We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panama Jack Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Parrot Suites(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eclipse(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,598)
Filter reviews
10,599 results
Traveler rating
6,955
2,242
707
403
292
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,955
2,242
707
403
292
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgran portoil pescatoresushi barmaria's restaurantocean frontsports and entertainmentfishing boatssand bagsjunior suitestandard roommayan coffeebike tourentertainment staffkids clubfifth avenuewater aerobicsour waiter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,879 - 3,884 of 10,599 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What great service we had from Israel in the main dining room. Our favorite pool side server was Teresa. Both were very friendly and took care of us very well with a smile on there face. This resort was very clean and staff was friendly. The only think that made this vacation bad was the other guest. They would smoke around the pool and in open doorways. Made it very unpleasant for a non-smoker. May I suggest that the Resort divide the pool area have one side smoking and the other side (kiddie pool area) non-smoking. The only other thing I would say is the food was average.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Lisa L

Greetings from Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. Please rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback with our team for our improvement and in order to achieve our guest’s entire satisfaction. We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We went to Pascatores at the Gran Porto one night and my wife asked about seafood russoto which was not on menu as in past. We ordered something else, but our waiter Gustavo came back and said for us to come back tomorrow night and chef would do russoto special for us. We came back and had russoto and chef Ruperto came out to thank us for enjoying his food. Doesn't get much better than that

Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Mr. 1Dominion

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our services and staff. . It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our third stay at the Gran Porto. This is really a review of The Royal and Gran Porto, as we were upgraded to the Royal for a few days. First of all you stay here because of location next to 5th avenue, you can't beat the location There are nicer places than the Gran Porto and cheaper that the Royal. One thing can be said for both. They aim to please. Staff cannot do enough to please you. As an example, we went to Pascatores at the Gran Porto one night and my wife asked about seafood russoto which was not on menu as in past. We ordered something else, but our waiter Gustavo came back and said for us to come back tomorrow night and chef would do russoto special for us. We came back and had russoto and chef Ruperto came out to thank us for enjoying his food. Doesn't get much better than that. Now for differences. staff and food excellent at both much better lunch options at Royal at Pelicanos. The Royal is obviously newer and more upscale, the Gran Porto is smaller and has more personality. Because it is smaller you get to know the staff better. Sandra and Roberto at front desk, Pablo and Tharesa and Alberto will go out of their way to accommodate you at the Porto. They will at the Royal as well, In Pelicano's Allan, Jose all excellent. As for rooms, of course Royal is nicer. Standard rooms at Gran Porto not nice. Jr, suite are good, especially if you get an ocean front, don't need any better. Then there is the the beach of the Gran Porto which everyone complains about. Beautiful for laying on and walking and I actually much prefer the Porto beach as easier to get chairs and more space, view down beach is also nicer than the Royals. Swimming, not so much. You can swim there, but if you want to swim, walk 2 minutes down the beach to the Royal. Difficult to get chairs around the pool at Gran Porto, easy at the Royal If you look at pictures, pool of the Gran Porto is literally on the beach. I also like fact that you are only minutes from your room at the Gran Porto. You cannot go wrong with either, where you stay depends on your budget. You will not get better service anywhere. If you can't be pleased at the Real resorts, I wouldn't want to vacation with you. I would be happy to answer any questions if you contact me. I would highly recommend either. Because of budget, I will go to Gran Porto again, but would gladly take an upgrade if offered

Room Tip: Do not get Standard room, get at least Jr. Suite
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear 1Dominion

We appreciate for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable. We will make sure to tell all our staff members that you have mentioned what a great job they are doing.
Thanks a lot for your recent stay and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived for my 25th wedding anniversary vacation. No welcome drink, was told the room would be ready half an hour ago and I am still waiting. Staff feel largely disinterested so far. Hope it gets better.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ianoakpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Ianoakpark

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and the most important thank you for your kind comments and observations as these are always taken very seriously. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This resort was part of a package we booked for our Spring vacation and was supposed to be a 5 Star resort. We have stayed in Palace Resorts and an Iberostar resorts on previous trips to the Playa area. Those are my comparison points.

First let me say the location and hotel property (except the beach) are very nice. The problem is the staff. From the "no smiles allowed" front desk, to the "it's not my job" attitude of 90% of people you deal with every day. They constantly lied to us about what was available, "We have no beach towels" until you question them and then magically they pull some out for you. The staff actually rolling their eyes when asked about the food, or cups in the 24 hour area, or showing no interest in helping you understand what is in the food. Our waiter at Maria’s was extremely rude to my wife because she was informing him about her seafood allergies and special diet requirements.

The food ok, nothing great, and many of the same dishes are served day after day after day. They play “hide the bacon” by keeping it behind the counter at breakfast. You have to ask for it or you’ll never even know they have it. The breakfast buffet doesn’t open until 7am. If there is a line when you open up, that should tell you you’re opening up to late! They do not have enough highchairs in their buffet restaurant (only 3!!) and told us to put our 15 month old in a regular chair. WHAT!? The 24 hour snack area was just gross. The food looked like it had been sitting out way too long. In fact, at 6:30am the previous night’s snacks were still sitting there.

The beach at the resort is washing away so there are hundreds of fiberglass sand bags lining the water line. All nice and slimy with algae that you have to find your way through without toppling over just to get into the water. For what we paid for the resort, it fell way short of our expectations.

Room Tip: Ocean View means stick you head way out off the balcony and look around the hotel.. Get Ocean Front if you want to watch the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Panama Jack Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear BamaRich

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. We are truly sorry to read that you did not experience our remarkable service and hospitality, on behalf of all of the staff at Gran Porto Real Playa I would like to express my sincere apology if our service did not fulfill your expectations; as we are deeply committed to assist our guests at all times and provide them with an exceptional service be sure we will sharing your comments with our staff in order to improve and take actions to give an exceptional service.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews