We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still The One” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #29 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still The One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Gran Porto the week of February 8, 2014. We have been guests here a half dozen times over the years and keep coming back. The reason is simple: the people working here are the best!

Before I get into the review of the property I want to give a shout out to all the staff, some who have become like friends to us. Hola to Teresa at the pool, Pablo on the beach, Mateo and May in the buffet, Isaura the hostess, Sarain for those early moring chats in the 24 hour snack bar, Blanca & Emeila at the Real Club desk, Enrique at the front desk, and last but not least the entertainment group: (King)Arturo, (Prince)Osvaldo, Omar, Michelle, Jesus & Verlan. If you think of bingo you will guess who we are!

Once you get your luggage and make it thru customs you are about a 50 minute drive from the airport; depending on the number of stops your transport needs to make on the way. Upon arrival you will be greeted with a refreshing drink. They will photocopy your passport, make a blank imprint of your credit card (which you will get back at checkout), and strap on a wrist band. Don't lose it as you will be charged for a new one.

We have always booked a junior suite or junior suite ocean view. Be aware that ocean view and ocean front are different catagories. This trip we booked a junior suite. Some of these rooms are closer to the main part of the resort and are a bit noisier. There are sounds from the kitchen, the air conditioners, and the service lane at the side of the resort. If you don't plan on using the balcony it won't really matter. For us the ocean view room is the best bet. The ocean front room on the 2nd or 3rd floor is what you want if you need an unobstructed view of the sea.

We had room 210. This room is large with high ceiling. It had 2 double beds that were of medium hardness with a nice duvet cover. There is a bar fridge stocked with bottled water, soft drinks and beer on a daily basis. There is a coffee maker and 32 inch flat screen TV. The bathroom has a sink in a fairly large vanity and a walk in shower. You need to wait a minute or two for hot water to come when showering but once it does there is plenty. The closet has complimentary robes, ironing board and iron, and a programable safe. The AC is quiet and very good.

When you are ready to eat the Albatros is the main buffet and is open for breakfast, lunch and supper. The food selection hasn't changed much over the years and you can usually find something you will like. Personally, I find you can never go wrong with any fish dish. Once a week they have steak night and mine was excellent. There are also two a la carte restaurants for dinner, Maria's and il Pescatore. There is no limit to how many times you use them. Il Pescatore requires reservation. Lobster can be had for additional charge. On this trip we did not eat there so have no opinion to offer. There is a 24 hour snack bar that has a variety of foods.

The beach is easily accessed from all the rooms in this resort. I think this is one of its best features. There are plenty of cabanas however you should put out your towels early to reserve one. The same holds true for the pool, but there is greater demand so get out there quick! Towels are available at the poolside. Keep it so you have one to put out the next morning. The beach itself is great until you get to the waters edge. There are rows of sandbags to cross before you enter the water. There are a lot of rocks in the water and many boats to one side. Having said that it is perfectly useable if you wade out some distance. There is drink service on the beach and around the pool. Snack foods such as fries, hot dogs, hamburgers, & nachos are available on the beach at Gaviotas Grill.

After a day on the beach you may be ready to explore Fifth Avenue. This is the main tourist area in Playa del Carmen and Gran Porto is ideally located to it. You will finds hundreds of shops and restaurants along this pedestrians only street. If you feel adventurous you can explore the side streets where you will find many more stores as well as night clubs. The shops close at 10 pm but the clubs go till 4 am.

This resort chain has recently changed owners. We hope that the character of the resort stays as it is. The staff are friendly and the resort is spotlessly clean. It is showing its age in some ways but they are constantly renewing it. We hope to return for many years to come.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very small but there is a small pool (with swim-up bar) right in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank heatseekerwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear heatseekerwpg

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you. We will make sure to tell all our staff members that you have mentioned what a great job they are doing and to keep up the good work!
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you here at your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Vazquez
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
nico@realresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,104
    2,011
    634
    363
    258
See reviews for
3,106
2,837
134
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,665)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

When my wife i checked in, they had us in a room on the first floor. I let them know my preference was not to be on the first floor. Although they didn't have anything available right away, they asked me to come back the next morning and they'd be able to accommodate my request...and they did.

Our room attendant for the week was Loranzo. She kept the room clean the entire week and every day she made a towel figurine as a surprise. We took a picture of every one!

At the pool, Calis and Theresa made sure we had a cold drink in our hand all the time.

Time at the Grand Porto Real went by too fast thanks to Arturo, Verlin, Osweldo, and Michelle the activities and entertainment center. Of course I can't forget to mention the chef, Sexy Master Dr Omer! My wife and I love you guys!

Bye bye, hasta lavista, aurevoir,

Andy and Nicole

Room Tip: We prefer staying above the first floor. But that.s just our preference everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Andy L

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and all other TA readers. Nothing puts a bigger smile on our face than to know that our guests experienced a beautiful and unforgettable experience. Your kind comments we surely be shared with all the staff members you have mentioned.
We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Vazquez
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
nico@realresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and wondered up to the health sushi bar and pool on the 4th floor. The fast and friendly service from Froilan and Martin was delightful and we spent a lot of time here. So if you come you have to make a point of coming and saying hi to them.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Rhys D

First of all we want t o congratulate for your recent wedding. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate this memorable date. We also want to thank you for taking the time to share your beautiful review with us. We are so happy to know that you had a fantastic stay.
We will be delighted to host you once more and exceed you expectations.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Vazquez
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
nico@realresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Coming to Playa Del Carmen and staying at Gran Porto Real for the first time was areal treat for my family. The hotel and location were simply refreshing. The staff were so polite and friendly. The variety of food at the restaurants was average but good. Room service was excellent as was our maid Fabiola.
We especially enjoyed the water activities set up by Ricardo,Victor(Toxico), Rocco and all the other team members! My husband learned how to scuba dive and our two daughters 8 and 20 years old loved snorkeling with the tortugas and exploring the cenotes! I felt very safe with our tour guide Carlos out at sea! We loved Jesus who took us to Coco Bongo where we had a great night dancing, drinking and watching the shows!
Thanks to the water aerobics team Michelle, King Arthur Jesus and all the others for making me want to exercise because it was so fun! All the waiters and waitresses were top notch! The Oki Kids Club was awesome and our 8 year old loved your staff and activities. Special thanks to Joss for baby sitting for us in our hotel room so we could experience the night life at Coco Bongo! We felt safe and made to feel at home by all your staff except by one person.
The only problem we encountered was with our hotel room when we arrived after our long flight. We booked a junior suite with double beds with an ocean view but they did not have it available upon arrival. They gave us a queen bed for our family of four. Brought in 2 rollaway beds and said they would credit us $50 and have our room ready the next day. These problems continued and we had to argue with Samantha the front desk supervisor even upon check out because of their errors and bad communication amongst co-workers. The worst service I have ever dealt with from a company who is suppose to strive to go beyond guest's expectations. Unfortunately because of Samantha's lack of respect and professionalism my family will never return to your hotel or recommend it to our family or friends. One bad apple can really spoil the bunch! We did not pay to be treated horrible on our vacation! Sincerely, Michelle Miranda and Family

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dreamtime119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Dreamtime119

We appreciate you have taken the time to share your impressions with us, also we want you to know that the comments and observations we receive from our guests are always taken very seriously, as they tell us what we are doing right, wrong, and how we can improve it, which is why we truly appreciate your willingness to share your impressions.
We would like to apologize for the inconvenient at your arrival, rest assure that all proper corrective measures have been taken, in order to prevent this type of inconveniences in the future.
With respect to the other members of the staff that exceed your expectations we will make sure to tell them what a great job they are doing and to keep up the good work!
Once again please accept our most sincere apologies. We will be delighted to host you once more and exceed you expectations.

Sincerely
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
nico@realresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We ate at this restaurant our last night in Playa. You definitely will need a reservation. Every one should eat at this restaurant. The food is magnificent, just don't ask the waiter for "butter". The table next to us made that mistake. It is very disrespectful to the chef since he makes the bread from scratch.

Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Ms. Judy J

Thank you so much for your comments, please rest assured that issues you raised have been address and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We sincerely hope to have a second chance to serve you!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Waiter, Antonio, Head Waiter, Luis and Hostess Daniela made our two dining experiences entertaining, enjoyed delicious food, and many laughs. Antonio is truly a delight; he made our dining experiences top notch. His personality is delighting and refreshing, making you feel like family. If you visit Il Pescatore, please ask for Antonia for you waiter it will put your dining experience over the top.

Helpful?
Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Ms. Beth V

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are looking forward of serve you again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our third time staying at this awesome resort; we are never disappointed when staying here. Beach drink service is great and friendly, food was very good, and nice assortment of restaurants to choose from. It is also a nice walking distance to 5th Avenue for shopping and other dining options. 5th Avenue is being revitalized and to the north has wonderful local artists showing their wares. It was a very nice treat to see new and unique art and different shops and better prizes on merchandise on this section of the avenue. This resort is all about “location, location, location”, it is just perfect to all that Playa Del Carmen has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Beth V

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for has trusted and believed in us and having given us the third opportunity to host you. We really appreciate your kind words, it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.
We remain at your service and Once again thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Vazquez
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
nico@realresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#43 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Despegar.com so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing