We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friends Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #31 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friends Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was being remolded during our stay which caused some issue on departure; however the staff was outstanding expecially Emma Alex Lorenzo & Avila Alex. They never let our drinks glass get empty while at the lobby bar. If you are planning you should look into staying here. The all inclusive after five days the resturaunt got a little " same ole thing". Could use a change up every 3rd day.
Xel-ha was absolute worth it. Spend one full day, go early and stay until they close. Staff is great and the water is wonderful. If and/or if I go back to Cancun I would stay at this hotel and definately go to Xel-ha.
One of the friends got paint on there luggage leaving the hotel and the check out was dis-organized. They seemed to want us out asap and didn't resolve the issue while we were there.

Room Tip: Stay on the ocean side of the hotel. 2nd floor rooms are nicer. The room that face the street are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,362
    1,808
    592
    356
    252
See reviews for
2,700
2,537
125
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,494)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were able to go twice to Il Pescatore. The food was good for the value. We liked that we were able to find something that all of us could enjoy (pre-teens, teens and adults). Our waiter was a sweet older gentleman who was very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank SalFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stood for 5 days in November. The staff is amazingly nice and very helpful. Unfortunately it was the height of their construction. While sitting at the pool or trying to nap in the afternoon we were disturbed by power tools (drills, jack hammers, etc.). At one point I was having lunch and paint chips and debris started to fall on my table from the workers above the restaurant area. We were very unhappy with all the noise but tried to make the most of our vacation. Had we known in advance construction was scheduled we may have opted to stay at another property. The 2nd issue was the spa. I purchased a spa package and was taken into the men’s locker room to change. I was sooooooooooooooo upset. The after the fact explanation provided, after I let the front desk have it, was that the women’s locker room had a leak. The least they could have done was ensure no men were in the locker room and vice versa. I was there for a wedding, not a strip show! My third complaint is the United Vacations pick up.
We were told to be in the lobby by 9:40a for our airport transfer. We arrived a few minutes early, to make sure we were all set and did not cause any delays. At 10:05a a small mini-van arrives to pick us up. When we confronted the driver he showed up his pick up log and it clearly stated a 10am pick-up. No one seemed to care that we were give a completely incorrect pick up time. To make matters worse, 5 of us were piled into a small van and the driver made a second stop to pick up another 4 passengers. The back of the van was so pack , the driver s view was completely obstructed and had he slammed on his breaks a wheel chair and several pieces of luggage would of came flying on the passengers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Manager at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Receive warm regards from Gran Porto, we would like to apologize for the inconvinient you went trough we were working to give our guests nicest facilities and service. We would like to invite you to contact us in acavazos@realresorts.com and give us the honor to host you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Playa del Carmen is a wonderful little town. There are good bars and a busy nightlife (not too much like Cancun). Most of the all-inclusive resorts are too far away from Playa del Carmen and this hotel is in the heart of the town. It is not as big as the other resort in the Riviera Maya but the facilities are good enough. The hotel has a big swimming pool, a beach bar, 2 restaurants and perfect lounge areas. The junior suite ocean front rooms are big and have a big terrace with hammock (very relaxing!). The staff is always helpful and not forget the cleaning ladies for the rooms. Be sure to leave a small tip every day. You will be surprised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnijhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Food was great, not a big choice, but what was there was delicious. Staff was gracious and very forthcoming.

Helpful?
Thank 0591Norwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at this resort in November 2012. My daughter and I stayed in a standard room. Wish I had upgraded to one with a balcony, but the room was comfortable and the beds were good. Maid service every day and she did an excellent job. Loved the towel art she did every day. The buffet restaurant had a very good breakfast and we adored the waiters. They were so attentive and full of charm. We loved this resort and would love to come back. The only downside was the construction that was going on the whole time we were there. Incredibly loud noise from morning to late night. But I must say, the new tiles were beautiful. Big improvement from the old.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0591Norwegians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was a family vacation. The children enjoyed the beach and the staff were excellent.
The kids felt safe and spent the entire day doing beach activities with the staff.
I felt it was good value for the money, but the dinner restaurants could have been better.
The Mayan mexican buffet at Maria’s was the high light of our dinners and the Italian was so so. Sushi was absolutely terrible, and so was the Lobster which we paid extra for - wish they improve on these. The buffet at the main restaurant was very good.
The previous reviewer claimed she lost a watch and a blouse out side near the lobby and pool area. We had I pods, I pads and Lap top etc in our room and nothing was lost.
If I keep any thing out side un attended any where in the world, I would think it gets lost.
I have my personal stuff stolen out of my office in the USA.
So, safety was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#26 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#20 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#33 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing