We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian Food, Excellent Service! Playa Must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Famiglia

La Famiglia
Ranked #13 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Open: 4:00 p.M to 12:00 A.M
Denver
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food, Excellent Service! Playa Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Delicious Italian food south of the border - who would have thought???? Our large party (8) showed up without a reservation on a Tuesday night during the holidays and we were greated with a smile and asked if we minded waiting 15 minutes while they prepared a table. We waited on the busy sidewalk....and watched the colorful local traffic. This spot is just off 5th and worth the venture off of the mainstream path.

Our server was very friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. I highly recommend the caprese salad! Fresh tomatoes and mozzarella (a little light on the basil), the carbonara was amazing and the pizza light, fresh and soooo good! The house specials were great and the mushroom raviolis were such a hit!

Do not miss this special place on your visit to Playa - EVERYTHING we tried we loved. They accept credit cards, they do not play games with the prices, they have a reasonable conversion rate and top notch service. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mski1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFamigliaGerencia, Gerente at La Famiglia, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
hi mski1988;

thank you for your post and we are very glad that you and friends have enjoyed your dinner with us. everyday we are trying to improve and this feed back is very important for us.

thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincera amistad,

LF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,270
    283
    66
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campobasso, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I went to la famiglia the other night after friends told us about the place. The place were full and we were asked to come back in about an hour which we did. We came back a bit earlier than the time and we sat by the bar counter for a drink. We asked for a beautiful bottle of Carmenere and since we were still waiting for the table, Marcello I believe was his name, offered us a plate of bruschetta to eat while sipping the wine. After not even 10 minutes we were seating at the table where we ordered more bruschetta and a giant pizza. I am Italian and the pizza taste so much as an Italian pizza and the wine and the food were excellent. For sure we'll go back before the end of our vacation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bombzani=Slang for Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Wow... Not only the best Italian food In playa but some of the best around! We Come from NYC through Denver La Famiglia is outstanding!
There service and attentiveness was impeccable. SERGIO, ( I think the manager) was such a wonderful host. He did it all. The bartender, our waiter where right on with there timing and services. Ambiance was comforting as well.
The food was outstanding, Made perfect! Pizza, thin, crunchy crust with fresh mozzarella and basil. Wow! Pasta Fresh made and AL dense. Ravioli savory and not over done like most places.
We're definitely coming back as long as this place keeps up the tasty quality. This is the way Italian should be done! Desert, Terramasu was wonderful!
All our entrées were delightful there fore we could not pick a favorite!
Sergio bought us all a shot of lemonchello which was perfect as well,not to sweet not to alcohol taste. He even walked out across the street to grab us a cab!
A must go for Playa dining!

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Who would of thought we'd have to go to Mexico to have the MOST amazing Italian meal EVER! La Famigila was recommended to us by a couple who live in Playa Del Carmen half the year. I looked it up on TA and saw it had good reviews there too. It was dark when we set out for dinner and it was a little tricky to spot their small sign. There were 8 of us, four teens & four adults, so we ordered a little of everything to share. EVERYTHING was amazing! I can't stop thinking about the wonderful meal we had there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Better than our local NY pizzeria and half the price! Great homemade pasta, delicious pizza, great fresh bread served with herbed olive oil

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEK1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famiglia also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing