We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Italian place in Playa - take the Pasta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Famiglia

La Famiglia
Ranked #12 of 1,117 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open: 4:00 p.M to 12:00 A.M
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Italian place in Playa - take the Pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I went there following some good reviews from Tripadvisor. and thank you tripadvisor for it!
The service is excellent, the pasta is amazing, so are the appetizers and the prices are very cheap. the place was so good we went the day after and had take-away to the hotel to enjoy again.
ohh, they don't have AC, but that's common in Playa. Also, the Pizza is not very recommended.

Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,122
    257
    57
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Going back again today!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We live in Playa part time, and thought we had our favourite pizza place chosen. It's currently closed for renovations so we found some place new. It's is now our go to pizza place. Huge pizzas, great prices, real ingredients, and great service. Our waitress spoke some English, but insisted on speaking English (as we do) during our visit.very cheap, great quality. I'm off to go get lunch right now :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melissaelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
1 review
“Great food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Quaint and friendly authentic little "slice" of Italy off of the hustle and bustle of 5th ave. Great food and very reasonable pricing... Giant pizzas, ample pasta dishes and tasty sangria. You will love this place if you are a fan of great Italian food and friendly staff..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleCardsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decieving Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Looks like a pizza & pasta shop but they served us the most delicious homemade linguine I'd ever ate. It's unpretentious with wooden tables & chairs and an upstairs veranda, where we ate.
We were totally amazed at the quality of the food. We had beef carpaccio and caprese salad for appetizers, my husband had Borracho (drunk) Grouper, fabulous flavor, cooked perfectly and served with homemade mashed potatoes and veggies. I had the homemade linguine with large shrimp and wild mushrooms in a perfect white sauce that clung to the linguine but wasn't excessive. The waitress had brought parmesan cheese to add but I didn't need to add a thing!!
Superb!! The kicker is that the whole meal with a bottle of wine was less than $60---

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good meal and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I had dinner here earlier today and really enjoyed our meal. We ordered bruschetta, pizza bolognese and fettuccini with shrimp and mushrooms. We thought the bruschetta was very good and would order the fettuccini dish again. The service was really good and would recommend eating upstairs over looking the street. Prices were reasonable and over all experience very enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famiglia also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing