We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Julio was a fantastic entertainer - great with both kids and adults alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, California
1 review
“Julio was a fantastic entertainer - great with both kids and adults alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Just got back from Mexico and had a ball at the Gran Porto. Great for kids and adults who want lots of fun activities. All the staff were outstanding, especially Julio Cesar, who did such a great job of entertaining everyone. He has such a nice demeanor - friendly, not pushy, great sense of humor and lots of energy and enthusiasm! Especially loved the crazy games, crafts, and nightly shows featuring lots of wonderful dancing. Terrific place to go if you want an all inclusive resort for adults and kids.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,200
    2,029
    642
    365
    258
See reviews for
3,172
2,873
136
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,692)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Our group of 10 had an incredible time at the Gran Porto. Everyone from check in to check out was very helpful and wanted to make sure our trip was successful.
We were greeted with drinks upon check in. Yolanda was very helpful at the front desk – making sure everyone was happy with their rooms.
Our group either had ocean front or ocean front walk outs. All of the rooms exceeded our expectations. The rooms were clean and roomy. When cleaned we were left amazing “towel” art. Each day we had something different in our room. The cleaning staff did an outstanding job.
The service on the beach and the pool was outstanding. The waiters: Teresa, Jose and Jorge were always right there when another drink was wanted. Fillipe at the swim up bar always had a smile and a drink ready for us.
7 out of our group had massages on the beach. What an experience. Lucy, Magda and Cecilia did a fabulous job.
Some of our group went deep sea fishing and caught mahi mahi. They brought it to the resort and they cooked it for us. We were served in the buffet room. We got our own sides and the fish was delivered to the table. INCREDIBLE. The Italian rest was good as well. The Mexican (Maria’s) was not so good. But there is enough food on the resort that it is not that big of a problem. Snack shack on the beach was great for a lunch or snack. The food on the buffet and snack shack was turned over and fresh for the most part. It seemed that every rest. we were in – Freddie was there to take care of us.
The only downfall was the rocks in the water. Obviously not anything the resort can change. The sand ledge is not a steep drop down. The resort staff worked hard to get the seaweed off of the beach everyday.
This is a perfect size resort. You do not have to walk forever to get to the beach, pool or restaurants. Our group ages ranged from 25-76 and everyone was happy. Would we stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We loveGPR, we go twice a year and it just can not be beat! The location is the BEST, the hotel is soooooooo nice and clean, food is great, and by far they have the BEST STAFF ANYWHERE! Felipe Contreras who is the 3rd floor pool bartender is a dear friend and the best employee ever, he makes the trip worth it just to see him. We can't wait to go back in November again to see Felipe and all the wonderful staff at GPR, See ya soon Felipe! HOLA TO ALL OUR GREAT FRIENDS AT GPR

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEONLYMRSHOLLYWOOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We had a great time. Our group included my husbad, myself all of our adult children and all of our grandchildren. The little ones loved the "kidz zone" they even asked to stay longer some days. I said "if the kids are happy everyone is happy!" The service was excellent. Everyone is so friendly and cordial! The food was very good. We loved the room and the resort. Our room was cleaned daily but the only problem was we never knew when, sometimes in the morning sometimes in the afternoon. We were so close to 5th street which was great if you needed to shop. There were many people willing to set up tours if we wanted. Our transportation to and from the airport was the best, they went out of their way to accomodate us which was difficult since there were 14 people in our group but they made it easy. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsjrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Gran Porto might not be as luxurious as what The Royal appears to be (its across the street and managed to get a quick intro) but one thing is for sure I definitely enjoyed my time there. The hotel itself was pretty well-kept, very clean never had a problem with our junior suite, which was very spacious for our group of 3. Outside the pool area/bar area was just as clean as well as the beach area.

The beach on this side had its rocky areas, which is obviously not the hotel's fault as well as the sand cliffs generated due to the previous storms. The excursion/tour boats docked to the side became a bit of an eyesore. We easily fixed our tranquil beach itch when we took a quick 2-3 min walk on the beach (over to the left) passing the boardwalk to the Royal's side ahhhh....amazing and a must do. You are allowed to lay out on this side just bring your towels since you are not allowed to use their chairs.
The entertainment and activities available throughout the day/night definitely motivated the crowd and made the days eventful and fun. I took advantage of the Spa facilities and had a massage, scrub and facial done and it was incredible.

Overall as I mention on my title I am looking forward to our next trip, my main reason wasn't so much about the facilities as it is about the people. With that said- kudos to the staff of Gran Porto!!! I have been to so many places I cannot think of a place who's staff made me feel so comfortable and genuinely happy as they did here. From day one Samantha, Orlando, Mel made sure we were enjoying our stay and were taken care of . Alonso, Teresa, Benito, Jesus, Carlos, Edgar servicing the pool/beach area always had us smiling. Miguel, Carlos and Cesar from entertainment not only made sure we were doing something, they made the activities personable and enjoyable. Then there was the staff in the main (buffet restaurant) talk about service! I wish I could remember the rest of the staff members names as they all remembered ours- and we were not wearing nametags lol. They made this trip exactly what it was, an amazing time!

Being located walking distance from 5th ave, definitely was a highlight of our nightlife. Only thing I would change is more restaurant options. For our last night we were offered the option to stay at Gran Caribe in Cancun. Since I had never been, we decided to go and truly regretted it when we realized it was not the same treatment, ambiance and room (ekk). Such a shame to had missed out on an additional day of bliss but we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

Real Porto is the best place to enjoy a nice holiday or vacation i had a great time! i really loved all the night shows, the service and also the guys from entertainment made my stay a wonderful experience, congrats to Loredana, she was so kind and funny, also took good care of our children. Thank you all!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorydaleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amersfoort
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

felipe from the pool bar was verry good and did a great job. verry friendly to!!
and the people that bring the cocktails and drinks on the beach, where verry good to!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrien1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing