We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“November Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“November Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was our third time in the riveria maya and the second time at the Gran Porto Real. I went with my family for the week and we had a great time. We love to spend time at the beach and we were thankful the beach was a lot better this trip than the previous, they've done a lot of work to it. There was some construction noise, but it was only during working hours and the parts they have renovated looks fantastic. Our favorite restaurant there is still is Pescatore, we appreciate the service they provide.

My wife is a spa fanatic and she always goes to the spa no matter where we go on vacation. She dragged me along this time and we met Karina at the front reception and she was very friendly and knowledgable. She recommended the treatment to my wife and I and it was incredibly relaxing. Lucy was our therapist and I would suggest you ask for her, my wife thought it was the best massage she ever had.

We always come back to the porto real because of the great location right downtown in playa, but more importantly the service the staff at the hotel provide. If you're heading to the riveria this is where I would recommend you go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,097
    2,010
    634
    363
    258
See reviews for
3,102
2,835
134
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,665)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my second trip to this hotel.Nov 15 thru Nov 24. And just like the first time I had a wonderful vacation. Others have written about the location being close to 5th ave, the warm sunny climate and comfortable rooms. But I think the greatest asset this hotel has are their employees.They truly make you feel welcome and special. From the lobby,pool & beach servers Meriam,Pablo,Jose and Teresa to the barmen Adal,Dave,Miguel,David and Nicolas each one of them made sure to see to your evey need. One of the security gaurds Victor M was always around to help with questions and problems. And a most sincere Thank You to two entertainment team members Verlain and Cynthia.Verlain who did the impossible he got me off my poolside lounge chair and onto the beach vollyball court. I assure you that was no easy task but he did it.And Cynthia with a charming smile and a terrific personality.Unfortunitly she refuses to marry me.I would not hesitate to return here for another very pleasant vacaton.
Once again to one and all I say Thank You. Brian H

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I want to express my opinion of this beautiful resort in playa del carmen, the service was great specially the front desk agent enrique and the waiters , i had a wonderful time with my family , we want to come back soon. Very nice location close to the fifth ave , night clubs, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmena12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wouldn't think Mexico would be able to pull off good Italian food, but this place is great! Service, Food, atmosphere - all enjoyable and right across the street from the resort!

Helpful?
Thank Krista68Poland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just spent 6 days at this resort as a celebration of my parents 50th wedding anniversary. My niece, sister, brother in law and myself each enjoyed a fantastic massage at the spa. Ana Clemente the massage therapist was excellent. Being a fan of massage therapy it was one of the best massages I ever had. Teresa who was our waitress on the beach was top notch. She remembered what everyone was drinking (including the kids) and was always attentive to my family's needs. Dinner on the beach was a special occasion thanks to Antonio, Rotilio, Hector, Nicolas & Comacho. All of the employees were so nice and friendly. We would recommend this resort to everyone. The rooms were clean and the view of the ocean was beautiful. The shows were fun to watch and a great time was had by all. Thank You!

Room Tip: Overlook the pool and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna Jean N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLIAMS LAKE
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This all inclusive 5 STAR resort in Playa del Carmen was our best trip ever to Mexico. They have great beds, very clean throughout the whole resort and really great staff. There is awesome food in the buffet and especially at the al la cart Italian Restaurant, Il Pescatore. Their wine list there was superb and the sommelier, Alejandro Moo Canche is so knowledgeable in both International and Mexican wines that we had to sample the best from their home land. We were not disappointed! The wines from Mexico were so tasty compared to those that we have access to here in B.C., Canada.
We had great service by all staff including May Gerardo in the buffet restaurant, Jose the pool side server and Alejandro Moo Canche and his incredible staff at the Italian Restaurant.
The beach was a bit to be desired but only a few meters away is their sister resort’s lovely beach that we enjoyed daily. Unfortunately “Wilma” hit the Gran Porto Real resort in October 2005 and destroyed the beach in front of this wonderful establishment.
Best of all was how many Canadians were in Playa del Carmen! We made many new friends from all over Canada and have already booked our trip for next year. See you all again soon!
Adios

Room Tip: We chose a room on the 5th floor which has really nice verandas to sit outside in the evening. I kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl_858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Georgina, Andrea, Melissa, Joselyn and Kika took great care of my daughter (7). The kids had events every day, a beach party, pirates show, making cookies. Thanks again to the girls at Oki Fun World.

We were first put in a room that had a door joining our room to another. Right away we noticed a pungent smell in the room, but opening the balcony remedied that. Unfortunately, In the morning we awoke to a strong smell of cigarettes and headaches. It seems that our neighbor was smoking a lot in their room and all the smoke was passing through the adjoining door. We were moved to another (mich nicer room) of course, but only after waiting several hours for another room to be ready, in effect losing the whole morning to the move.

Overall the itself is OK. The food is not great, not many healthy options. The fruit and salads are rather tasteless. After 3 days I had enough. Unfortunately the restaurants open at 6pm, and due to the Jazz Festival starting at 7pm each night, we were forced to stick to the buffet. The drinks bar is good though.

Internet access is so so, it basically works only in the lobby, the rooms barely even get a cell signal.

The service is excellent though. Everyone that works there is absolutely wonderful. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Skip rooms with connecting doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursula2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing