We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect condo choice”
Review of Arena Blanca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arena Blanca
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had gotten in touch with one of the owners about a year ago before my first trip to Playa. I was going back and forth on whether or not I wanted to stay in a condo or a hotel for my first trip-he was very patient and helpful as he helped me understand some of the pros and cons of each. I ended up staying in a hotel for that first trip but knew when I came back less than a year later Arena Blanca had my name on it.

We had a unit on ground level. It was very clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The water cooler was a great perk and helped keep us hydrated. I also liked the location a lot, very close to 5th Avenue but it was on the quieter end which was great. I would definetly stay here again. Prompt refund on the security deposit, great communication from the managers. Couldnt have asked for more.

Oh and I have to say this because I just couldnt believe it. The housekeeping didnt come every day but when she did come she CLEANED OUT MY HAIRBRUSH! My disgusting, hairy hairbrush that I don't even like to clean out and it is my own hair. Talk about above and beyond!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our first trip to Playa del Carmen and to Arena Blanca's beautifully landscaped gardens with swimming pool are filled with palm trees and bougainvilleas. Our penthouse condo was very spacious and tastefully decorated,the rooftop terrace was on two levels was great. The upper level had a great jacuzzi which enabled you to look out to sea. The lower level had loungers and a palapa for shade if you wanted it. There was also a dining area and food preparation area unfortunately there was no private BBQ which would have been nice

The location of the condo is a block and a half off the beach and around the corner from great restaurants, bars and shopping, but away from the more touristy side of Playa.

The staff were helpful and attentive and the night security guards were friendly.

If you are a light sleeper, noise from the road at night might disturb your sleep, nothing that ear plugs or a few drinks won't sort out!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The most beautiful friendly place in the world. Central to 5th Avenue, main shopping strip in Playa, close to the best restaurant in Playa (La Cueva del Chango). It's situated at the north end of 5th Avenue so its not as noisy and a block away from the Caribbean beaches. The Condo's are furnished for comfort, ease and are very secure. Has own kitchen, fridge, laundry, two toilets, large shower and large lounge room.The staff at Arena Blanca are so accommodating and helpful I was amazed. I had the inground pool outside my condo.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We loved staying in #11. Private rooftop terrace, easy walk to the beach, great restaurants within a block or two, it was all good. The staff was cheerful, helpful, and very easy to work with. We love Manuel, the night guard :) We will be back!

Room Tip: There are only 11 units in the building. If you want privacy and and you do not mind walking up 3 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wandererWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

If you want to enjoy the best of Playa del Carmen, you gotta stay at Arena Blanca. Everything is perfect !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kapaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our much anticipated escape from rainy Maine to Playa del Carmen was a success. We arrived to Arena Blanca's beautifully landscaped gardens filled with palm trees and pink bougainvilleas. Our penthouse condo was spacious and tastefully decorated and the rooftop terrace was to die for. We spent our evenings under the breezy palapa watching the sunset, before walking to dinner on 5th avenue.

The location of the condo was perfect for our group- a block and a half off the beach, around the corner from great restaurants, bars and shopping, but away from the more touristy side of Playa.

The staff was helpful and attentive and the night security guards were all very sweet. I really appreciated the cleanliness and attention to detail at a level that I rarely find with other rentals. I can't wait to go back with my husband for a second honeymoon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EG129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have stayed at Arena Blanca 2 x and have been to a social event in the Penthouse... this place is a gem! For me the location is perfect... you are a 2 minute walk to Cinco Avenida where all of the action is and only a few minutes to the beach too... There is a small grocer 2 doors down! People at home often ask me about safety in Playa (or Mexico in general) and I felt safe everywhere I went in Playa & Arena Blanca is gated! I wanted to do some cooking and the kitchen is well stocked but with all of the restaraunts around!!?? And the pool is really inviting but I prefer to go straight to the beach! I was invited to the Penthouse for a get-together and that place is incredible..WOW! I really enjoyed my stay there and hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timber17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
9.5 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
12 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,530 reviews
10.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,059 reviews
4.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,909 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Blanca

Address: Calle 38 and 10th Ave. | New North End of Playa, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 245 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $137 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because of its classic architecture and impeccable construction, Arena Blanca is known by the locals, as "the beautiful building". The building has a gorgeous two-bedroom condo (with a spectacular rooftop terrace) and numerous charming one-bedroom poolside condos. Arena Blanca is known for its great design, maintenance, and staff. From the iron gates to the arched stairways to the brick-ceilings (known as "bovedas"), Arena Blanca has many traditional Mexican elements. And together with modern elements, they create a very comfortable and beautiful vacation property. We are proud of the special care and attention to detail found in the building, thanks to the skill of the local builders. The difference is noticeable...And the location? Es perfecto! Arena Blanca is ground zero for many of Playa's favorite restaurants including La Cueva del Chango. And it's just a few minute walk to the quaint area known as "Little Italy" and a ten minute walk to the touristy center of Playa del Carmen. Close enough but far enough away! The short walk to the Caribbean via Calle 38 is one of the most beautiful walks in town... past the gardens of our favorite restaurant, La Cueva del Chango, and the charming beach front palapas hotels. We love being so close to Mamitas Beach, a diverse and colorful beach that provides the best people-watching in Playa. Rent an umbrella, pop open a cerveza, and enjoy the view of the beach and beach-goers... it’s a feast for the eyes. You just might think you’ve died and gone to heaven, right here on earth! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arena Blanca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing