We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Playa
Ranked #69 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We invited at tripadvisor, it costs 46 usd for night to couple include breakfast. The price worth that hotel!
The breakfast include eggs, coffee, juice, cornfleks and bread, nice for starting the day. The staff was nice and the rooms was clean.
The location is average, 3 minutes from supermarket, but 10 minutes from 5th av.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvivReut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 499 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had seen this hotel several times and thought it would be a good place to stay. We stayed at Plaza Playa for 8 days in June. Great value for the money. Nice rooms, very clean. Staff were all very nice and accommodating to all our needs. The optional mini breakfast was very good. This hotel has everything you need. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really like the hotel. Sigfried (the owner)was at the little cafe to greet us every morning. The breakfast was excellent. Our room had a microwave and a small refrigerator. The hotel is 1 block from Mega Mart and just around the corner from Ave 30 where there are many great restaurants. I guess the only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because it is a litte bit of a walk to the beach and it doesn't have a pool but we knew that when we made the reservations. The walk to beach and no pool was not abig deal to us. If you go there please say ''HOLA'' to Sigfried, his wife, and the staff for us!

Room Tip: We chose a street side room so we could have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJoMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Plaza Playa for near a month and I have to sy, it was a great base. Cheap and cheerful, staff were fantastic and ha the option of a mini buffet breakfast every morning. About a 10 minute walk to the beach, which I walked most mornings after breakfast. About 20 minutes from the collectivo station where you can go from Cancun to Tulum! It will be a great hotel for people travelling on a budget but still want to be close to the action. I'll be visiting there again soon :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlaaaaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have to preface by saying that I think we got upgraded to a suite simply due to luck of the draw, so my review may be biased by the fact I literally got more than I paid for. I couldn't believe what I saw when I walked in the room! It was huge! We had three balconies, a set of couches as well as a small dining table and chairs. The king bed was very comfortable. For the price (which was just over $50 including all taxes, fees and breakfast) I don't believe I've ever had a better value room in all of my travels. I was almost sad that we were only staying there one night!

The breakfast buffet was well worth the money. When booking, I chose the "with breakfast" option because it was only something like $7 more. I wasn't expecting much as it said "continental" somewhere... but I figured even if it was just toast and juice it still was a fair price for the room overall. Instead there's hot food, pastries, a choice of juices and a nice yogurt and granola bowl.

For us, location wasn't an issue. We were at the end of our vacation and our house in Akumal wasn't available for the last night of our trip, so we just needed a room to get us through the night before the airport. We had a rental car, so a priority for us was parking, which this hotel had. However, for those that are in Playa to enjoy the beach or 5th ave shopping, the location may not be ideal. Its not too bad though. We had a < 2 year old baby plus two 60+ seniors in our party of 5 and we still managed the walking. Taxis are readily available but we didn't bother. So its not a particularly bad location either.

The front desk woman (I didn't get her name unfortunately) was exceptionally helpful and friendly. She got us checked in early because our baby needed a nap (that may have been why we got the suite?) and was very good at giving us directions to nearby things we needed (food, shopping, etc). I briefly met the manager (owner?) during breakfast and he seemed very nice as well, with a "whatever makes your stay pleasant" kind of attitude. All the cleaning staff had smiles on their faces when passing. Nothing bad to say about anyone there!

Free wifi worked well in the common areas. Not so well in our room, but we were at the very far end.

If I ever get back that way, I'll stay there again without hesitation!

Room Tip: Room 17 is easily their best room if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeeeeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed with my wife in this hotel for 3 days in May 2013. Playa Plaza hotel is a very nice budget hotel, functional and complete value for money.

I can highlight a few positives:

1. Close to 5th avenue and the beach. You can walk to Cozumel ferry station as well
2. Convenience stores (incl. Walmart) are close
3. Just a block from Walmart (30th Avenue), you will find ATMs for HSBC and Santander bank
4. ADO bus station is a 10 mins walk
5. Free parking space in front of hotel (a big plus if you wish to rent the car, which is highly recommended. Use easyway rental car. Very professional and they even delivered the car to hotel premises)

The room was very spacious and has lots of closet space. The only thing, I expected (and was missing) was a electric kettle for boiling water. But nothing, to complain about.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustBugK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is walking distance to the beach and 5th Avenue which is the main tourist area. The Chedraui (huge supermarket) more or less a Walmart is across the street. The rooms were nice and clean and the AC was great! Cable TV and a breakfast buffet (not a casino style buffet obviously, fruit, coffee, fresh juice, pastries, and a few hot items) for 50 pesos! This place is practical for those traveling! I Absolutely recommend staying here! Also some rooms have a balcony! The hotel is very modern in appearance, forget about when it may have been built, it's like new! The shower was great! Safe in room! Enjoy Yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1trackrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
683 reviews
0 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#108 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#193 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Playa

Address: Calle 20 entre Ave 25 y Ave 30 | Col. Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $48 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plaza Playa is for people looking for a great location and something different. Affordable and friendly accommodations in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Playa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing