We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Origenes - CLOSED

Origenes
Price range: $3 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: International restaurant food & bar. You can find everything from american breakfast to the most wonderfull italian food, we specially do mexican food because we respect what we hace , and the best of everything is that if we do not have what you want, WE DO IT JUST FOR YOU :)
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Saw reviews that this place was closed. It is open with the same name so not sure if under new ownership, but as of Jan 2014 its great! Oaxacan style food with a fabulous mexcal selection! We were impressed with the food, especially the cochinita pibil. We were a bit hesitant as it was pretty empty, but the service and food were so great that we went twice during our stay! They we're were accommodating and entertaining with our young child too!

Helpful?
2 Thank JMoMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    63
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“"just broke our hearts...... it closed...."”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were here in 2011 and found this place and just fell in love.... great food, atmosphere and the beach just a block away......This area was not like the rest of Playa...very up-scale... We had a hearts set on dining there a least once while we're down during Christmas......now we'll have to find another........SO SAD!!!!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Closed - :((((”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

How sad, another one if favorite spots is gone. The last several years we so enjoyed the charming location, good food and wonderful guitar music by victor mayer. Actually bought 3 of his CDs - a new each year. We would even dance in the back of the restaurant. Several of our renters would go here and enjoyed it was well. I've tries to find when victor is playing now, with no luck. Something new is in the works there - hope they being back the guitar music!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Did not live up to the expectations”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Origenes was recommended by a lot of people including hotel staff so we came with pretty high expectations. It was the very first meal in Playa after arrival and we were supper excited to try this place. It is fine not great, not innovating, not anything special. The ingredients were very fresh but the dish execution was...well boring. We both had fish, our daughter had fried calamari which gave her stomach ache but maybe because she just got off the plane, was super hungry and probably dehydrated. it is ok place to eat but as I said nothing out of ordinary. We passed by every day to go to town and it was mostly empty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gosia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Ironically, it is pretty hard to find a good Mexican food place in playa. This one is one not to be missed! I had breakfast there, but they said they could cook anything we wanted from the lunch / dinner menu. I had huevos con chaya with chilaquiles negros, it was pretty good, with complimentary house made pineapple jelly to go with the house mad as well bread and coffee. Everything was really really good. My mate ordered chilaquiles de olla verde, which were probably the best chilaquiles we have ever tried. It is pretty far from the restaurant area, but we were staying close so we found it. The waiter is probably the best one we have had anywhere. Prices are fair,about 13/15 dlls per person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HiramNovelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origenes also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing