We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Portena

La Portena
Ranked #140 of 1,154 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A small unnoticeable place with great steak! really tasty and the owner, Alex, was really friendly!
A must go to in Playa!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Galit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    37
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Food its excellent, Ive tey arrapan, steak, choripan everything is well cooked, grilled done.
Arturo is a nice guy he's always there to assist u with a smile
Perfect place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy steak in a cafe environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped there for dinner and I was put off a little by the 6 bar stools and bar forming a restaurant. But forget the basic nature of the surrounds as the food was lovely. The cook was really friendly and gave us a few holiday tips on places to visit. We enjoyed a tasty steak with a soft drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YidBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple and Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came upon La Portena while looking for another restaurant. I remembered the name from tripadvisor and decided to try it when we couldn't find our restaurant.
La Portena is at one end of 5th Ave so is a little bit out of the way. It is truly a hole in the wall and if you blink you might miss it, were it not for the good sign with the name all across it.
Even though I had read the reviews my family and I were still skeptical because there were only a few stools and a counter. Alex the owner saw us debating and told us if we were going to order we needed to do it soon because he had a party of 27 coming soon and everything would be gone in no time. We decided to stay. We ordered the hamburger, flank and chicken. There was no ribeye or empanadas or sausages due to his big group coming in. Everything is cooked on the grill.

Everyone enjoyed their meal. We sat on the stools and had a good time. The menu is small and not exotic but don't be fooled. They do what they do well. Our family of 4 ate for under $50.
The large group came in while we were there and went 2 stores over to eat and get drinks. Alex was so apologetic and gracious about not having some menu items available we will have to go back to have the rest of the menu.
If you are looking for ambiance or an exotic menu, then this is not the place. If you want good quality food cooked very simply but done well then visit La Portena.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We tried out this place on our most recent trip. The food was great the owner friendly. We had the ribeye and lemon chicken. Both were excellent. Searing is limited but it is worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank absnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Portena also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Portena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing