We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great time”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and i were at the gran porto in june of this yr. it was the 2nt time there. Of course the food had not changed, but it is like that in most allinclusive. the staff were great and were always there if you needed them. rooms were great, We had a jr suite ocean view,which we had to change, reason was the music comeing from the clubs down the beach kept us awake. it started at 9pm and went to 5am. that was the only problem we had at the resort. will be back.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dennbo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,272
    2,049
    644
    370
    259
See reviews for
3,211
2,909
137
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,712)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our first trip to the Gran Porto Real was in 1997. This was our first encounter with Felipe and Teresa. What wonderful people. They made feel so welcome and still do to this day. On our second day there, Felipe made me a drink to calm my stomach and 15 years later I still drink the “Felipe Especial”. I now bring home the secret ingredient “Xtabentun” to make the drink myself. Teresa always has a beautiful smile on her face and is a joy to talk to. We have made numerous friends with other staff on our multiple visits and they always remember us and make us feel welcome and at home. The food is great (thanks to Mauricio, Rene and their staff) especially the grouper. We are anxiously awaiting our next trip there in two weeks, so Felipe have the “Especial” ready!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GmaSusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I spent last week at the Gran Porto Real ,we have visited the Gran Porto Real many times and every visit is better than the one before. The General Manager Nicolas Vasquez is very friendly and helpful and keeps his resort running like a well oiled machine ! The staff are ever attentive to your needs as well as keeping the rooms spotless and the public areas well groomed. Food was delicious , a new menu in Maria's Mexican has several delicious new options. The Italian was just as delicious as ever ! The buffet mixed up the evening with theme nights and lunch and breakfast always had something for everyone.The weather was perfect as we simply just sat on the beach for 5 days and enjoyed the food,drinks and relaxed.The staff (of whom are tireless ),always make us feel as if we are visiting family...I will attempt to list the many who helped make this visit superb! Bellman-- Aaron (love to see his smiling face when we step off the van)

Samantha (Reception desk) was next to greet us warmly and welcome us back, Samantha walked out into the reception lobby to greet us with warm hugs a genuine WELCOME BACK ! Astrid Cavanos (Front office ) ,whom we surprised with this visit ;) was equally as excited to see us with warm embrace as well,both Samantha and Astrid took time out of their busy day to make sure we were happy with our room and settled. They both possesses such a positive energy and true love for their jobs. Guards are ever present at this resort and Javier is our favorite,we have never felt unsafe in Mexico but just in case you are worried the Real Resorts have a fantastic staff of guards. The waiters are plentiful in the restaurants several who took extra special care of us are: Marcello,Ivan,Mariano,Abimal,Dario,Antonio,Mateo,Baak,Parraquin,..Chef Ramon Alfredo,hostess-Delia.(Delia always greets us with a warm welcome back hug :).

The 24 hour room and lobby bar---Elizabeth,Cecelia,Mari,Adriana, Towels --Filya

Bartenders (love this group of mixologist)-- David,Miguel,Dave,Alex,Fillipi,Montero

Beach servers (LOVE THEM) the true heart of the Gran Porto Real is this sweet group of tireless servers ; Teresa,Jesus,Jose,Pablo and Huber They too are always delighted see us and welcome us with warm hugs and huge smiles!

New service: a lady who came by on the beach and cleaned our sun glasses and snorkel gear ,she did a wonderful job,can't recall her name .Most likely the bartenders fault !

Life guard- Alexus,(thanks to him my broken toe healed just fine ! )

Last but not least our chamber maid : Veronica Poot who kept our room spotless and charmed us everyday with different towel art.

Construction update::They were remodeling the beach front suites and they are going to be fantastic when finished,the beach erosion is ever evolving we saw the sand shifting even during just one week. Mother nature is holding her own as is the Gran Porto...snorkeling out front was teaming with fish many many fish!The shade on north beach is growing ,the palms are getting bigger ! We had a very relaxing visit and cannot wait to return .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our first visit at this hotel and it was very pleasant. Check in was fast and then off to our Ocean Front Room, which was nicely equiped and had a great view. 3rd floor recommended.

Staff are very friendly and always greeted us where ever we went. They really go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant vacation.

Please avoid the Guest Service people to the left of check in. They really were persistant in trying to get us to visit the sister hotel next door, the Royal. It looked very nice, however we really did'nt want to go there and when we indicated we changed our minds, another member from that team approached us later and was very pushy and gave us the guilt trip. Time Share type pitch. Aside from this issue, we enjoyed our visit at this hotel.

Please visit the Mexican restaurant, Maria. We highly recommend this a la carte restaurant. Ask for waiter Jorge. He really goes the extra mile and gives you the VIP treatment. He provided us with exeptional service, bringing us very delicious dishes to try, aside from what we ordered. Please remember to tip, it really goes a long way. Thanks Jorge for the awesome experience, we will always remember you and the bean soup. You must try it!

The main buffet restaurant was on and off. We did have 2 nice dinner meals there and breakfast was always nice. The only hicup we can say is that if you want eggs, omlettes, you are gonna have to wait a bit. Could be a more efficent way to deal with the lines ups here.

The beach was not the nicest, only because of the errosion and sand bags needed to ensure the beach remains. The water was a little hazy but if you walk about 5 minutes to your left, there you will find beautiful clear waters with no rocks and great swimming.

Although the waters are very calm you can always feel safe because of the nicest lifeguards you will meet. Gustavo and Alexis were awesome and very helpful with any questions or concerns you might have. They are super friendly and please do not hesitate to introduce your selves to them. They will ensure you have pertinent information about the ocean, culture and much more. Gustavo and Alexis, we will always remember you both as our friends. Your beach waiters will be Pablo and Jesus. They will always ensure you have a fresh drink, what ever you desire. Great job amigos!!

Please visit Cozumel, if you have not done so already and try the snorkling with Ocho Family. Trust us, you will have the experience of your life. The waters in Cozumel are incredible and should be on your bucket list, for sure. Awesome experience!!!

Our last night there, we experienced Mexican Independance Day. Wow!! Incredible fiesta and the staff bent over backwards to make this a great entertaiment for all. Well done!

We really wished they played more Mexican music pool side during the day other then Guns and Roses, Lady Gaga...this is Mexico after all. We were told they have to play a bit of every thing to please everyone, unfortunately.

Over all we have a very nice relaxing vacation and stay at the Gran Porto. Oh, they have a jacuzzi roof top, check it out. Don't forget to tip. A few pesos goes a long way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank samba-heat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We first came here in Aug 2010 for our honeymoon, room and view was gorgeous. Staff incredible. Food amazing - especially the Italian place. Came back with the kids in December 2011 - and the staff remembered us - welcomed us with hugs. Kids loved the place, the 10 year old said she never wanted to go home. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed from Sept 5-12 to the 15

Let's start with the Pro's:

Super nice people, so friendly and happy to help you!!

Very clean hotel

Good size hotel... but if it were booked to the max there would be WAY WAY to many people there as the pool is not the biggest and there are only 2 small bars. Not a party hotel for the young people. That's it for the Pro's

And the con's:

Your room is entered 4 times a day, 1 for the maid, 1 for the refreshment guy, 1 for the toiletries guy and 1 for the maid again to make your bed that you messed up during the day(She also puts a couple chocolates on the bed). In my opinion this is an invasion of privacy. I want the maid to come in and do everything at once. I had expensive video equipment that would not fit in the safe so the more people that come in the worse off I am.

Went 2 days with out a normal roll of toilet paper. I complained to the front that we ran out of T.P. so she called the maid for us. Went back later that evening to find the maid put a roll of TP on the stand beside the front door... I'm thinking ok whatever, then I notice the hole in the middle is half the size it normally is so it wont fit on the roller. I go to grab it and it felt really stiff and awkward to use as TP. Complained the next day about it and the day after that the maid gave us a nice roll and even put it on the roller.

POOL CLOSES AT 9PM!!!!!!!!!!!!! really? come on!!!!!!!!!

The beach.... Is not a beach, unless you like lying on sandbags. The beaches on either side of this hotel however are bloody amazing!!!!!!!!

The food is on par with the other Hotels we've stayed at... 5 out of 10 lol except the ice cream that was really good. they switch it up everyday but rotate around the same things after 5 or 6 days.

We did a lot of scuba diving with Steve at Reef Quest Divers which meant we had to get up early everyday, on the only day we got to sleep in on our 10 night vacation the hotel decided to start construction first thing in the morning. You ever have somebody hammer drilling the wall you were on the other side of?

IMHO this is a 3 star hotel not a 5 star hotel.

Did I mention the pool closes at 9pm?

Someone kept taking out the card from the reader so the A/C would turn off.

I feel bad because the staff were so nice there but it has to be said for it to change.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade you room!!!! unless you like sandbags!!!! And bring an insulated cup with a straw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 300winmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I recently went ot this hotel with my husband for our honeymoon. Upon arrival, we were given a bottle of champagne and a cake to celebrate the occasion. We had books a junior suite ocean front and we LOVED our room. It had a beautiful view of the ocean and it overlooked the stage so we could watch the nightly shows from our balcony.

The hotel itself is nice and clean and perfectly situated. It is walking distance from pretty much anything you might need and a 5$ taxi ride to Wal-Mart (we went there to get our disposable cameras developed).

We tried all of the restaurants and were pleased with all of them. The breakfast buffet offers extensive choices and it was a meal we always looked forward to. Our only problem encountered at any of the restaurants was during Steak Night at the Albatros. My husband was asked to go back to our room to change his shoes as men were not allowed wearing sandals for that particular supper. He was more than happy to do so. However, when he came back and while we were eating, the Maitre D and waitress who had asked him to go change his shoes, escorted at least 16 other men in grungy flip flops to their tables without asking them to change thier shoes. This upset my husband a bit as he felt singled out.

Word to the wise: Avoid the Guest Services desk like the plague. We were escorted to a table to talk to one of te representatives and they told us they were inviting us to breakfast at their sister hotel the Royal and that it would be free. In the meantime, they were extremely polite and told us about all the things they would do for us, like bring us a fruit basket, etc. On the day of the breakfast, I had a cold and wanted to stay in bed as I was fairly sick, so I invited my husband to go to breakfast. He came back to the room a few minutes later and stated that they didn't want him to go alone, and that they would reschedule for noon (despite my husband telling them that I was sick). Shortly after, we received a phone call telling us to bring a credit card to the "meeting" at noon. So the breakfast had suddenly turned into a meeting. We went on tripadvisor to see if anyone had this issue and read that it was a sales pitch and that they tricked people into going by telling them that it was a simple breakfast or meal, etc. Not being interested in anything they had to sell, and disappointed that they had not told us the reason for the breakfast beforehand, I asked my husband to go down and to let them know that we were not interested in their sales meeting and that we did not want to waste teir time and would therefore not be going to their lunch. From that point on, the Guest Service staff ignored us, and we certainly didn't end up getting the fruit baskets and champagne promised to me for my birthday. The whole situation made our stay a bit awkward and I feel that it would be preferable to avoid that sector in order to avoid going through that situation.

All in all, however, the hotel was nice. We are not certain that we would go again, but it is a lovely place for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Definitely splurging a bit to get an ocean front suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing