We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were here for 6 days and it was fantastic overall. The sports entertainment staff were fabulous (Verlan, Omar, Erick, Arturo, Angie). They made the trip worthwhile especially with lots of rain on our trip. Naomi at the concierge desk was very helpful. Johnny at Albatross, Mario at Maria's and Jaime at El Peacatore we awesome waiters. Beatriz is a great housekeeper and kept our room spotless even with 5 of us in a room! You HAVE to do a catamaran trip with Carlos! Best $50 we spent the whole trip, 1 hour trip to Playacar beach and back with small ruins tour. Beach was not very good, food was average but because of the above listed employees, we WILL be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank playajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,499
    2,102
    659
    380
    267
See reviews for
3,392
2,960
140
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,743)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great resort and the best service and entertainment! Had a great time..
If you like chess, waterpolo or beach-volleyball, Verlaine is the man!!!!
And for the service in the restaurant, jhonny is the best!!
We didnt have the best weather but we still had a great time thanks to the staff!
We will definately go back to this resort!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dion-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at the GPR April 25-May 3, 2013. Sushi bar April 29 attended by two great staff on a very hot afternoon. David the bartender gave professional and attentive service. Antonio provided fantastic sushi in a courteous and professional manner. Recommend this Hotel due to the attention by all staff especially these two. Will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor close to lobby bar are a bit noisy due to activities going on in evening if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We (literally) just returned from our May, 2013 stay. My review is based on an honest, family-driven vacation experience (2 adults, 2 children), not the promise of a potential 5 day/4 night return trip if you complete the Gran Porto Real's survey. Maybe that's the trick to having an excellent stay.

We stayed in a Family Jr Suite Oceanfront, as it appeared to be the only room that would comfortably accommodate our family (individual bunk beds for the kids; hoped for large enough bed for the adults, but they were still small). They attempted to sell us an upgrade upon our arrival, but we declined - knowing how much we'd already spent for our All-Inclusive vacation.

The room itself was fine - location, view of the pool/ocean, cleanliness, A/C (although we admittedly kept one of our room keys in the "power slot" all the time so that it would continually cool the room).

The food - If you are paying for an All-Inclusive, you would expect there to be a large VARIETY of food available. Unless your family REALLY enjoys Mexican fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, this is NOT the place for you. Upon your arrival, you are told about each of the dining options available, noting that the Italian restaurant is via reservation only. We arrived around lunch time on our first day, and were hoping to eat poolside/beachside from the Parrillada Grill. Unless you wanted a hot dog and fries, or not fully cooked chicken (pink), your only choices were Mexican food.

At dinner time, we realized the only option we had was the buffet at Albatros (the beach grill is closed, no reservation at the Italian place, and we are not huge fans of Mexican food so Maria's was not even interesting to us). We walked in and looked at the food options, and realized that there was nothing available that our children would eat - a small baked potato, yes, but isn't this an All-Inclusive? We also quickly realized that there were very few people eating here.....LOTS of empty tables. We were starting to get worried that we wouldn't be able to eat, and decided to try Il Pescatore (Italian restaurant) - they seated us right away, and there were open tables available (so much for needing reservations!). The service was AMAZING (both of our waiters - Israel and his partner - were very detailed), the food was good quality (only, how many nights in a row can your kids eat the noodle of their choice with cheese?), but it was HOT! We were sweltering.

Breakfast - the lines for pancakes and French toast, as well as eggs/omelets, were quite long. Cereal, pastries, muffins, toast, fruit, yogurts - also available - oh, and so is Mexican fare. It appears that there is no A/C (if there is, we never felt it unless we were in our room), so you are dripping as you are eating your food, unless you happen to catch a spot where's there's a breeze from outside.

Pool/Beach - forget getting a chair pool side unless you're out there early in the morning, or late afternoon. There are lots of chairs/cabanas past the pool, but we would have preferred to have easy access to the pool for the kids. The beach is all sandbags - we realized on our second day that it appears it was completely man-made (likely after a hurricane) - all sandbags piled at least 3-4 high with beach sand dumped on top. There are sandbags pushed up against the Parrillada Grill - beachside - to support it, too. Quite a large drop off from where your chair would be to the ocean water below. Also very rocky, and not swimmable for children. Our kids LOVE the beach, so this was quite disappointing.

The pool/beach drink waiters were great - they were very responsive, kept the drinks coming, and worked hard!

The weather was windy/rainy some nights, so the Caribbean and Mexican nights were held indoors. VERY loud, live bands played both nights, and the music travels right up the center staircase. Thankfully, our room was on the 3rd floor, and we turned up the sound on the noisemaker on my husbands' phone to drown it out.

We had relatives staying next door at the Royal, so we all met for a birthday dinner at Il Pescatore. They indicated they couldn't do a table for 10 (which was weird considering there was a table for 8 already set up when we got there), so they split us in to 2 tables. Service this night was lacking. I think our waiter was overwhelmed (only 1 person this time, not 2). Our food was lukewarm, almost cold, and some people only received part of the dish they ordered (lasagna was to come with au gratin veggies - never added to plate). A birthday cake had been ordered through the concierge at the Royal, but the waiter and the manager at Il Pescatore had no idea about that. They did make quick work of decorating a plate and adding one or two of their desserts to it! It was also extremely hot in this room as well (dripping down the back of my neck while I ate) - we propped the side door to the outside open, just to get a little fresh air.

On our last day, we lost power. We heard the generator kick in, and then that cut out, too. You could hear the guys scrambling to get it running again. Our relatives informed us later that they lost power too, but they'd been told by the management at the Royal that it was going to happen (construction next door) and an estimated length of time it'd be out. We were informed of nothing.

The general feeling we had was that we were inconveniencing those who worked there - the concierge was "busy" talking with one of the bellboys, even while we were standing there (helpful once she acknowledged us); the servers in Albatros were annoyed if we asked for more coffee or a clean spoon to replace one that fell on the floor - overall a feeling of "Why are you bothering me when I'm busy doing something else?"

The nicest person we met the entire trip was upon checkout (!) - Roberto V at the front desk was super friendly, and very attentive.

Overall, our trip was just ok. For the amount of money we spent to enjoy an all-inclusive, we certainly did not feel we got our money's worth. Sorry to say it, but next time, we'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nonskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, General Manager at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Receive warm regards from Gran Porto Real, thank you for your comments they tell us what we are doing right and wrong, and how to improve to make our service better. we are very sorry that we did not cover up your expectations, but belive that every single person in the hotel staff is always disposed to attend any request eather at the buffet, room service or restaurants. We hope to have the opportunity to host you back in our resort. you can contact us directly at nico@realresorts.com

Best regards
Nicolas Vazquez
General Manager
Gran Porto Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's not that Gran Porto Real is bad perse, but it's also not a 5 star resort as it claims. Maybe it was a five star resort when it first opened but this is no longer the case.

Pros:
- Good location, right by 5th avenue
- Good housekeepers

Cons
- The beach is awful. There are huge rocks in the water everywhere. Between the sand and the ocean, there are SAND BAGS filled with algea from a hurricane that struck the resort a few years back.
- The food ranges from bad to slightly better than mediocre. The only restaurant we enjoyed was Il Pescatore. The buffet was not great and despite how clean the hotel tries to be, they're not quite there yet. We witnessed several people putting their hands directly in the food trays and remove food that has sauce on it. Not exactly sanitary.
- The tranquility pool is anything but. If you wanted to have a tranquility pool at your resort, maybe you shouldn't have put a bar in the pool.
- The Junior Suite they tried to "upgrade" us to for $40 a night was worse than the room we got.

There's really not much more to say. The Royal which is owned by the same owners and is across the street doesn't have the same issues. The beach is also nicer (no rocks and no sand bags). The thing is, while you're at Grand Porto Real they will constantly try to get you to upgrade to the Royal (for about $100 a night).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkaravou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was our first time in Mexico, this resort was helpful and felt very safe.
The service and pool area is amazing. The whole resort is very relaxing.
The all inclusive is really worth it, the food is great and never ending drinks!
We will defiantly be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brycebrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from this hotel, it was magnificent! I fully concur with other who rave about this place. OK, the food does get a little "samey" as the time goes on but the simple fact is that there is so much choice, and it is always fresh so you really have no excuse to get bored. The whole place is spotless, Staff attentive and location superb. Beach is breathtaking and excellent for snorkelling and swimming. When we arrived there were Albatross circling the beach!! If you like wtersports there is a lot to do. The diving is excellent also, although I did not use the hotel dive shop as "Phantom Divers" is just around the corner. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,849 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,579 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing