We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Patisserie in Playa!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Celine

Chez Celine
Ranked #1 of 42 Dessert in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Patisserie in Playa!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stumbled into this little French bakery on a rainy Saturday morning in Playa, and thereafter it became almost a daily event. The pastries were awesome, especially the croissants, little buttery nuggets of toasty, flaky golden goodness. A trip for lunch resulted in the most amazing sandwich: smoky serrano ham studded with little bits of tangy sun-dried tomatoes on a crunchy baguette. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor eating areas; the interior looks and smells just like the inside of a Paris bakery. Service was attentive and pleasant, even when the restaurant was busy. We will definately return on our next trip to Playa :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,282
    462
    99
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stick to the Pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went here for breakfast because we heard great things. I had the omelet, which was very average. It did however include potatoes, bread, orange juice and tea for about 88 pesos. The croissant was MUCH better (and cheaper at 45 pesos). Also tried the chocolate croissant which was quite tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great crescents!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place has great crescents! Crepes were only ok and coffee was average. Get the crime filled crescent... Wonderful!! Service is not real fast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cute patisserie tucked in Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped by for coffee and a pastry here one afternoon. This is a super cute, European style, patisserie right on 5th ave. We had the strawberry tart and chocolate almond croissant which were both very fresh and delicious. The service is slow for a place that has all of their goods already baked but was very busy when we went around 4 p.m.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our food was fresh and very good. Had to ask twice for my iced tea. The breakfast I ordered came with a hot beverage and they charged extra for an iced drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthc79804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Celine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Chez Celine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing