We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nothing here you won't love.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Portena

La Portena
Ranked #140 of 1,154 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
“Nothing here you won't love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Always ask for the beef empanadas!

The choripan torta is a must everytime! Its homemade locally and by far a great value.

Hamburgers, arrapans, milanesas,they are all great and worth trying.

I couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LH081985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    37
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia/Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chori in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

La Portena is the best place to go when you are craving meat or grilled chicken!
Arturo, the chef, is fantastic and cooks up the best lemon chicken on the parilla. The arrachera, t-bone, rib eye and beef ribs are also all VERY good and priced less than 200 MXN (about $16US!)
AMAZING value!
The hamburgers and milanga (schnitzel) are delicious.
The choripan - Argentinian chorizo on a crispy bread roll with home-made chimichurri is a must try!
It's a great little place, with many locals (Mexican and ex-pats) as well as tourists.
Alex and Nadia, the owners are also very friendly and welcoming. Definitely worth repeat visits!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kbiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greatest use of a small space. We will return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was the first time we chose a restaurant in Playa that was not downtown central. A street-side counter w/ 1 barrel table. Prepared and cooked within feet of your eyes. The Rib-eye was a little gristly but tasty, as was everything. It was only the bits of gristle that caused the 4 instead of a 5. Perhaps if we got the sausage.... Next time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AH-MAZING food and AH-MAZING service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place is easily one of the best places I've eaten at in Playa del Carmen. Last year my family had a giant family reunion in Playa. A few of us stumbled across this hidden gem and were blown away by the food. My steak melted in my mouth. We pretty much ended up trying everything on the menu and not a single complaint was given. We were so impressed, we wanted to bring the rest of our family there the next night for dinner (there was 25 of us total) and the owner accommodated us all, even striking a deal with the restaurant next door so we had a place to sit. Even with such a high volume of customers, the food did not disappoint and was impeccable. I'm definitely recommending this place to everyone I know and can't wait to go back the next time I'm in Playa!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

One of the best dinners I have had in Playa. The rib eye, the salad, the potato and empanada for 199 pesos. Would return in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
Thank seattleguy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Portena also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Portena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing