We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel in the Middle of the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Ranked #176 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here during the BPM Music Conference in January. The hotel is right on the beach, in the most happening part of town. The space is partly roof-top penthouses (some the hotel rents, some that are privately owned), suites, and regular hotel rooms.

We paid for a regular room, but due to hotel error, we were bumped to their sister hotel 10 minutes away, where they tried to upgrade us a master suite. The room was beautiful but we argued that we paid a premium for other location and all our our other friends where there. After about 30 minutes of arguing between both places, the GM for both hotels met us and found us a junior suite at the Aldea for no extra charge. Not a great start to the trip but they made us happy.

The hotel is Asian-themed; and it is very attractive and trendy. A pleasure to walk around the property and check out the architecture. The location really could not be any better if you are there with friends. Right next to Mamita's Beach Club, and the hotel pool area turns into "Kool Beach" during BPM. I'm not sure it's as appropriate for a family though it may be more tame outside of the music conference.

The negatives were that the front desk staff spoke very little to no English. I understand that the tourists are the ones in a different country, but most places I have been in Mexico the staff is at least conversational. You had to speak to management to effectively get your point across. The other was that the AC did not work properly for any of the 3 nights we where there. We called maintenance several times and they tried different things to get it to work better, to no avail. Luckily it was January and not super-hot; plus we spent very little time in the room. The private pool on the balcony was great though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 393 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Pros: furnished nicely; on the beach; close to 5Th avenue the main hub for eating and shopping; air conditioning worked beautifully despite the reviews we read; weather cooperated; quiet except for a band that played during the day right below our unit ; wi-fi worked great
Cons: difficult to get a hold of owner/manager once the rental contract is signed and paid; unit came with two pillows for a king-sized bed and more pillows cannot be negotiated; one of the 2 lounge chairs was broken (owner/manager said she knew but had no time to replace); no English news program (so bring your iPad if you are used to the 11 o'clock news); lax security (teenagers banging on our door at 2 a.m. wanting to party); stove did not work (unable to boil water, let alone fry an egg)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have been to Playa Del Carmen several times over the years and stayed in a variety of hotels, resorts and condos. This was our 3rd time staying at the Aldea Thai. We enjoy staying here as we know what to expect when we come and it always lives up to our expectations. We have done all of the excursions here and these days we just want a safe, quiet place to come year after year. We have two weeks with their membership club and this is our second time using them. The units are really the most luxurious I´ve ever stayed in and we are very impressed with the level of service we have received. We take full advantage of the golf membership they have and plan to return here next year.

Room Tip: Definitely get a pent house if you can
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

As I write this review my condo has two maintenance guys trying to fix my ac for the third time in four nights. Clearly there is a major issue here. First night ac was off the entire night, the fan runs and is very loud so thought it was working until 3 am when we woke drenched in sweat. There are no ceiling fans in the condo so it's harsh when you loose the ac. We had penthouse condo 306 run by bric vacation rentals. Everytime the ac went down it sounded like this was a common electrical issue. The condo looks great and the penthouse pool and view are great but at $330/night I'd recommend you spend your money elesewhere. So far they have refunded one night which is a nice testament to bric but I've wasted hours of my vacation dealing with this each day... It's not worth it. Stay somewhere else and have a good time rather than getting mad at a hotel staff that could care less about your vacation or experience. It's sad because it's a pretty hotel and a good location but I'd stay banyon tree next time for these prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationguy78641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is our second week long stay at Aldea Thai. We rent through BRIC. The location is the best, right on the street to the beach and only one block away from 5th Avenue. The pool is pretty and has plenty of chairs around it. The rooms are large, as well as the top floor with the plunge pool. The views from the penthouse are pretty amazing. The shower in the master looks cool, but really are a pain because water always leaks around them and you use 1/2 your towels trying to keep the floor dry so you don't slip and kill yourself.... They are very skimpy on the soap, shampoo and towels. Both visits we were without water for two days. There were cock roaches in the room, we did complain and they came and sprayed, but still gross.... When we stayed in Jan., they were putting in new steps so we had to walk through construction the entire visit and use the elevator the whole trip. There is only one elevator, so quite a pain! The units are starting to get run down and need some TLC in order to keep up how good the place looks from the entrance. For the money I find the place to be very average and not well run. We have stayed there twice but won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runandgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We decided to rent an apartment for the weekend, the deal was quite expensive, I think because of the owner decision, we had an upper deck terrace villa and the views were amazing, private jacuzzi and pools just for us, but next time, definitely will rent something with better downtown location...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

They say your rate in dolars is less than the bank, but when they charge you they do it for the highest available and they say it´s your mistake for not paying at their bank.

Laim excuses, very bad service, I woulod recomend it at all!! there are other great companies at Playa del Carmen for rentals!!!

Thiefs!!!!

Room Tip: Not from BRIC!! even at Alea Tahi other companies do rentals
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GERARDOBUSTOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
#123 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
#145 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#97 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Address: Mza. 81 Av. Cozumel Lt. 1 | Entre 26 y 28. Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $80 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A door to modern luxury, The Thai is a high class condohotel where the sophistication of the Thai-Balinese spirit blends with the laid back soul of the Mexican Caribbean. The creative design of The Thai is constituted of a giant swimming pool, thatched roofs, Asian-fashion decor and outdoor pool fountains while built in commercial venues such as a restaurant and a fitness center added to the comfortable feel of the property. The magnificent suites of Aldea Thai integrate a great number of conveniences such as deluxe furnishings and hi-tech features. Facing the most notorious, sandy beach of Playa del Carmen, The Thai embraces stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and the fun environment of Mamitas Beach Club. All of what Aldea Thai has to offer will turn your vacation at the Riviera Maya into an unforgettable experience to enjoy the best of every world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing