recommend Xel-Ha Eco Park) for reasonable prices but there was so much to do at the resort that when I go back I may not leave the resort. The "animacion" team was very friendly and entertaining and everywhere we went, we were greated with "Hola!" by all staff. Treat them well and you will also be treated well. For those with young children, they have a Kid's Program which was given high praise by a 7-9 year old girl we met during our holiday. We heard many languages spoken by guests and most announcement were done in French, English, Spanish and Italian. 7 days not long enough. We all had a great time and I will definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear guest,



Reading your positive review is a real reward for the entire team here at Viva Wyndham Resorts and we are very happy to know we have achieved our goal of offering you a memorable stay at our Viva Wyndham Maya Resort. Your kind remarks regarding our staff will be passed on to them.



We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and another couple just returned from our stay at the Viva Wyndham Maya. I will try to make this as quick and informational as I can. Overall the hotel property is gorgeous and the beach is amazing. The check in was very quick and we didn't seem to have any issues. Our friends however, did not receive the king ocean view that they had booked but this was easily
corrected the next day and they were given the safe fee of $2.00 per night as compensation. Hotel beds are TERRIBLE. I cannot stress this enough but you will not get a good nights sleep unless you like sleeping on concrete or something similar to that. The noise from room to room is easily heard and any talking/walking/door slamming in hallways is also heard very easily. You will hear people taking care of their business in the bathroom as this was heard many nights. The food at the buffet as many people have commented is the same day to day even though they have different themed nights. Mediocre but always something you can find unless you are extremely picky. The a la carte restaurants are MUCH better but this is no surprise as you can only eat there 2 nights out of a 5-7 night stay. Being from the United States and traveling to another country I did not expect to be as much of a minority as we were. This resort seemed to have alot of south american and europeans but this could have been due to the time of year. Hotel is very kid friendly so if you are looking for a couples type of resort I would not recommend staying here. Also as many have mentioned the drinks are very sweet and almost untolerable after the 2nd or 3rd drink. They also only carry one type of beer "Dos Equis". Not much going on at the resort I would only recommend this to familes or older adults 50+.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms by the theatre as this can get very loud at night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aesowisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. Your insightful comments are highly appreciated. Your experience and the information you are providing will help us to continuously improve our services.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews