We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor reservation service”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Poor reservation service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First I would like to say the place is very clean and the service is 5* the staff are exceptional.
The biggest problem we had was fighting to get the rooms we paid for, they down grade you
rather than up grade when they sell more rooms than they have, We booked 2 ocean front
suites one with king bed and one with 2 double beds and got, one king family suite that I had to stand on a chair out on the patio to see the ocean and the room had bunk beds in it, not very romantic and one king ocean view suite instead of ocean front and it had one king bed. It was like pulling teeth to get the rooms we reserved but after a few days we finally got our rooms, unfortunately the hassle and feeling that the reservation staff do not care and do not even look
at requests was not a good start to a expensive vacation and for this reason I would not return
to the Gran Porto Real or any Real resort. The rooms were very nice as well was the resort,
the food was decent with the exception of food stations that consistantly were too lazy to handle
your food with out cross contaminating it, like picking up raw hambuger meat putting it on the grill then picking up your bun with the same contaminated hands ect. after pointing this out the problem was quickly fixed, but for how long? The beach was non swimable but good for children, I have the feeling that this resort is for family not for couples, they will try to up sell you to their more expensive resort across the street.

Room Tip: They will not let you email the hotel to make sure your room is what you paid for or that requests a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cliff1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Manager at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
All comments and requests are taken seriously, we strive to make your stay memorable, unfortunately sometime we are completly booked that make difficult to please every request. Nevertheless we are willing to o our best to make your stay comfortable. We hope to host you back in the near future and we ask you to contact us in advance to be aware of your resrvation. my email address nico@realresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,499
    2,102
    659
    380
    267
See reviews for
3,392
2,960
140
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,743)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As soon as we got to the Resort we were told they had overbooked but they would "upgrade" us for the night. No favor there, afterall we didn't screw up our reservations and we would have to move the next day. We were supposed to be in an Junior Oceanview suite but the only way you had a view of the Ocean was if you stood on the balcony, faced right and squinted. The view in front of us and below was another resort and the street below. I really feel we were mislead and lied to about this. The resort had the WORST communication of any resort I'd ever been to. We had no idea what the resort offered, what restaurants we could go to or where anything was located. One day we went for lunch at the buffet and was told they were closed for a wedding. Great, the other two restaurants were closed for lunch and that left us the "questionable" sushi bar and the grill. When we got to the sushi bar they told us they had chicken and beef. I said that's not sushi and then he said, "oh, ok, we have salmon and crab". Not real crab but the imitation stuff you can buy at Hy-Vee. He made us one of each and they were totally tasteless. I ate one bite and left. Since we were told the buffet was not open for dinner either, we went down the street to a lobster place (now them I'd give a 5 star rating). The next morning another guest commented that the buffet was closed because they had a "welcome" dinner on the beach. Everyone at the resort could attend. We had no idea and there wasn't any type of communication. Every day the pool side seats were held by someone's towel or book but they never bothered to come back and use them until sometimes 11 or noon. If they weren't there by noon, I started throwing them off. Yes, you selfish pigs, that was us and we enjoyed watching you come back and cry because you got up at 6 AM to put your towel out there and then go back to sleep. Food at the buffet, Maria's and Il Pesatore were ok but not great. The service is very poor and there is a tendency for the staff to wait on you while talking to other staff members, walk away or ask you to repeat it several times before they responded and I speak Spanish! Service was also a little slow. Everyone there was polite but did not bother to communicate anything and questions were met with blank stares. I do not recommend this resort and would recommend that you look at Barcelo for the same price or very close or upgrade slightly and go to Excellence. Both are a much better choice. One of the other people on my trip also recommended Playa Palms as a better option. If you can get this place for cheap and I advise you to look at the others fist, then it might work for you but we will never go back.

Room Tip: Albatros was a great bar and we did have fun in there (Pablo is very good). I would recommend the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlvr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Manager at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It is very sad to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I would like to mention that buffet opens all day, it just close 1 hour between each meal to clean and refresh the buffet and change menu. If you find the buffet closed, there is always room service available or like you mention Shushibar or the Grill. we are willing to serve anytime you need it. We apologize for the inconvinients and thank you for the feedback, that make us be better everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Had to split our time between the Royal and the GranPorto due to availability and I would never stay at the GranPorto again. We even upgraded to oceanfront walk out suite but that made little difference. The shower takes 5 minutes to get hot, the never refilled our in room mini bar with any thing but the 2 beers and water, no new juices, sodas or coffees. The noise from outside into our room was quite loud and the food was atrocious. That goodness we could eat at some of the restaurants at the Royal because we made could use of Pelicanos and Asiana. The only thing going for them is location. That is it. I have been to Playacar and Cancun and both times their resorts have surpassed this one. And the Royals blew this one away. So think twice in my humble opinion. That is unless suboptimal free food and drinks don't matter and you plan on eating out all the time, location is great as are the people working there. No complaints there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clhendricks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Manager at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It is very sad to know that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, our goal is the entire satisfaction of all our guests, that is wahy is very disappointing to read this kind of review. We hope to have a second chance to host you back in Gran Porto and give you the vacations and service you deserve. Plase contact me directly at nico@realresorts.com, it will be may pleasure to assist you with anything you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Gran Porto and once again was amazed at the top notch service you recieve at this hotel.From check in to the turn down service we received,everyone we had the pleasure to meet were there to make your vacation the best it can be. Time to drop a few names know :) May and Geroldo in the buffet were our waiters for most of our meals (breakfast and lunch) these two are outstanding, Mora on the beach was our waiter for our time on the beach what a guy Amazing , Marisol(hope I spelled it right) the lady that cleaned our room Superb, Emma in the lobby bar Unbeleviable , and every one else we encountered were great. Hotel is always sparkiling clean food was great at all the restaraunts, never had a bad meal anywere. Stayed in room 353 family suite ocean frt great room, north end of hotel so is quiet at nite sleep with your door open and only here the sounds of the ocean. This is our third stay in the area and our second at this hotel and we are planing on returning here next year. would Recomend to Everyone

Room Tip: Stayed in room 353 family suite ocean frt it is on the north end of the hotel so is very quiet at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecarlsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Well situated, although the beach was shielded by sand bags. Very nice rooms (we had a junior suite facing the sea, like the other family members) and a nice pool area. The staff was extremely service minded, very friendly and hard working (Marcelo in the Albatross could serve as a brilliant example) and the hotel was very professionally run, with two exceptions. A couple of days the pool area was occupied by hordes of yelling and boozing Americans, throwing drinks around in the pool and and streaming loud music out of their own music equipment, without any interference from the hotel staff, despite breaking a number of posted pool rules. The other nuisance was the birds flying around the beach grill and the pool area, snatching food and pecking into peoples´ heads around the pool- a shot gun in the early morning would have done the trick!
The food was ok, but not first class.
All in all- with the all inclusive concept it was a perfect hotel for the big family!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TERRACE
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pastas cooked just right, we loved the sauces & seafood. Service was excellent . Love the option of eating in or outside, at times when I was sunburned it was so much more enjoyable to eat in air conditioned dining-room .

Helpful?
Thank Magdalena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in many resorts around Playa del Carmen over the years and this time being right in the town was wonderful. The staff were professional and friendly, the hotel was lovely but where we thought it lacked was the food. the buffet was medocre at best, compared to Rui, Allegro, Reef club, Windhams etc. The reservation restarants were the same I have to say. Even the pina colada's were so so......Thank god we could wander up the street to get real home made guacamole rather than predone tetrapak. We did eat across the street at their Real location due to our upgrade status, and the food was considerably better.
Our beach walkout room was noisy some nights, as the mainfloor corridor was a major traffic zone, they decided to move furniture in the middle of the night and do noisy repairs to the hall at 6am. BUT in saying that, the 24 hour snack bar was a nice touch, the coffee machine was great and the beer was cold.... would we stay there again? probably because in town is fab. but we would eat out more often, which defeats an all inclusive doesn't it !

Room Tip: THe junior suit beach walk out rooms are a bit noisy as they are along the main floor corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,849 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,579 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,987 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing