We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Los Aguachiles

Los Aguachiles
Ranked #67 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everyone loves this place! Excellent value, fab menu! Really tasty food which you cant get anywhere else in Playa

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MexMiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    379
    89
    45
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best in town!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went to this eatery based on other's reviews. They didn't let us down. The food is awesome! The salsa's and sauces (which they sale) are so delicious that we almost filled up on the appetizers just to indulge in them! We liked our meal so much tonight for dinner, that we are going back tomorrow for lunch before heading off to the airport!! :-)

And the best part is they opened a second restaurant location just like the first one, but more convenient since its right off of the popular street 5th Avenue. It's located a few steps from 5th Avenue, on Constituyentes Street. Then just head toward the beach and they are on the left side between 5th avenue (the main street) and 1st avenue (near the beach) on Constituyentes Street. You can't miss it and you won't regret it either; especially if you want simple and cheap, but authentic Mexican food…Enjoy!

FYI- Be sure and try a ceviche tostada (less than $3.00). It was um, um, good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"second location, terrible service"”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

few days ago I went to the other location of "Los Aguachiles" in Playa del Carmen, the one which is located on the Constituyentes street and the service was complety terrible, I had to ask for bring me the chips with the sauces, the napkins and the table was dirty, but the worst was the attitude of the waiter who makes me feel not important in that place. The food is the same as the other restaurant ( which I prefer) but the service was complety unacceptable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best fish i have had in a long time”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Went to this place with a large group of people. Tables were immediately re-arranged so we could all be seated jointly.

The place is a street diner but it has incredibly good seafood and very friendly waiters along with a good atmosphere. Also a very cheap place.

Please observe that the restaurant has changed address and is no longer on the address mentioned here. Most taxi drivers knows where it is.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Agronicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New location”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Original location still going strong with the locals but the new place between 5th and 1st on Constituientes is way more convenient. Great tacos but the mixed (fish,shrimp, octopus) ceviche was the best that I tried during our recent stay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbone91148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Aguachiles also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Aguachiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing