We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fun by the pool , kudos to Omar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #32 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun by the pool , kudos to Omar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had a blast staying at the Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen. Great pool and atmosphere! The staff are friendly and the service was great. Thank you Jimmy for looking after our poolside drinks. And thank you to the sports and entertainment stuff for making everyday fun - Omar, Jorge, Cynthia and Diana, you guys are awesome.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olya15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,462
    1,833
    600
    356
    253
See reviews for
2,757
2,569
127
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,511)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our recent stay at the Gran Porto Real Resort in Playa Del Carmen exceeded all our expectations-brilliant location -lovely accomodating staff always smiling noting was too much trouble-very welcoming special mention for the entertainment team-Cynthia & the cheeky devil Verlain-also the Bar staff Alex & Theresa-Great selection of restaurants-with a vast variety of food to choose-spoilt for choice-clean rooms-great entertainment most nights-top marks to all the staff & hotel management that make this a truely top rated hotel- We most definately would return to stay at this hotel if we visit Mexico again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the Junior Suites-the standard rooms had shared balconies-which did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back yesterday and had to write my review. Wonderful little resort, fantastic workers, decent food, and great beach! We stayed in an Oceanview Jr. Suite which was perfect, because the resort is built from the beach and towards Playa Del Carmen. (Better views up front!) Ate in the buffet most of the time, and found the food decent for what we wanted. Also used the room service a few times, and was pleased with the quality of food.Pool was small so it was hard to get a seat together most days. Spent most of the time at the beach instead. Yes, there are sand bags, but nothing that spoiled our stay. Going a little north towards the next resort the beach was better. Nice resort, a little small, so if you want an exciting night-life, don't stay here. We didn't care, so for us, this was perfect. Very short walk to where the shops are, so we went there quite a few times! Pushy vendors, but not bad.
All in all, I would recommend this resort for those people just looking for a nice, relaxing time.
We give it an overall 4!!

Room Tip: "Oceanviews were the best for your money. I wouldn't bother upgrading to oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkhappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was being remolded during our stay which caused some issue on departure; however the staff was outstanding expecially Emma Alex Lorenzo & Avila Alex. They never let our drinks glass get empty while at the lobby bar. If you are planning you should look into staying here. The all inclusive after five days the resturaunt got a little " same ole thing". Could use a change up every 3rd day.
Xel-ha was absolute worth it. Spend one full day, go early and stay until they close. Staff is great and the water is wonderful. If and/or if I go back to Cancun I would stay at this hotel and definately go to Xel-ha.
One of the friends got paint on there luggage leaving the hotel and the check out was dis-organized. They seemed to want us out asap and didn't resolve the issue while we were there.

Room Tip: Stay on the ocean side of the hotel. 2nd floor rooms are nicer. The room that face the street are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were able to go twice to Il Pescatore. The food was good for the value. We liked that we were able to find something that all of us could enjoy (pre-teens, teens and adults). Our waiter was a sweet older gentleman who was very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank SalFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stood for 5 days in November. The staff is amazingly nice and very helpful. Unfortunately it was the height of their construction. While sitting at the pool or trying to nap in the afternoon we were disturbed by power tools (drills, jack hammers, etc.). At one point I was having lunch and paint chips and debris started to fall on my table from the workers above the restaurant area. We were very unhappy with all the noise but tried to make the most of our vacation. Had we known in advance construction was scheduled we may have opted to stay at another property. The 2nd issue was the spa. I purchased a spa package and was taken into the men’s locker room to change. I was sooooooooooooooo upset. The after the fact explanation provided, after I let the front desk have it, was that the women’s locker room had a leak. The least they could have done was ensure no men were in the locker room and vice versa. I was there for a wedding, not a strip show! My third complaint is the United Vacations pick up.
We were told to be in the lobby by 9:40a for our airport transfer. We arrived a few minutes early, to make sure we were all set and did not cause any delays. At 10:05a a small mini-van arrives to pick us up. When we confronted the driver he showed up his pick up log and it clearly stated a 10am pick-up. No one seemed to care that we were give a completely incorrect pick up time. To make matters worse, 5 of us were piled into a small van and the driver made a second stop to pick up another 4 passengers. The back of the van was so pack , the driver s view was completely obstructed and had he slammed on his breaks a wheel chair and several pieces of luggage would of came flying on the passengers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Manager at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Receive warm regards from Gran Porto, we would like to apologize for the inconvinient you went trough we were working to give our guests nicest facilities and service. We would like to invite you to contact us in acavazos@realresorts.com and give us the honor to host you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Playa del Carmen is a wonderful little town. There are good bars and a busy nightlife (not too much like Cancun). Most of the all-inclusive resorts are too far away from Playa del Carmen and this hotel is in the heart of the town. It is not as big as the other resort in the Riviera Maya but the facilities are good enough. The hotel has a big swimming pool, a beach bar, 2 restaurants and perfect lounge areas. The junior suite ocean front rooms are big and have a big terrace with hammock (very relaxing!). The staff is always helpful and not forget the cleaning ladies for the rooms. Be sure to leave a small tip every day. You will be surprised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#30 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#19 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#26 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing