We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not come back for the food experience but for the beauty of the site”
Review of Alux

Alux
Reserve with OpenTable
Alux is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 1,397 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Av.65 y Av.70
Description: PRE-HISPANIC, MEXICAN AND INTERNATIONAL CUIZINE IN A SETTING A hole created over thousand years ago soon to be discovered by you. Our Prehispanic, Mexican and International hate cuisine is served in any of our various spaces. You can also enjoy a wide selection of drinks and cocktails, including local Mayan specialties.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food experience was very good but not excellent as you could expect for this range of price and for the settings: the presentation was very attractive, the portions were on the "small" side, and the flavors were not there. The meat was extra tender but the sauce provided was not enough (not even to cover the meat!). The service was excellent, on the slow side but the attention from the waiters was the best. The site, the cave is impressive and we will go back for the beauty of this "cenote" .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mexicorentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate the feedback as it allows us to keep improving. Since your visit we have made some improvements on the menu and are rolling out new dishes later this year. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,321 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Such a romantic spot. Food was delicious and prices were not so bad.

We really enjoyed the surf and turf for two. This was on the Vday menu...not sure if this is available every day...but it was the best meal we had all vacation!

1  Thank meesha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate the feedback as it allows us to keep improving. The Surf & Turf is part of our regular menu, though the version you had on Valentine's Day did have some extras. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I got to eat here last time I was in Playa and it was great! Really fun getting to explore a cave while we waited for our food to be prepared. It goes on and on with party rooms and dining areas! The staff was wonderful and the food was delicious! Definitely make a point to eat here next time your in Playa!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davinci111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your stellar review! We really appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Eating dinner in a cenote is definitely an experience! The facilities are fantastic and make sure you walk around and look at the place. The food is approved but at that price I can not unfortunately give it more than approved. The service is also accepted but not more than that. Since Alux is located a bit outside the city, you have to take a taxi there which also means that the total price for your dinner gets pretty loud. But the experience did anyway so we thought it was worth the money.

Thank MickeSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate the feedback as it allows us to keep improving. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had heard about Alux and missed going there the first time I was in Playa del Carmen. So this trip I had it on my "Must Do" list! There are not many places that can give you the experience of having dinner or drinks in a cave. From the first flight of stairs you descend you can tell you are in a very special place. The lighting is romantic (lots and lots of rod iron candelabras and chandelliers) and the mood is classy. No hip-hop or blaring music here, the mood music was more Tony Bennet and Michael Buble which was welcoming and relaxing. The hostess asked if we had a reservation (we did not). I guess the encourage one for dinner but we were only interested in drinks which she said was fine as long as we ordered $100 Mexican Peso minimum which is really only about 8 US dollars.

She led us to a bar area which was strategically underlit in blue lights and had comfortable tables, chairs and couches scattered around. The only "off" thing in the room was a Red Bull neon light. Whoever hung that should note it was out of character with the rest of the cave, but maybe they thought it was appropriate for the bar area. Our waiter not only came to take our drink orders but offered us a tour of the cave. Parts of the cave were surprising hot and sticky with large fans circulating the air. There were lots of little nooks set up with intimate dining seating - chandelliers, white table cloths, beautiful seating.

Upon leaving we were assisted with catching a cab back to Playa's Fifth Avenue. It is only a $5 USD cab ride away - I'd encourage other tourists to check this place out!

2  Thank Neesie818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alux also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Alux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing