We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation to Playa Del Carmen for BPM”
Review of Pelicano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelicano Inn
Ranked #159 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pro:
What I like about this place, was the location and the building was like authentic Spanish Villa right at the beach next to the 5-notte street which has all the shops and restaurants.Staff were very nice and helpful, rooms were clean daily, had AC and frig and little balconies.
During my stay it was the BPM fest going on, and couple of my friends who stayed at the different hotels near by they said they cant sleep at night because of the clubs and the party's don't stop until 6am. I didn't have that problem at this Hotel :-)
I would definitely stay here again for 3-star Hotel and beach front, cant complain :-)

Con:
The hotel furniture and decor can get a little upgrade.

Tips:
All the front ocean view have a nice balconies tv, frig, AC, I recommend rooms: 301, 302, 303,304,305, 306

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shoxha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 311 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Since recently having knee surgery, I knew I wanted to be close to the beach but also close to restaurants. The Pelicano Inn, Playa del Carmen turned out to be the perfect location. Traveling the Saturday after Thanksgiving and staying for 4 nights, I found the location to be better than expected. The manager was kind enough to give me a ground floor room with a refrigerator when I emailed my request a month before asking. I wanted for nothing. Everyone that worked there was so kind and was always ready to assist, almost before asking. Paying half the cost of all other hotels on the beach was a bonus. Even if the cost was the same, I'd still pay it for the ambiance. I had the garden view and couldn't imagine taking a different room. It was so wonderful to see all the foliage while sitting on my balcony with my coffee every morning. I highly recommend this hotel and will not consider staying any place else if my travel plans take me back to PDC in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pscert23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

the service and everything was just amazing, Ismael at the front desk was incredible, he sowed me around the beach, extremely kind and polite, all the personnel there was.
no doubt the best experience I've ever had in a hotel in playa del carmen! so placed of my visit and certainly coming back
I do expect next year to be back and share more good moments at this amazing place.
honestly the yes hotel I've ever been into in playa del carmen

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloCP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We just returned from our stay here and I have to say it exceeded all our expectations. The facilities were great and we could not have asked for a better staff. It is located right on the water which we loved. We were greeted by a young man named Ismael and he took fantastic care of us throughout our entire stay. The desk staff was very attentive as well as the restaurant staff. I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happinessonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful property. It is sure to make any couples dreams come true. Ismael is fun to be around and kept us very entertained. I was so happy that I had someone who could speak English to me and make me smile. It was affordable and beautiful. Ismael was a wonderful host to us during our visit and very helpful. I know I have a friend in Ismael. Gracias for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I came to PDC to celebrate my honeymoon. Perfect decision choosing this hotel. It's affordable, everything you need is nearby and the staff is just amazing!! I want to thank Ismael who all the time took care of us, and was the best host ever!! Ismael is the person you can ask any question and he will be so helpful.
The hotel is clean, safe and with a beautiful garden area to just chill out.
I strongly will recommend this hotel to my friends and family!!
Thank you for making our honeymoon a great experience...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The garden area was beautiful, with a view of the Carribean. We were treated very well and efficentally by English speaking staff. We were greeted, promptly on arrival. Loved the location. Thanks for Ismael Leonardo Zacarias Vazquez!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonaWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#144 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel All Riviera
Hotel All Riviera
#189 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#72 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#100 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelicano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelicano Inn

Address: Calle 8 Norte Entre 5a. y Zona Federal 876 | Zona Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $66 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelicano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelicano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelicano Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Pelicano Playa Del Carmen
Pelicano Inn Playa Del Carmen
Pelicano Inn Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing