We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and reliable place for simple and tasty meals”

Mom’s Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #217 of 1,234 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: MOM'S BAR & RESTAURANT is a place for the local Ex Pats living permanent in Playa del Carmen and steady repeat customers from North America and Europe who spend the winter here. Tourists are welcome. We are running a small operation with MOM'S Classics and add a few specials every week to keep it interesting. Most dinner specials run for 95 Pesos. We are open Monday to Friday from 4:00 pm till 11:00 pm. Our prices are moderate, the food is excellent, the drinks are strong and the service is personal.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good and reliable place for simple and tasty meals”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Playa Del Carmen has lots of places to eat but this is one of our favorites. It's down to earth and very casual. Set on the 2nd floor right in the middle of town, it's easy to get to by colectivos and buses. Mom's menu is pretty uncomplicated, 5 or 6 main meals and a selection of sides. we'd had the Chili con carne, hamburger, grilled chicken, meat loaf, and "chicken-fried-chicken" and more. Most meats are grilled to order right on the balcony in front of our eyes and you smell you all the way until it's in your plate :) The price is very reasonable. There is always a cheerful crowd and a free pool if you'd like to have a game or two before. It's also great good for groups. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMS1, Owner at Mom’s Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Google Translation
Muchos gracias ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    40
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very friendly service and perfect pork chop”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The restaurant was on the 2nd floor. Nothing fancy here, but excellent, friendly cozy atmosphere. Locals and some tourist come here. I ordered the pork chop and it was flawless, cooked by the owner on a BBQ. Sooo good.
The bar seemed like a great place for drinks or to talk to locals.
This will be a place that my wife and I will have to return. Confirm that they are open!! They are closed on Saturday and/or Sunday, I think.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMS1, Owner at Mom’s Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to leave a great review on TA for us. You are right, we are closed on Saturdays & Sundays but on the bright side now we are open for breakfast as well from Mo-FR from 7 am till 1 pm. We hope to welcome you back in our place very soon Jurgen Janz. Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mom's Home away from home”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Jergen and staff always make us feel right at home here. Great mixologist, great service, and the pork chops!! It's always a must when in Playa. Watch out for ex patriots some times the place is crawling with English speaking types.

Helpful?
Thank jimandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay Away! You've been warned!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Mom's touts its food as Southern comfort food like mom's home cooking. I grew up in the South in the U.S., and if my mother ever served the food that they serve at Mom's, she would have been sent to cooking lessons!

Forget the flashing menu dishes they show on their website. In truth, they have four standard choices and a couple of weekly add ons each week. So not a lot of choice.

I opted for the chicken fried chicken with French fries. It was a flat (very flat) piece of chicken breast with a non-Southern crust, covered in absolutely terrible gravy. The French fries were overlooked and hard as rocks. My wife opted for a barbecued chicken breast which ended up being shredded chicken mixed with barbecue sauce served in a bowl, along with the petrified French fries.

You would think that the atmosphere would have helped soften the bad meal...nope! The place (I can't bring myself to call this a restaurant) is more like an open air bar with tables. Don't go there in the late afternoon, as you will get baked by the sun coming in from the West.

When we arrived, there were 6-7 expats and Jurgen, the owner, playing poker at a large table. They kept moving a piece of solid vinyl using it as a sun shield by clipping it to the awning.

The only saving grace of the whole bad experience was Heather, our wait staff who was very attentive. We didn't complain about the meal, because after reading some of the more truthful Travel Advisor reviews, we had to accept the fact that this is the way their food is...period.

We will NEVER go back there, and would rather opt for street vendor food rather than eat there again. If we could give this less than a rating of 1, we would.

Helpful?
4 Thank LivinPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOMS1, Owner at Mom’s Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Naturally, I am completely shocked by your post and obviously your experience at MOM'S does not match the comments from many other reviewers.
I would be the first one to admit that every restaurant -including my own- has a margin of error and eventually it could happen that a customer has a "bad" meal.
That being said we have a policy that in accordance to your review was in place that the waitress and the owner check on our guests and meals and we would gladly exchange your meal or compensate you if you had a legitimate reason to complain and would let us know about it.
It is heart crushing and disappointing to any business owner of any trade when they ask the customers for feedback in person right than and there and they get assured that everything is fine and later on they get badly trashed in public,
I wish that you would have told me right away and I would have gladly made it right with you and would have thanked you very much.
By the end of the day we are in business for 6 consecutive years and have a big local clientele and a steadily growing business operation. We are truly sorry for the "so called" badly dinner experience @ MOM'S and we hope that you give us another chance in the future to completely satisfy you. Respectfully. Jurgen Janz. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Local /Expat spot for Ribs and and bar”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just came from this great little spot on the 30th ave at 4th street across from Detagilla Furniture it was wonderful!! The ribs were wonderful and ll the sides were very different and tasty.
I also love a restaurant that the owner comes to the table to visit and check on the diners… very delightful host.
I will go back every week.. and try everything..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom’s Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mom’s Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing