We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only the loud music, but the beach is subpar over here”
Review of Ocean Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Plaza
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Other reviewers have pretty much nailed the club music issue. It's so bad it's almost funny. On some nights it was tolerable with a white noise machine blaring and ear plugs jammed into the ear canal, but on weekend nights it was ridiculous. That's from midnight to 5:30 am. All day every day, the hotel next door also blares throbbing club music. If you are looking for relaxation, run far far way from this place. But leaving that aside, what you should also know is that this part of the beach has suffered serious erosion since the beach replenishment of two years ago. There is literally a three foot cliff of sand you have to navigate before you go in the water. Also, several fishing boats are roped into the sand directly in front of this condo complex. So overall, the beach here is not what you imagine when you think of Playa del Carmen or the Riviera Maya. Thankfully, the beach south of the ferry pier in front of Playacar is now terrific, as is the beach to the north in front of Las Palapas, Mamita's beach club, etc. It's true that Ocean Plaza's location is perfectly central. And Ocean Plaza 3, a first floor three bedroom, opens right onto the beach, with a large dining table overlooking the beach. So that place is well-suited for families with a napping toddler...as long as they can stand the club noise. Bottom line: I don't mind staying amid some noise and hustle bustle, in exchange for a great location. But for this property, the tradeoffs are too great. The noise is unbearable, the beach is subpar and crowded, and the property's common areas are drab. The pool is inside, suitable only for kids--I never saw it used except by our children. There was also a strong sewage odor wafting from the El Faro complex down the beach.

I've been coming to Playa del Carmen for 20 years, and this place is sort of symptomatic of how the central hotel zone has lost its charm. Next time, I would stay either to the north (Mahekal, formerly the Shangri La Caribe, looked inviting, though expensive) or to the south, in front of Playacar. The restaurants of 5th Ave have extended nearly to 40th Street going north, so if you do that, you're still close to shopping and dining. Staying in the Playacar development means more of a walk from the restaurant district, but it's tolerable, and you get quietude, swaying palm trees and, since the beach restoration, a wonderful stretch of sand.

Room Tip: No unit escapes the cl;ub noise, but 3 is by car the nicest, with a patio right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed in 10 Ocean Plaza from December 21 through December 30.  Worst condo rental experience of my life.  We were pre-warned about loud music from the "nightclub" next door, and came prepared with earplugs.  Nothing could have prepared us for what we experienced.  

To describe the adjacent facility as a "nightclub" is akin to describing a Colombian drug lord as a smalltime petty neighborhood drug dealer. It is not a nightclub, it is an after-hours club which starts up at about 12:00 AM and goes at maximum volume until at least 6:30 AM (as in this last Christmas morning)   And not as in a minor disturbance, but as in making the entire condo uninhabitable, with cabinets vibrating and normal conversation not achievable. I am not exaggerating. The upstairs loft was so uninhabitable that we had to drag the mattress into the upstairs bathroom such that with earplugs installed we did not sustain hearing damage.  Sleep was not even an option. Feliz Navidad.  And then there was the construction noise.  Demolishing a wall upstairs with a jackhammer starting at 5:00PM. And if you think that the emergency contact listed in the book will call you back...good luck. (straight to voice mail, messages never returned) 

The owner's rep says  "if you are looking  peace and quiet, then this is not he place for you". I will counter this with "if you want to party all night in an afterhours club and sleep all day with 4 of your closest friends, then this frathouse will be right up your alley

Room Tip: Go to a different facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have stayed in a few of the units in Ocean Plaza over the years. The ground floor units all have 3 bedrooms and the bedrooms are significantly more insulated from the neighboring noise and is not a problem at all. The 2 bedroom units (floors 2 and 3) all have a closed-off bedroom and an open loft bedroom (some open lofts have been subsequently closed off). The open bedrooms are more exposed to the noise in the neighborhood, but a lot of in-town condos face street noise and music, that I have found is easily drowned out by white-noise from a fan, a/c or TV (or bring your own white-noise machine, or use an iPhone app for one).
Any drawbacks from this are more than offset by the incredibly convenient location. This building is smack dab in the middle of things and is very convenient to everything. Run our of beer? It's practically next door at a convenience store (or order from the waiters at Coco Maya). You can plant yourself here and never go more than 2 blocks and still experience great food, shopping, nightlife, beaches. There are not many vacation spots that offer this sort of convenience.

Room Tip: Beachfront, ground floor, Unit 3 is the best unit in the building. Walk out to the sand. You practi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Me and my wife stayed there in November and I would have to agree with the previous reviewer - you cannot find a better location in Playa. Period!! The value you get for your money - you can't beat that either. Yes, there is a little bit of a downside for some people being next to Coco Maya and Blue Parrot due to the loud music, but it didn't really bothered us. We stayed in unit #18, on the top floor, oceanview unit. Nice unit, 2 bedrooms, kitchen, WiFi. Bathrooms all redone with marble. Walking distance to all the attractions in Playa. We rented this place with Alex from sunandsearentals.com and we very grateful that he recomended this place to us. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hagani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Only stay here if you are a partier. The noise all night long from the music barely makes up for the beautiful spot on the beach. The pool is but a cold plunge, not suited for children.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chercheuse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed for one week in March, 2011. Very nice location, condo was suitable, but the bar next door played music until 4am - 5am almost every night so loud that sleep was impossible even with ear plugs. There were spring breakers there also that week that continued the party until after daylight, banging on doors and climbing from room to room via the balconys while the security guard watched. Also for some reason there was no water pressure every night from about midnight until 6 am. Would return to Playa del Carmen again but definitely not to Ocean Plaza condos as it is only suitable for younger party people that like to stay up all night and sleep all day!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bufflehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We just got back from a seven day stay at Ocean Plaza #3 and had a wonderful time.

The condo is beautifully renovated/decorated and the beds are very comfortable. There were a few issues when we first arrived (a/c didn't work in one bedroom, fridge leaking water) but everything was quickly and politely corrected by the property management company as soon as we called them. We knew that the nightclub next door was going to be loud, and it definitely was. Pounding techno until 4 am every night. However, we actually got used to it after a couple of nights, and the a/c units drowned out some of the noise. I recommend bringing earplugs or a white noise machine.

Having said that: Nothing beats the location of this condo!! We opened our sliding door to a gorgeous expanse of white sand right to the water. The kids loved playing just outside our door while we lay around in the hammock and lounge chairs under the palm trees. The water was clean and perfect for swimming. Some strategically placed plants give privacy from the resort on the north side. The guys working at Coca Maya (the source of the night time music) were really friendly and would even serve us lunch at our condo as if we were part of their restaurant. The food there was excellent. They would also rent and set up one of their beach umbrellas for about $2 a day.

The condo and Playa del Carmen in general did not feel dangerous at all, however it was nice to have the security guards around night and day. They were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerybCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.2 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,427 reviews
10 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
11.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,260 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
16,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza

Address: 10th Street | 1ra Norte entre, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Plaza Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing