We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aluxinant”
Review of Alux

Alux
Reserve with OpenTable
Alux is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,326 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Av.65 y Av.70
Description: PRE-HISPANIC, MEXICAN AND INTERNATIONAL CUIZINE IN A SETTING A hole created over thousand years ago soon to be discovered by you. Our Prehispanic, Mexican and International hate cuisine is served in any of our various spaces. You can also enjoy a wide selection of drinks and cocktails, including local Mayan specialties.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This restaurant is Incredible, inside a cave with private tables and amazing dishes! This is a Must Go place to go in the Riviera Maya.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Araceli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and recomendation Araceli! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,156 of 2,237 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

My boyfriend booked Alux as a surprise for my 30th birthday while we were in Mexico. Little did I know he was also planning on proposing while we were there. After being let down by our hotel for a meal on the beach our First Choice rep recommended this restaurant and we loved every minute of it.

Upon arrival we were informed the bad weather (hurricane and tropical storm) had caused the main restaurant to be flooded (which slightly freaked my boyfriend out) but they'd moved the tables into the bar area and they were still serving food.

Everything about the place was amazing, from the steps down into the restaurant to the layout and the cave which you can walk through, it really is a must visit when in Mexico.

Both starters and main courses were delicious and the wait staff very attentive when it came to bringing fresh drinks and checking we were happy. Due to the weather the trip to the toilet was difficult (especially when wearing a maxi dress and wedges) but our server helped me to the toilet and someone waited for me to help me back to my table, where else would you get something like that.

After our meal we were seated in the raised area with couches then my boyfriend took me on a tour of the cave and got down on one knee. To say I cried was an understatement but the setting was perfect and there was no-one around so we got to have our moment on our own.

Alux is not only a must visit venue due to the fact it's a cave, it's a lovely restaurant, a great bar and has some amazing staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dan_ielle20Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Congratulations on your engagement! Thank you for taking the time to review us, and thank your fiancee on our behalf for choosing Alux Restaurant for such an important day. We are so pleased you had a great experience and hope you come back whenever you are in Playa del Carmen. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We dined here September 22nd...they were still recovering from the 3 weeks of rain but it didn't diminish the overall experience....we dined in the main Cave and enjoyed great music performed live by saxophone and piano ...the food was the best I have had anywhere in Mexico...cudos to the chef!....the only recommendation would be to find several low noise fans to help circulate the air but that will not keep me from going back again and again....We loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again anytime. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If your in Mexico you must try here. Amazing when you are down there its unbelievable. Food good wine good prices good and service was brilliant. Our waiter showed us round the cave and told us all about it. It was flooded in places from the hurricane but they made the best of a bad situation. Still looked amazing.

Thank Beckstar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time you are in Playa del Carmen. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amazing atmosphere...dining in the caverns. You can tour the caves as you enjoy cocktails. Given the unique setting, we did not expect much from the food, but were pleasantly surprised. Every dish we ordered was superb and the service was attentive. Add Alux to your itinerary!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us Michelle! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alux also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Alux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing