We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Off The Vine

Off The Vine
Ranked #281 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Fusion, Wine Bar, Mexican, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OFF THE VINE is a fantastic place to enjoy a nice glass of wine with delicious Tapas and other apetizers. You can also enjoy the live music performers that entertain customers every night from tuesday to saturday. OFF THE VINE also holds one of the largest selection of wines in Playa del Carmen in case you just want to take home a nice bottle. The theme nights are great and attract a lot of the local customers along with curious tourists that want to explore a little bit more than busy 5TH avenue. You will not regret visiting this place while in Playa.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice spot for a glass of wine. Food is reasonably priced and the entertainment pleasant. Unfortunately they have recently changed their wine offerings and the prices are quite high. It is unfortunate that they are not offering some less expensive options.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorraine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    28
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great live music and drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

If you are looking for a nice night out with great live music and inexpensive, delicious drinks head to Off the Vine. There is live music every night with Tuesday nights being my favorite as the singer on Tuesdays is amazing! Their drinks are unbelievably inexpensive compared to anywhere else in the area. 55 pesos for a margarita and on Mondays they have 2X1! I have tried margaritas in many places in Playa and Off the Vine is hands down the place to go if you're looking for a good one! The service is always outstanding and just a really fun night out overall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Propietario at Off The Vine, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you so much for this comment. It is always a pleasure to serve you. Hope to see you soon in our restaurant.

Sincerely, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“no longer a place that we will go to”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This had been a favorite place of ours to go to every time we visited Playa Del Carmen, which is 2 or 3 times a year. We were so excited to get back but, unfortunately, this time was very disappointing. Apparently Ricardo sold the place in January this year and the new owners have a very "different approach". No longer the fun, vibrant, meeting place with exceptional staff. No longer a place that we will go. It's really a shame, really sad.

The wine selection in the store has really gone down while the prices have really gone up. No prices on anything - you have to ask. The day we stopped by, the employee was kind but had very little knowledge of wines and was of no assistance other than to look up prices in the computer.

We went back the next the evening. The food was good. The service was not. The atmosphere was terrible. The new owners sat off on their own, no interaction and seemingly no interest in us or their other customers.

Sorry to say, but this is no longer a place we recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Propietario at Off The Vine, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good evening ChiefExplorer, we are taking note of your comment. And would like to apoligize for the bad experience you had the last time you visited us. The prices in our wine store went up in January when the mexican tax (IVA) went up, we also noticed the prices of some wines we are selling never been changed since a few years. Results, we were selling cheaper than our own provider so, losing money on lots of our bottles. This is the only reason the prices have changed. Other than that, we kept the same staff except from 2 additions, our new manager Marie and a new employee in our wine store which is studying really hard to have a better knowledge about the wines we are selling.

I really hope you will give us another chance to prove you that we are still the place for good wines in Playa.

Sincerely, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great atmosphere, feels like everyone knows everyone. I only had a starter and as such was tiny but it was very good (3 small croquettes).
The pizza is also good, I had a taste :-)
The waiter was very nice and even though they didn't have on the menu a strawberry margarita, they made me one.
The band that play there right next to you is so good. The singer has an amazing voice and she did a great acoustic cover for Daft Punk - Get Lucky. I wish I could hear it again :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hillama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Propietario at Off The Vine, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you, we are very happy to see you liked our place. Hope to see you again in a near future. We will be waiting for you.

Sincerely, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“New owner: don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Ricardo sold the shop and restaurant at the end do last year. It's a shame that the new owners have no idea how to run a shop. No prices on the products-- you have to ask the price for every item. Their prices are at least 10-20% more expensive than last year and worst of all, the wine selection is really poor.
We used to buy all of our wine here. Not anymore. Time to find an alternative.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick C, Propietario at Off The Vine, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good morning, sorry for the insatisfaction concerning our price change. The IVA tax went up in January and the price of wines needed to be updated for only one reason, we were selling cheaper than our own provider, so losing money on most of our bottles. We still have a good selection of wines and are trying to keep what people like the most. We also try new products and make business with the same provider.

We hope to see you again to show you that we are still the best wine place in Playa.

Sincerly, Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off The Vine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Off The Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing