We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar aside... this place is Average and over-priced”
Review of Hostel Rio Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Rio Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The bar is completely separate to the hostel and owned by someone else. The bar is absolutely awesome and the guys who own and work there make it an incredible night for everyone with great prices and deals too! 30 pesos all u can drink for an hour always goes down well. But you dont need to stay at this hostel to enjoy this bar.. stay down the road this hostel is/has:
- Incredibly loud - thing is they have sound proof doors but they need a sign in Spanish saying ''close the door'' but all night long idiots were leaving the door open and waking everyone up
- bad beds (my back is still sore)
- disgusting toilets til 10 or 11am when the cleaner cleans up the yak and poo
- breakfast is just slices of bread
- air con is off most the day
- water is intermittent
- Reason I gave it 3 is because the staff are nice and the fellow guests in the hostel are really awesome and fun, location is good too.. and I was drunk most the time anyway to not care about the above.

Most our neighbors left after one night. Stay down the road at Youth Hostel, its cheaper and u might actually sleep. My one night off from drinking I didn't sleep til 2am because it was so loud and other guests were very rude and kept forgetting to SHUT THE DOOR!!. Definitely come and see this bar though!! Ask for a Kevs Magical Drink ;)

Room Tip: A good room? Something 5 blocks away? I'd recommend asking for the top 3rd floor.. I assume you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMAC2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 205 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

The roof bar in the hostel is a different owner than the hostel. The Bar offers 100 pesos for 6 beers in a bucket, has a good vibe! Kiwi blokes are lovely!

Breakfast - Toast.. WOO they say 8-10 really its 9 - 10!
Beds- The worst bed I have had in 9 months of travelling
Staff - friendly (Dont care too much tho)

The biggest issue.. The noise - There is construction going on opposite the hostel Number 1 annoyance. Number two annoyance the Music is so ridiculously loud! Dont get me wrong I partied too But if you want one night off your doomed!!! You will not sleep!

Water cuts off at least once a day. about 20 people using one bathroom. Air con is never on!

Just so you all know the roof bar is open to everyone! You do not need to stay here to come to the bar!

Do your self a favour. Go stay at Hostel Playa 100 metres up the road and save ya money! Then use the bar!

Bar 6-7 30 pesos for a drink then free refills (No beer) (Cheap Liquors but what do you expect for this price)
10 - 11 Girls drink FREE!

Oh one more thing the pool is knee deep.. and the owner enjoys letting his dog swim in there.. (Not so hygenic!)

Excellent Location and another thing I just remembered.. Your guaranteed to have Yak, pooo & wee all over the toilet!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelemz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hi, I was there in October 2010.

The staff is really friendly, the rooms are not amazing but comfortable enough, it has a bar on the roof with a small mini swimming pool in the middle (more like a big fountain..hehe) but anyway, the bar is really cool for teh price you are paying..

It's just next to the beach and it is safe too.

I would go back there, I had a really good time and met really fun and interesting people!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laOlalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I must start by saying this was by far the most incredible experiences of my life.
The staff is very friendly and make you feel comfortable. There weren't any curfew's as far as I recall, everyone was curteous in being loud outside, not in the hostel.

The living spaces are clean, comfortable, and safe. They provide lockers with locks and 24/7 service. The private quarters ahve a lock and key. Also there is a locked gate that is at the very entrance which you have to buzz up to recieve entry after hours. They have a roof top lounge - hostel style, with chairs, arm chairs, couches, a cocktail pool, and bar ;). It over looks a bit of playa strip. Location is close to all the shops, the beaches, restaurants, everything!

Personal Story,
It was a friend's birthday when I had. We wanted to have a toga party of the roof. Lets just say as the night went on, EVERY person, included the staff (bartender) took bedsheets and dressed it toga. Pictures, alcohol - after party at a club where we all remained in toga. We were some what of celebrities that evening! I'll never forget it!

I met incredible people who I still remain in contact with today. Mind you, no matter how wonderful a place is, it's always a hit or miss whether you met people you keep in touch with.
I loved this place and I would reccomend it for everyone who is single, 19-30 looking to have fun. Mind you, couples are obviously welcome, but if you are looking for couples to make friends with, that may be more difficult.

*I research atleast a dozen hotels while in playa, personally, before I chose this one. ;)

Room Tip: Private rooms are as such, private. Dorms are bunk-beds that are being shared with people you may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed there one night with my boyfriend, but it was no good for us. The room is really small, and ther price is quite high for private bedrooms.
But there is a small (very small) pool and a bar. The ambiance seems nice when you are with friends.
The beds are horrible though. We could actually feel the springs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank his60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Hostel Rio Playa is the best place to stay in Playa del Carmen. The staff is so helpful and sweet! And you feel like you belong there. I stayed there for 10 days and I didn't want to leave, it's so awesome! I hope I will come back one day!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This place is excellent when you came to Playa del Carmen for the beach and the parties. Located very near to Avenue 5 (the main street, parallel to the beach by 1 block) it offers basic dorms. There are different kinds of rooms. I first stayed in a 6 person room with shared bathroom which was great, but because it had already been booked I moved to a 14 person dorm which wasn't really good. It's just too many people who come back home from partying on different times etc. The beds aren't that good in all dorms.
Like I said this place is great for people enjoying the nightlife. Every night a little party (you can play your own music as well) is thrown on the rooftop terrace and you can meet all the people who are there for the same purpose: to have a great night. After closing time (24:00) usually a group forms to go to a club and most likely the great, funny bartenders will come along.
Services like laundry, breakfast and internet are good enough.
Don't go here if you just want to enjoy a good book, the silence and just chill by yourself, I'm sure there are better places to do that.

Pro's: Great fun, party atmosphere. Close to Avenue 5 and the beach.
Cons: Beds aren't comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Lobo de Mar Hostel
Lobo de Mar Hostel
#13 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Vive la Vida
Hostel Vive la Vida
#29 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#23 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#11 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#2 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#10 of 229 in Playa del Carmen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Rio Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Rio Playa

Address: Avenida 5, Norte 119 | Entre 5ta avenida y avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $17 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Rio Playa is located one block from the beach and half block from the famous '5ta Avenida' Fifth Avenue downtownWe offer the perfect blend of elegance and tropical flare for a unique experienceWe are welcoming you in a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style, focusing on personalized service and detail. Come prepared for an unforgettable vacation...We know that a hostel is much more than just a place to sleep. Therefore we offer you all the necessary amenities to allow you to get to know and enjoy this extraordinary town, especially the region's stunning Mayan archaeological sties staged in lush jungle settings.We offer you specialized information regarding transportation, distances, costs, tourism and more in order for you to experience these alternative Mayan routes at the right price and with the proper resources.Additional InformationWe have a private bar just for hostel guest (beer is just 1 dlls for the guest)20Mts walk distance to the beach.24 hrs reception.No smoking inside of building. (plenty of space where you can smoke)Be happy always. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Rio Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hostel Rio Playa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing