We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Battle of the Sargassum

We were lucky enough to book a trip with Pepe and Julian July 2019. This duo works wonderfully... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pocean73
,
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Awesome

Fantastic days fishing on board Papa Kees with Miguel and Martine. Everything is as described on... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Buster2073
,
Southampton
via mobile
Read all 557 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Playa del Carmen
from $100.00
More Info
from $98.00
More Info
from $99.99
More Info
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveler rating
505
31
9
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
505
31
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mahi mahi mary sue hour trip caught barracuda indigo beach amberjack catch fish amber jack nice barracuda these guys ceviche white marlin deck hand great morning great trip enjoyable trip four hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 557 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Had a great time with the family. The crew was great and made sure you were happy! They didn't mind going over the 4 hours we booked and never asked for extra cash. We chartered the boat for an excellent price for 3 adults and 3 kids!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank DYC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

What a trip for 6 women from Chicago! I know the workers were a little leery when they first saw 6 girls get on the boat, little did they know what was in store with all of us. Pepe and Chino were the best captain and mate we ever could have asked for. Not even 10 minutes out of the dock and we caught our first fish!! A pretty decent sized Mahi Mahi. Pepe & Chino were great to talk to and made us feel like we have known them for years! The laughs and conversations just kept rolling in. If you're looking to snorkel during this trip you can do that too! They docked us in a shallow area where we got to swim and snorkel with hundreds of little fish under us! We also got to swim with STING RAYS!! What an experience to witness those beautiful animals in their natural habitat. We ended the tour by catching a barracuda. We couldn't have asked for a better 4 hours spent with better people. I highly recommend anyone that is going to Playa del Carmen / Riviera Maya area to stop by and ask for Pepe and Chino. You won't regret it.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Great trip this morning for two Dads and teenage sons. The team are really helpful and informative when booking. Crew, boat, equipment and bait all good with plenty of soft drinks on board. No shortcuts, good long trip as advertised and a lovely Barracuda to top off the morning. Given cost of other activities in Playa I think this is great value and great fun!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank rofey1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

This a boat ride that may give you a chance to reel something in. It is NOT a fishing trip. Unless a rod that that the crew puts out catches something you won't get off the seat. We used sea sickness as an excuse to quit early. The crew won't even change their fishing method. They just throw bait in, drive, change bait periodically, and then turn around to come back. If you book this, remember it is first a boat ride and second an exercise in reeling. In no way is it fishing and there will be no interaction with the crew. The captain even acted like we shouldn't talk to the first mate to offer him a piece of gum.

Date of experience: August 2016
5  Thank Garrett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

I was not sure if I would enjoy this trip since I have no interest in fishing. But my husband and friend really wanted to deep sea fish on our vacation. I am so glad I came along. The boat ride was relaxing and seeing them reel in fish was exciting. We were with Eddy and Tony (very nice guys) and they also took us snorkeling. We saw some awesome fish and reef. The boat had plenty of shade- which was very nice.

To finish off a great trip- Eddy and Tony filleted our fish and took it to the restaraunt right in the beach where they prepared an amazing dinner for us. It was lovely and a great time.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank akearney04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews