We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality has deteriorated...avoid time share”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #83 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
timmins
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality has deteriorated...avoid time share”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We travelled to Viva Maya with our friends. we (and our friends) purchased "points" around 2004. Bad move for the 4 of us. First, a selling point is a membership with another program which we found impossible to use as we are Canadians....therefore we can only use the Viva Wyndham Resorts of which there are only 2on the Mayan Riviera, 2 in la Romana, one each in Puerto Plata , Samana and Cabarete and one in the Bahamas. All of these resorts are 3-3.5 star.
As members we were surprised that it took us close to 2 months to book our rooms . When my husband called our contact persons and then the resort he was put on hold for very long periods of time , and being passed from one person to another, none of whom could or would confirm room availability or our bookings. This occured several times. When he e-mailed for a booking (which he also did several times) he was told nothing could be done for 72 hours and then he would hear nothing further and have to repeat the process again. It was an unnecessarily long and frustrating process as we cannot book out flights until we have a room and cannot book a room if we don't have a flight.. Then, close to 2 months after he started trying to book our rooms we were told that there were no rooms available. My husband then sent them an e-mail informing them of how long it took to get any reply and that there were rooms available when he began the booking process. We got a call 2 days later saying there were rooms for us for an additional cost. When we asked we were told there was "always an additional cost to stay in building C (which is supposed to be the members building) but no guests were ever charged." These were the same rooms we had stayed in on our 2 previous visits. No-one else that we spoke to had to pay extra for a king-size bed or to stay in the "members building." My husband should not have had to spend so much time jumping through hoops and then have to pay extra to book a room when we are members of the "Viva Club." The only extras one gets as a Club member is an accelerated check in, special seating area in the buffet , a roped off area on the beach with nicer beach chairs, a special members dinner which is not so great. and hardly anyone goes to and a plate of fruit and a bottle of wine in our room on arrival.
We have stayed at the Viva Maya 3 times now, 2 weeks at a time. Sad to say that the quality has really deteriorated since the first time we stayed there.
The air conditioning did not work in first room we had and we were unable to sleep as we were very hot...our friends room was worse than ours and the temperature in there room was a steady 27 degrees. We complained daily and for 4 days someone was sent to "fix" our airconditioners. Then we were offered another room. Our friends room was ok but the airconditioner in our room never shut off and our room stayed at 17.5 degrees 24/7. We would wake up shaking and shivering and one of us would have to get up and turn the air conditioner off. Then get back up to turn it on when it got too hot....we would be up and down all night turning the air conditioner on or off. When it is off the floor would sweat and become wet increasing the risk to slip and fall. We complained about this on a daily basis and although someone was sent to "fix" it daily it was never done. After 7 days of this we were offered a new room. We refused as we had already gone through the unpacking and packing process to go from one problematic room to another and we did not want to do it a third time. So...all of this resulted in 2 weeks of very poor sleep. We were "just a bit" cranky and tired for the whole 2 weeks we were there.
Now, the food quality has gone way down from prior visits..."butter" (definately not butter..tasted more like lard) was put in a big bowl with a "community " knife to get it out. This knife was found at the bottom of the bowl more often than not...very unsanitary with so many hands touching it. The bacon is hidden where the eggs are fried and you must get in line for up to 10-15 minuites to get a couple of pieces. It ran out 11/2 hours before breakfast was done a couple of times and no more was made.
The snack bar did not have the variety it had before and not enough food for the number of people using it. The snack bar was often out of french fries... They also served turkey weinners which were just terrible. The pizzas were nowhere near as good as they used to be in years past. Although there ia a big decline in the food quality we were usually able to find something to eat. Must add that all four of us got sick at various times which has never happened before. The chef at the snack bar was often found out where the food was being served watching and questioning people about how much food they were taking and why. It was a very uncomfortable feeling being questioned as we would sometimes get food for ourselves and our spouses at the same time.
The adults only pool was in poor condition...grating around the pool was broken in several areas and lifted up in others. People were at a significnt risk of tripping, cutting themselves or going through the grating and breaking some bones. The pool itself had missing and broken tiles. some of the jets were not working at times. The lawn chairs were mouldy and needed to be replaced. The relax bar and service was excellent.
The main pool and beach was where most of the activity was. The main pool (we have never gone in it) is much too small for the number of guests...not everyone likes salt water in the ocean. Thhe flooring around the main pool and surrounding area including the bar and snack bar is very slippery and we saw several people fall. Dangerous for anyone walking on it shoes on or not. We pay a yearly maitenance fee along with our membership and do not see anything being maintained except the gardens.
If we did not have a membership my husband and I would avoid this chain completely. We were not treated as valued guests. The owners or upper management do not seem to care if their guests return. We certainly have regrets buying into the timeshare and do not recomend it. We have to return to this resort chain because of our timeshare and I think going to another resort in this chain will not help. cutbacks are usually made chain wide and I anticipate that the other resorts belonging to Viva Windham will be just as bad. Remember when they show you around trying to sell you a membership they will be showing you the best, most improved and recently renovated parts of their resorts. What you are shown is not necessarily what you will get.
The good things were that the weather was perfect, the staff worked very hard to entertain us and the bartenders were good. The gardens were very well kept and the resort was clean. We didn't starve and for the first time ever we actually looked forward to going home.
We went to Wllie with our concerns and he said he would present our concerns at a meeting that was to be held at a later time. He also gave us a free week which we appreciated but it does not make up for the 2 weeks of lack of sleep due to someones inability to fix the airconditioners, the poor quality of the food and the lack of maintenance to the rooms and pool areas. This was the worst and most disappointing holiday we have ever had. We will no longer be recommending this resort or chain to our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Member,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. It is very important to our continued success that we hear from our guests and your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations and service.

We have thoroughly reviewed all your observations with the involved departments to avoid any similar circumstances in the future.

Please accept our most sincere apologize for not have fulfilled your expectations.

We hope that on despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Viva Wyndham Resorts.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    2,750
    1,010
    344
    211
See reviews for
2,100
2,469
137
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I'm going to make this as simple as possible for viewers. I am 25, my husband is 28 and we're from the states. We stayed for 7 nights. I would never recommend this hotel below is the pros vs. cons in a nutshell.

Pros:
Shows are decent, a couple of great shows throughout the week
-Entertainment Staff and Games
-Landscaping and grounds
-Location- awesome location in Playacar, shops and Starbucks right across the street.
-Bar Staff (these guys know how to make a drink, and remember what you’re drinking)
-Nice Beaches
-The Juices are good (orange, mango, etc.)

Cons:
-Horrible food. Buffet is awful, even the breakfast which is usually the best. Restaurants are awful also. I could go on about this for the entire review.
-Horrible service, they don't go out of their way for anything.
-No cocktail staff to bring you drinks at the shows, pool, or beach
-No champagne (what kind of resort doesn't have champagne??), which means there are no mimosa's, which should be mandatory in all of Mexico!
-You have to PAY for bottled water, it's not a part of the "all inclusive." They provide you with 1 free bottle, and then you have to buy the rest. The running water smells awful, like sulfur.
-Too many kids, nothing against kids, but this is a family orientated resort. We didn't see anyone under 40 (except children) until our third day in. They consume the pool.
-BUGS in the bed and in the room! Little tiny fruit nats in the sheets, disgusting!
-The mattress in literally on a concrete slab, horrible beds! No comforters and sheets always smell.
-They seemed extremely understaffed in general. There were always lines at the front desk, concierge, at the bar, at the restaurants, everywhere.
-No Americans, all Europeans (this is a preference for us)
-Not enough poolside seating

Completely disappointed, would never recommend. Do not waste your money. Wish someone would have warned me!

Room Tip: get a room in the 1100's or 2100's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MimosaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments regarding your vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya. Our clients’ opinion is very important to us.

We are really sorry for not have been able to fulfill your expectations; we can assure you that your observations will be seriously considered with the purpose to improve our services.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Hello
We'll be at the VIVa at the end of april 1st time in Mexico and @ the VIVA. I'd like to know the difference between The Azteca and The Viva . We booked through EXPEDIA . The room rate at Azteca is higher than the ViVA .But we could not see much of a physical difference bettween the 2 We tried to contact the Wyndham ..phone, email , no reply , Expedia representatives were not sure either . We ended up booking at the Viva based on the pictures from other tourists provided on trip advisor (thank you tourists..lol) .
Can't wait to be sunning on the beach !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for booking your vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya. We will do our best to provide you an enjoyable stay at our property.

We hope to receive your feedback after your visit at the Mayan Riviera.

Again thank you for your preference.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

awesome awesome awesome service, awesome food... great safe location. I don't care what people say about Mexico, it is safe. I encourage people to go here if you are looking for a great place to chill during the day and party at night! They put on awesome shows at night, great drinks.

Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyPhilosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Maya as a destination for your vacation.

We work every day with the commitment to provide a quality service to all of our guests. It is a joy to hear that we achieve our constant goal in your recent visit at our property.

Also your observations are important, they will be considered in order to improve our services.

Please do not forget that it will be a pleasure to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Travelled there with my family, 2 kids ages 7 and 10. They had a blast. Nice and cozy not too large so we didn't have to worry about losing each other. The kids had more freedom than other resorts that we have gone to. It was not too busy. The rooms were clean but beware of the beds, very very hard. Typical Mexico beds. I don't think I have stayed anywhere in Mexico where I had a soft bed. This was expected so it wasn't a big deal. The one downfall is that you can hear people in the hall at night and it can be very loud. Bring earplugs. We stayed in room 1256 and it was close to everything. Our fridge didn't work. Chairs under the umbrellas good luck unless you are there really early like 6am.

I read some really bad reviews for this hotel but I didn't find anything bad to report. The food is good but you get tired of buffet food after awhile. No one got sick and we drank the water out of the machines. Pictures of guests with animals is really cute but expensive, never encountered any Time Share people but we spent most of our time on the beach. 5th Ave was great, something to do in the evenings.

Bring tons of sunscreen as they want almost $26 for a bottle. We went to Walmart and bought more but it still cost $17.00.

I would recommend this resort and would go back to stay there. The beach was great and the view amazing. Had so much fun planning to go back in Oct... Hope this helps everyone. Book our trip from vendor on 5th Ave relaxing tours. Barter with the price as we got it for cheap.

Room Tip: Book trips from relaxing tours. Ask for Hector!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigxen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for letting us knows that you had a pleasant vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We want to express our happiness after reading that you enjoyed our Resort. It is a pleasure to know that we exceed your expectations because it is our constant goal.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

For starters, this place has all ages! The pool is amazing, the ocean, i could talk for hours on end about it! I recommend you go to the Scuba Cariabe and go snorkelling. The food was amazing, all different kinds! Like on monday's it Italian tuesday its Mexican etc. There is wifi in 2 places, the bar and main area. The bar tenders are so caring and make it perfect. There is a trapeze and kids 4 and up can go on it! There is a snack bar 24 hours and have great food, I recommend the salsa and chips! The rooms are great, you can sit on the porch or take a nap on the great beds. The TV works and has good channels, like CBC, Disney, YTV, and others. So many things to do, you'll be entertained the whole time! You can make reservations at the hotel to go to the restaurants or go to Azteca. They cousin hotel. Just a 10 minute walk. You are in a hotel zone called "Playacar" very safe and only hotel guest and workers. You can rent a bike and go for a ride around the village, I strongly recommend you go to 5th ave. Its a giant road all walking and shopping. Take a salsa class, thers shows at :30pm, drink and have FUN! Now, what are ou waiting for, BOOK IT!

Room Tip: Near the oceans
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hibyeskilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Maya to spend your recent vacations.

We appreciate your comments about our services and it honors us the compliments that you mention about our Resort. It encourages us to continue working hard to offer an excellent service.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this resort from March 16-23 with our 19-year-old daughter and her friend. It was OK but I would not return - nor would I recommend it.

Firstly, we booked and paid for two rooms. When we checked in, they said that they didn't have two rooms for us, only one, so they wanted to offer us four 30 minute massages to compensate for this problem. They said that we'd get the second room that we had paid for on the next day. In fact, we did get the second room on day 2, but I started our vacation concerned that this wouldn't happen.

Here are the positives about staying at the Viva Wyndham Maya:
1) The resort is in a great location along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen. (But, of course, there are many other resorts to choose from along these beaches.)
2) I cannot complain about the cleanliness of the resort or the rooms. The ground were clean, the beaches were clean and the rooms were clean (although they are very "plain Jane" rooms.
3) It is only a $7 taxi ride to the beginning of the shopping area in Playa del Carmen.

Here are the negatives:
1) The food was mediocre, at best. We enjoy dining as part of our vacation experience and the food at this resort was very disappointing. Although the a la carte restaurants provided better food and a better dining experience, they were far from outstanding.
2) Because of the way the "open air" hallway runs down the length of a stretch of rooms, the rooms were very noisy at night. The sound of voices and luggage rolling across the tile flooring echoed and carried. I sleep with ear plugs, yet I still work up each night to the noise.
3) From 5:30 - 6:00 pm, after the sun sets and after you've had dinner, there is very little to do at this resort until 9:30 when the "entertainment" begins. The entertainment was pretty cheesy.
4) If you want a palapa on the beach that will provide you with some shade, you better get your towels in place before 8 am, otherwise they will all be "booked", if not occupied.

Did we have a good vacation? Yes. Would we return to this resort? No. Would we recommend it? No.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonandLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Customer,



We would like to thank you for taking time to write your comments about your recent stay with us. All of our client's observations and concerns are very important to us since it is the best source of information to improve our services and facilities.



I can assure that your review will be seriously considered to achieve our constant goal: to exceed our guests' expectations.



Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#71 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,323 reviews
12.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Property: Viva Wyndham Maya
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#52 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing