We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Playa del Carmen
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,483)
Filter reviews
12,484 results
Traveler rating
8,325
2,549
816
464
330
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8,325
2,549
816
464
330
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gran porto real sushi bar panama jacks real resort italian restaurant ocean front sports and entertainment fishing boats sand bags junior suite standard room entertainment staff fifth avenue our waiter water aerobics kids club lobby bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 12,484 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort (rooms, grounds, facilities, dining areas, washrooms, etc.) was very well maintained and very clean. The staff were polite, attentive, helpful and friendly. The food was quite good with a wide selection, well-prepared and served, and absolutely no stomach repercussions. The Italian and Mexican restaurants were good but not exceptional.The main buffet restaurant, Ventanas, was always reliable : great selection and great service. Memorable servers in Ventanas, Jose, Rodiver, Elias, Antonio, Abraham and Rufilio, made certain dining in the buffet was pleasant. Nice beach but very windy. The evening entertainment included a very impressive, highly talented dance troupe. The main pool was warm enough, large and family oriented. There is also another, smaller pool on an upper floor, the Tranquility Pool, that is for adults only. Fifth Avenue shopping is very close-by and a must-see experience.
There is one unfortunate downside. Panama Jack is now owned by the Hilton group, and there is a Hilton hotel right across the street. You cannot make your way through the Panama Jack lobby without being aggressively accosted by a Hilton representative, who insists that you attend a free breakfast followed by a presentation at the Hilton. Even after you politely say, "No,thank you, we're not interested.", these reps will continue to harangue and harass you. This happened to us at least once a day, every day we were there.

Room tip: The rooms designated as "run of the house" view face a busy street and can be noisy.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJocelynRamirez, Community Coordinator at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brian D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this complete review regarding your recent visit to Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen. We are delighted to read that you were pleased with the facilities, the gastronomy, the activities, and the hospitality.

Please, rest assured that we will be sharing your kind mentions with Jose, Rodiver, Elias, Antonio, Abraham, and Rutilio. They are a truly example of how committed we are of making you have a unique experience in this paradise.

And your observations we will be sharing with the team in order. We really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to continue exceeding your expectations.

And please, Recommend us!
Best Regards,
Jocelyn Ramirez
Community Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing location, in the heart of playa del Carmen, 1 hr drive from the airport, hotel is not newly renovated, very small and tight, shows are average, average food and drinks quality, it’s called the sister property of Hilton next door but no comparison. It’s worth the maximum of approx $1500 per person maximum a week. It’s a waste of money to over pay for this. Low quality beach.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 823vicd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJocelynRamirez, Community Coordinator at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 823vicd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent visit. All the reviews are really important for us and help us to keep improving our standards.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the privileged location close to the fifth avenue, we really wish that you can give us a second opportunity of welcoming you back and provide you all that we have to offer with our characteristic service from the heart.

Best Regards,
Jocelyn Ramirez
Community Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our 2nd trip to PJ's was just as great, if not better than our first! We absolutely love it there. In fact it's hard to plan trips at other resorts. Our room was clean, spacious and beautiful as usual. We got a Junior suite with a king bed, and ocean view. We could even see Cozumel off in the distance. They were in the process of renovating the Italian restaurant (our favorite) during our stay, so I was a little sad we were unable to enjoy that, but the other restaurants are delicious as well. The staff is so gracious, and kind. We spent an hour everyday sitting in the ocean, collecting tiny shells, and enjoying the view. We travelled to Cozumel for a day, rented a car and toured the island. Visited cenotes and walked all over 5th avenue. We even had the photographer do a photo session with us. Love it there. I'm sure we will return again soon!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank emariemaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJocelynRamirez, Community Coordinator at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear emariemaddux,

Thank you so much for share with us this incredible review regarding your last visit to the Resort. We are delighted to read that you were pleased with the room accommodations, the gastronomy, the great location close to many touristic attractions, and the hospitality.

Our priority is bringing you the best of our characteristic service from the heart to making you have a unique experience. We really hope to have the opportunity fo welcoming you back to continue exceeding your expectations.

And please, recommend us!
Best Regards,
Jocelyn Ramirez
Community Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and spacious rooms but not all have a great view! We were at the beach end but I never found a way to swim in the sea but the pool was great.
I found the food looked good and tasted good the first 2 day but then it got monotonous. Maybe too many choices. The Argentine steak house was super!
They tried to cram too many buildings in and the beach now is crushed building debris filled with sand bags that now fall apart. A shame!

Room tip: If you want a great room insist in a room with beach exit
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eberhardbergler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJocelynRamirez, Community Coordinator at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear eberhardbergier,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your recent visit to Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen. We are more than happy to read that you were pleased with the food options and let us know your highlight of the restaurants.

Regarding the beach, we understand this mother nature issue, and we are working every day to keep it as clean possible, however this situation is out of our control, but we are finding new ways to help the environment.

We really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to exceed your expectations with our characteristic service from the heart.

Best Regards,
Jocelyn Ramirez
Community Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to Playa del Carmen Nov 11 to Nov 15 stayed at Panama jack resort I must say I enjoyed my time there rooms were clean and food was good at all the restaurants the staff was very friendly and helpful I liked the atmosphere of the hotel a lot pools good service at poolside was good My only issue was that there is not much of a beach by hotel but being very close to shopping and night life dose make up for you are 2 block walk from shopping on 5th ave also not to from ferry to Cozumel.all in all had a real good time there

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank d0nc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJocelynRamirez, Community Coordinator at Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear d0nc23,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us this incredible review regarding your last visit. We are happy to read that you were pleased with the room accommodations, food options, the location, and the professional service from the staff.

Our priority is your satisfaction and it feels really good to read that we have been successful in that. We really hope that you can give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to continue exceeding your expectations in this paradise.

Best Regards,
Jocelyn Ramirez
Community Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews