We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONE thumb up!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Playa Del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
One Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #89 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ONE thumb up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Nice modern hotel, cheap price (online) but a little bit far from the 5th avenue at night > 7 minutes walk through a dimly lit neighborhood. Free and good breakfast buffet = toasts, eggs, chilaquiles, frijoles, waffles, cereals, fresh fruits and yogurt. Clean and quiet rooms, with cable TV. Nice and helpful staff. Computers in the lobby. Just across the street from the 'long distance' bus terminal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistletoe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    270
    60
    18
    22
See reviews for
152
219
57
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at One Jan 2011 - the place had only been opened 7 months, so everything was very new and modern. It is located a short distance from the main strip, so it is very quiet. Free internet, free breakfast included (the breakfast is the usual local fare - fruit, toast, chilaquiles and beans, waffles, etc). Beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms modern and clean. There is a great tapas place just kiddy corner to the hotel, and it is right across from the ADO bus station so easy to get to. Great fares online - better than what they will offer you as a walk in so check out www.bestday.com.mx or similar sites for good prices. Oh, and there is also free laundry facilities. Great place - we will be recommending to friends when we have our wedding in Playa later in the year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

This appears to be a brand new hotel with parts (perhaps a future condo complex) still under construction. The lobby, breakfast room and rooms are all very clean. The room was basic: a queen sized bed and that was about it! There was a wall-length shelf which served as a desk and also as a closet of sorts along with a small flat-screen TV. Walls were stark white. Bathroom was nicely sized, with nice large tiles on walls of shower and granite counter top. Free Wi-fi throughout. About 4 blocks from the main drag (restaurants/bars/etc along Ave 5) of Playa and 5 - 6 blocks from beach. Wal-Mart is one block south and a mega-mart one block north. Literally 5 min walk to all the action tho it does seem a little 'out of the way'. One of the two bus stations in Playa is next door but I didn't hear any noise and was not bothered at all. For non-resort style clean and cheap accomodation, there's not much to complain about. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neuatomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Although this hotel is not located near to the beach, it is located directly behind the ADO bus station which serves Cancun, etc. The cabs in Playa are quite expensive, but if you want to walk in the heat or just take a cab down to the beach once a day it is not so bad! Esepcially if you are taking buses throughout Quintana Roo, the location is great. There is also not much noise from the bus station at all. At least, we did not notice any from our room 106. There was breakfast offered in the morning and although it was not the best breakfast I have had, it was certainly not bad. They offered eggs, ceral, toast and chilaquiles between 7am and 11am. The front desk staff was very helpful, and they have computers available for use in the lobby. The internet also worked very well in the rooms. Our room had a king bed and it was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean and they offered soap, shampoo, etc. We had a small closet, a desk area and a TV. For a one night stay traveling towards Cancun, we had a nice stay for only 45USD total.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#94 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#121 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#36 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Playa Del Carmen

Property: One Playa Del Carmen
Address: 25 Avenida Norte Mz 97 Lt 01 S/N, Entre Av. 12 Norte y 12 Bis Col. Centro | entre Av. 12 Norte y 12 Bis, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One Playa Del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Caribbean Sea and the Mayan Riviera with its stunning flora and beautiful beaches. Playa del Carmen, a popular tourist destination strategically located between Cancun and Tulum, is one of the most beautiful spots in the region. Choose to stay at One Playa del Carmen, an affordable hotel that guarantees a safe and comfortable stay. One Playa del Carmen is located within the Xop Inn Shopping Center on Calle 12 Norte (12th North Street), behind the ADO Alternate bus station, only a few streets away from Playa Mamitas and four blocks from la Quinta Avenida. A fabulous location that will let you easily discover the most beautiful spots in the city. The hotel is located on a street that connects to Playa del Carmen's most popular restaurants, bars, and night clubs. The ferry to Cozumel, an island that's a water-sport destination, is also located very close by. We remind you that the check-in time is from 3:00 PM. Check-out is at 1:00 PM. We suggest you use our express check-out service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your One Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing