We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to eat in the middle of the night at Playa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Patrona de Playa

La Patrona de Playa
Ranked #220 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in the middle of the night at Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love this place because it has the best sopa de mariscos, great service, and it's open really late. I've had dinner here around 2-3 AM and they are always packed. You can't beat this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sm27357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    57
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sa texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and i stayed in playa del carmen for a week.the morning after our first night there we went for a walk around the hotel 30north and tenth north,we came across this restaurant after a while of walking around downtown.after checking menu and prices we decited to eat here after ordering a coffee,which was very delicious "cafe de hoya" to be specific.we order break fast which was great.we order a breakfast special which consisted of a ham and cheese omelet,black beans,potatoes and fresh cheese,which came with fresh squesed orange juice and a plate of fresh fruit.i strugled to finish everything in my plates,very delicious.i thought we were going to pay at least twenty something dollars for breakfast,but to our surprice everything we ate and drink only came out to eleven dollars and change we even ask the waiter if he had charged us for two breakfast specials he looked at us and said "you are in playa del carmen mexico,leave your worries and high price breakfast at home."

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ludyjavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo new york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Personally I think this place should be rated higher. On our first night in Playa, we went to the nearest resturant which happened to be La Patrona.

It was filled with mostly locals, which was a good sign. We ordered fish taco's, salted meat taco's, plenty of Corona's and margaritta's.

We felt that the food was very good and ther service was very good too.

Since staying in Playa for 3 days now, we have yet to have food as good. I can not wait to go back!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mulkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lunch at La Patrona”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had lunch or refreshments on several occasions at La Patrona. Service was allways swift.
Their tacos were excellent especially their "Pastor" at 10 Pesos each. A Corona beer is 25 Pesos. With view of the 10th Ave its a place that can be recommended for a quick lunch in a local atmophere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasteless and cheap ingredients”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Seemed the be well-frequented, so we decided to give it a try. Staff was friendly. The food was tasteless.not at least because they probably used the cheapest ingredients they could find. The chicken was rubbery and gristly. Was not best value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob33132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Patrona de Playa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Patrona de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing