We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Grill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Portena - CLOSED

La Portena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were looking for a quick meal fix after a day on the beach, and were told by a friend to give this place a try. It is lunch counter style, with one guy that does it all. He washes his hands every time he changes tasks. We had Ribeye steak that night and it was excellenta. Went back a couple of days later and had the steak sandwich.The food and the price are great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samara_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    38
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a steak sandwich and a sausage and were great and paid at very good price. We will return. It even opens on Christmas day. We had a takeout.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bienca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Had the choripan and loved it! For those who don't know, choripan is Argentinean sausage cut in half on a bun with chimichurri sauce (oil and parsley based sauce). It was delicious, cheap and the owners are friendly!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Providence, RI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glad I tried it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Based on TA Reviews my wife and I ate here on our first nite in Playa. We both ordered the RibEye Steak. Let me tell you for about 14.00 per person it was the most tender and lean steak I have had in a while. We ended up returning and trying the Choiripan and Arrapan a couple of days later. They were both excellent. There are only a few counter stools and 3 little tables on the sidewalk infront of this place and you have to go to cool fish to use the facilities which is right around the corner, but the quality of food all grilled over wood to perfection is incredible for the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We came across this little hole in the wall on our first night and are so glad we did. We weren't that hungry, or so we thought, we ordered the empanadas and then ordered some more along with grilled potatoes and salad. The food is simple but carefully prepared so very tasty and satisfying. We will be back over the next few days to sample more of this fresh authentic food, and try out the delicious looking steaks we saw being prepared that night. Grab a beer in the deli next door and enjoy great food & friendly atmosphere. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ceeryweery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Portena also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing