We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you love crepes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Crepacabana

La Crepacabana
Ranked #8 of 47 Dessert in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Takeout
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you love crepes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little place for a great afternoon treat we had a strawberry, banana with a touch of Carmel & one with Nutella and banana best crepes ever the owner was very friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    58
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I saw this as one of the top restaurants in Playa and had to make this a stop on my trip last week. We were staying right on the beach, close to 5th Ave. I took a stroll over there a day for lunch. I had the banana and nutella crepe and it was AMAZING! I also ordered the strawberry water, which was just fresh frozen strawberries blended with water. The portions were large and the prices were very reasonable. ($5 for the crepe and $2 for the water). There were many crepe choices on the menu (sweet and salty/cheesy ones). I will be back here on my next trip...probably more than once!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa8503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Un freaking real.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good stuff. I've tried crepes from vendors in London Paris and West Virginia. This was a light dance where my taste buds rejoiced with every tasty morsel, a stress-free and a surprisingly refreshingly treat. The best crepe I’ve ever had was on a busy street just off 5th. In the middle of the hot day you would be shocked how tasty a crepe can be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yalpdotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“What's not to love about Nutella!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend a stop for a Nutella dessert crepe after dinner and a few cocktails. This place is not on 5th but its on the next block up so its not far off the beaten path. There is no ambience here so I would get it to go. They had many other crepe's but I only tried the Nutella.

Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crepes in Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

A really small booth on the 10th avenue, but definitely worth a visit.

We tried both the salty and sweet crepes and they were really good. If you really want to indulge yourself, try the one with the caramel sauce, it's just decadent.

The smoothies with fresh fruits were also really good, I recommend the one with strawberries and mango.

The owner is not very surprisingly French, so it's a good time to brush up on your french as well! :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LauriAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Crepacabana also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Crepacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing