We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Hostel Rio Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Rio Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hostel is ok.
Before staying there I'd read reviews about the loud music and thought that wouldn't bother me... basically from about 2pm until 4am the bar next door has the LOUDEST soundsystem I've ever heard.. yet never any people there. It did annoy me!

Locations good.

Atmosphere when I was there was ok.. there never really seemed to be anyone around and one of the bar staff was really rude. Some people have a private lounge in their room and seemed to just be keeping to themselves in there.

Farly clean. Air con - but you have to basically beg to get the remote off reception for your room.
Kitchen is small with a tiny electric hot plate - not acutal oven or stove. Pool in knee deep - but you are so close to the beach anyway.

I wouldn't stay here again but wouldn't say it was the worst.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms (on the roof) are actually pretty good because the noise is less up there - just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I´ve stayed there 2 nights, it´s really a pity that I have a bad experience because i think this hostel could be GREAT. I´ve stayed in a 6 female bedroom (bad choice) it was the smallest room i´ve ever been and the worst thing is that was near the kitchen were everyone stayed there shouting until 5 am, and at the other side, from the window your ears will receive 2 different type of music and SO loud, I thought I was sleeping inside a discoteque.
The only bathroom we have was one also close to the kitchen that was used by all the hostel, so you´ll have to wait a lot to have a shower or just brush your teeth.
The bar at the terrace it´s really nice and because of the rainy days we couldn´t use it so much. Also the people that work there was great too, the brazilian guy was really really nice!
I hope this hostel get better because it has everything to be a great hostel.

Room Tip: Don´t choose the ones next to the kitchen!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

So much fun, amazing people. I recommend this place to every travelers looking for a great hostel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The only real way to get to sleep here is to drink yourself to sleep. The hostel has a rooftop bar which is decent and usually rounds people up to head out at about 1am. Up until 1am the music will be cranking very loud.
Also, there is a bar that shares a wall with the hostel that will crank music, sometimes until 5am so that doesn't really help matters either.
To compound that, there is one small air-conditioning unit for the whole dorm, but the problem is it is controlled by staff & very rarely turned on.

The kitchen is tiny & has only one working hot-plate, so if you want to cook you need to allow a couple of hours for waiting & time to prep with just one plate.

The staff were quite pleasant & the location is close to the beach & WalMart, but then, everything in Playa Del Carmen is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Me and a friend booked for 6 nights right ahead, both because it was reccomended by Lonely Planet, and we´re not normally very picky about where we sleep. But this hostel was really not a good choice!
I got bedbugs the first night, (because I first was unsure about whether it was mosquitos or bedbugs i didn´t tell the staff right ahead) But after two days my whole body was full of bites which swell up and inched constantly, so someone told me I should tell the staff because you then get some refund.
The staff didn´t care at all about my problem here, the only thing I was told was that I should have told them before so they could spray the room so the bedbugs would disappear. But they didn´t do it. and he told me it was impossible that they´d had it because they had had this "inspection" a few days earlier..

The only thing which was positive was the nice guest we got to know and the cool bartender and the bar at the roof, if you like to party all night long. But if you don´t go out, you don´t get to sleep either. IT is noisy as hell and the guest come in and out the room all the time without shutting the door. The aircondition was hardly on at all, and the breakfast wasn´t very much to talk about either.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maridw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The bar is completely separate to the hostel and owned by someone else. The bar is absolutely awesome and the guys who own and work there make it an incredible night for everyone with great prices and deals too! 30 pesos all u can drink for an hour always goes down well. But you dont need to stay at this hostel to enjoy this bar.. stay down the road this hostel is/has:
- Incredibly loud - thing is they have sound proof doors but they need a sign in Spanish saying ''close the door'' but all night long idiots were leaving the door open and waking everyone up
- bad beds (my back is still sore)
- disgusting toilets til 10 or 11am when the cleaner cleans up the yak and poo
- breakfast is just slices of bread
- air con is off most the day
- water is intermittent
- Reason I gave it 3 is because the staff are nice and the fellow guests in the hostel are really awesome and fun, location is good too.. and I was drunk most the time anyway to not care about the above.

Most our neighbors left after one night. Stay down the road at Youth Hostel, its cheaper and u might actually sleep. My one night off from drinking I didn't sleep til 2am because it was so loud and other guests were very rude and kept forgetting to SHUT THE DOOR!!. Definitely come and see this bar though!! Ask for a Kevs Magical Drink ;)

Room Tip: A good room? Something 5 blocks away? I'd recommend asking for the top 3rd floor.. I assume you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMAC2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The roof bar in the hostel is a different owner than the hostel. The Bar offers 100 pesos for 6 beers in a bucket, has a good vibe! Kiwi blokes are lovely!

Breakfast - Toast.. WOO they say 8-10 really its 9 - 10!
Beds- The worst bed I have had in 9 months of travelling
Staff - friendly (Dont care too much tho)

The biggest issue.. The noise - There is construction going on opposite the hostel Number 1 annoyance. Number two annoyance the Music is so ridiculously loud! Dont get me wrong I partied too But if you want one night off your doomed!!! You will not sleep!

Water cuts off at least once a day. about 20 people using one bathroom. Air con is never on!

Just so you all know the roof bar is open to everyone! You do not need to stay here to come to the bar!

Do your self a favour. Go stay at Hostel Playa 100 metres up the road and save ya money! Then use the bar!

Bar 6-7 30 pesos for a drink then free refills (No beer) (Cheap Liquors but what do you expect for this price)
10 - 11 Girls drink FREE!

Oh one more thing the pool is knee deep.. and the owner enjoys letting his dog swim in there.. (Not so hygenic!)

Excellent Location and another thing I just remembered.. Your guaranteed to have Yak, pooo & wee all over the toilet!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelemz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#13 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Vive la Vida
Hostel Vive la Vida
#29 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#23 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#11 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#2 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#10 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Rio Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Rio Playa

Address: Avenida 5, Norte 119 | Entre 5ta avenida y avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $15 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Rio Playa is located one block from the beach and half block from the famous '5ta Avenida' Fifth Avenue downtownWe offer the perfect blend of elegance and tropical flare for a unique experienceWe are welcoming you in a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style, focusing on personalized service and detail. Come prepared for an unforgettable vacation...We know that a hostel is much more than just a place to sleep. Therefore we offer you all the necessary amenities to allow you to get to know and enjoy this extraordinary town, especially the region's stunning Mayan archaeological sties staged in lush jungle settings.We offer you specialized information regarding transportation, distances, costs, tourism and more in order for you to experience these alternative Mayan routes at the right price and with the proper resources.Additional InformationWe have a private bar just for hostel guest (beer is just 1 dlls for the guest)20Mts walk distance to the beach.24 hrs reception.No smoking inside of building. (plenty of space where you can smoke)Be happy always. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Rio Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hostel Rio Playa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing