We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Panama Jack Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Panama Jack Resort
Ranked #37 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went to Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa on my senior trip with some friends in April of 2014. Overall, everything was great! Service was great. Whether you were at a restaurant or hanging out around the pool the staff was on hand whenever you needed them. All of the staff was kind and always willing to help. One of the staff in particular, Verlain, helped make my stay amazing. He made everyone I went with feel welcomed and made our time a blast. He was in charge of putting on some of the activities out by the pool or in the lobby area and was always willing to accept a challenge in ping-pong or whatever you throw at him. As far as sleep quality goes, sleeping in a resort with a bunch of other people couldn't have been more pleasurable. After the entertainment finishes at night there is absolutely no obnoxious noises in the resort that could keep you up during the night. Beds were comfy and always clean along with everything else in our room, thanks to the maid service. The location of Gran Porto Real could have been better, however, making the best out of it was pretty easy. The biggest thing would be where they are located on the beach. Sandbags to help restore the beach were everywhere along with rocks all over the place in the sand. To fix this all you had to do was walk down the beach a little ways to the sister resort where you could use their beach chairs and they had a perfect beachfront. Lastly, the food was quite average in the buffets. If you are a picky eater I would definitely not keep my hopes up on filling up there during the day, but at the beach grill where they served burgers, chicken and hot dogs throughout the day. But at breakfast time you can always have omelettes, pancakes, or waffles at the buffet. To avoid the buffet for dinner there was a Mexican place and an Italian place that was included in the all inclusive plan. The Mexican place was decent, not my favorite. For the Italian place you need to make a reservation earlier in the day but it is well worth it. Their main courses here were amazing and had amazing service to go along with. I wish I could put a finger on the waiters name we had there to properly accredit him but I don't know his name. All in all, I would highly suggest going here for a nice relaxing or action packed vacation. If you are in the younger crowd of about 14-22 I would suggest going with friends because there was not really anyone in that age range there when I went over a 7 day long period.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Connor K

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your review. . It will be my pleasure to pass your wonderful comments to the members of our staff who exceeded your expectations and provided you with remarkable service.
We remain at your service and Once again thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,726 - 3,732 of 10,439 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Overall this vacation was amazing, the hotel was perfect. There is not one complaint about the whole place. The food was awesome, and the service was even better. The rooms and hotel in general were all very clean, and the maids visited your room at night with chocolates and extra towels and shampoo incase you ran out. The 24 hour bar was a nice touch and everything was very organized. Overall a great place to stay and we would definitely return. If you ever got bored at the resort there were a ton of shops and bars right in your back yard on 5th Ave.

A special thanks goes to all the staff for making our stay amazing, especially to our maid Martha, Verlain who took us to 5th Ave for a foam party, Rod at the upstairs pool bar, Dario at the downstairs pool and the guest service staff Isabel and Emmanuel for making it extra perfect!

Room Tip: The upgrade to a Jr Suite would definitely be recommended and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess287060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Jess287060

We really appreciate your kind words and thank you again for staying with us. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.
We hope to host you soon once again!

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I have gone quite a few times to the Royal but this was our first time at the Gran Porto. The location to 5th avenue is great. My siblings loved the place with all the pasta and burgers but the food was old after the first three days for adults. Il Pescatore was great and so was Maria’s. The 24 hour lounge was terrible. The buffet lacked a wide selection. The chef's in the buffet area didn't speak much English so customizing anything was a challenge. There were no straws at the resort so any frozen drink was a dissapointment. The beach was terrible and shallow. The alcohol selection was limited. The bathrooms in the lobby at the resort seemed to be always overflowing.

Emilia Safar was great to work with and helped to get us reservations at the dinning that required it. Angie on the sports and entertainment team was awesome to my siblings and played with them all day.

All in all this is a good resort for families with small children but if you are looking for a couples resort stay at The Royal!

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimB703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear KimB703

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Pretty nice hotel, very clean, and great staff. Everyone we met was very friendly and happy to help us. The buffet food was very good with a lot of choices with a nice mix of Mexican and North American foods. Overall good experience. Also close to everything in Playa del Carmen

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Ron R

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This was such an amazing find!! Super impressed!

Service: WOW the service here was truly amazing. Mostly every staff member was amazing. I was so impressed. The pool staff were so nice, and the 24 hour buffet staff were so amazing, they were so helpful and caring. The entertainer staff were honestly amazing. Especially Verlain and I think the name is Arturo. Also amazing bar staff outside, very friendly.

Food: The food here was probably one of the only downturns. The food at Albarto's( main buffet) was mediocre at best. The food didn't taste right, and most times it seemed they offered the same thing, a bit boring. Also the service at the main buffet wasn't great since we waited a while to be served, it seems like the main buffet servers don't really care.

Rooms: The rooms were amazing. The junior suite is so spacious, and after every time the cleaning lady came the room was spotless and there was a neat design on the bed, totally impressed. We didn't have a great view, but it didn't matter since we were outside mostly. The beds were pretty comfy, not the comfiest.

Outdoor/ Entertainment: Wow, they had amazing amazing activities, with amazing people running them, I was impressed. The volleyball was amazing and the water aerobics were great! Very fun! The pool here was also very nice, a nice refreshing temperature. Also it was nice relaxing by the pool. Just make sure to go early to save a spot. The only negative thing was the beach. It wasn't good, as there were sand bags all over and rocks everywhere. You have to walk up more for better swimming conditions.

I will for sure return here, I already miss it here! Thanks for making my stay amazing. Hope to come back in the future!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank AirCanada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear AirCanada5

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you here at "your home away from home".

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have been extremely happy with all aspects of the Gran Porto Real. The staff here are wonderful and will do anything for you. Every staff experience we have had has been top notch. Our room is cleaned daily. Each day we come in to a beautiful towel creation on the bed and in the evenings the beds are turned back with complementary chocolates and often rose petals.

My teenage kids did scuba diving with Victor and had a great time. He is a very good instructor, with a great personality.

We dined at the Mexican restaurant, Maria's on 3 separate occasions; each time the staff were wonderful. Our first night we were served by Daniel, we were so impressed that we decided to eat there again. Our second visit we were waited on by Palayot, again the service was excellent. Finally on our third visit, Raymundo was our waiter and presented us with the excellent service we had come to know from Maria's. The captain, Luis and the hostess, Luisa made us feel very welcome. We also need to compliment the chef Carlos who supplied with delicious food time and time again.

The food at the buffet was always good, and we found that there were a few areas that you could have food cooked for you. For breakfast; pancakes, waffles, French toast, omelettes, crepes can be ordered as well as the buffet to chose from. At lunch and dinner the cook to order varies depending on what is the special for that day. We had some of the best burgers here and delicious cook-to-order pasta.

The grill by the pool has delicious quick bites to eat and the sushi bar upstairs by the other pool is also a great way to eat healthy.

Il Pescatore is the Italian restaurant on the corner and while it appears to cater to non-resort guests, you can also book a table through guest services. If you have the all-inclusive deal, then there is no additional cost to eat at Il Pescatore except for the lobster (also the case at Maria's). Our waiter at Il Pescatore, Antonio was fantastic, as was the head waiter Elearov,

Some local vendors will peddle their wares some evenings, with a market-style set-up some evenings. I did find that these guys would try to hit you up for top dollar. I was willing to give it to them the first time purely because I know that their earning capacity is not the same as some other parts of the world.

All in all, we were very happy at Gran Porto Real.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "ocean view" room; this wasn't over the pool, so a lot of noise was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Alana J

Thank you very much for sharing with us and all others your experience. It is always so rewarding to know that our staff went above and beyond to make your vacations memorable. Please rest assured that the staff members you have mentioned in your review will all know what an outstanding job they are doing for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I never write reviews and this is my first one but we had such a great experience here that I had to do it. A big thank you to all the nice folks that took care of our stay. Great room 2nd floor ocean view just hop down the stairs to the beach, kind and friendly staff who do a great job. Food was good and we loved to kick back with the burgers, nachos and fries at the beach grill. It was our first ever time to Mexico but not our last for sure. We relaxed and had one of the best vacation times ever. Thanks to the waiters, waitress's and bartender in every restaurant and bar you guys rock. Front desk crew and especially Alex at the concierge desk the best. Treated my wife to a massage at the spa and wow she loved it. Thanks all see you next year.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor ocean view suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 462Les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear 462Les

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our services and staff. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Jack Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Jack Resort

Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Gran Porto Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $227 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panama Jack Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Panama Jack Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Panama Jack Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing