We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“worth a try!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Ranked #19 of 1,106 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worth a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

decent seafood, i ate there as part of the included package from the adjacent hotel, Aventura Mexicana.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank allicat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    110
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good service but the food does not match the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Hotel Aventura Mexicana. As it rained almost everyday, we had to go more often to this restaurant than we wanted.

The breakfast was ALWAYS the same and there was one guy in the morning who was quite impolite. The breakfast was included in our room but when you order a la carte, you had to pay for your dische. The first morning, I ordered an omelet and this waiter was never there. I always had to call him. It is a waitress who finally helped me twice. When he finally came back to my table and I asked him where he was all this time, I saw in his attitude that he was going to be impolite. I looked back at him severely to warn him. But, still, he showed me the card on the table and told me: " look Mam, this is written self service ". I turned the card on the other side to show the sign " TIPS WELCOME " and told him that we don't tip for self service but for a plate ordered outside of the breakfast included with the room fee. Anyway, that breakfast has to be changed at least twice a week especially when it's average.

We ate 3 times there at nightime and ordered some soups which were really average when you know the delicious soups they have in Mexico.

One night, I ordered their Arrachera and asked to have it medium well...I got it medium rare and it was tasteless. However, I ordered lots of green vegetables with it and, the waitress, Gaby, asked the chef to add some steamed spinach for me and it was delicious !

The last dinner, Mom ordered a Marguerita pizza, and they had personal ones, which she appreciated a lot as she does not eat a lot. The pizza was excellent, thin and crispy. I tasted it and can confirm it. I ordered some Alfredo pasta. They did not have fettucini which usually comes with this dish and I had to choose spaghetti. There was too much sauce and this latter was way too thin. It was not an Alfredo sauce but a liquid Alfredo...and no cheese or parmesan on the side.

Anyhow, the last night we went to a great argentinian restaurant on the corner and had, finally, a superb diner !

I must admit, though, that the manager, Christopher, was extremely nice and a real gentleman. Indeed, one night, they were closing (they close at 9h30 PM which is really early at Playa del Carmen) and, still, he offered us as a gratuity, a delicious guacamole and 2 glasses of white wine. He did not have to do that and we really appreciated the gesture. In addition, our last night, knowing that we spoke french and that my mother was half French, he offered us 2 small and cute boxes of fine french chocolate, Douceurs de France. Such a gentleman ! And, guess what, he was American !

I must say that it's a little hard for me to write such a review but I'm a professional and Top Contributor; therefore, I always have to tell the truth and this was our experience at Mayan Bistro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good little restaurant with a small lunch menu and tasty drinks. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Nice place to sit and enjoy drinks and Mexican fare..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HJ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I ate at the Mayan Bistro for 5 days. Every meal was cooked perfectly. Hats of to the cooks, the servers and to management team, their commitment to the customers is very evident and we appreciated their great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paulyc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“One of the best meals we had in playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The place is small, friendly and intimate. Food was fantastic, drinks tasty. It was well worth going. Real gem!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gosia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing