We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss Origenes!”
Review of Origenes - CLOSED

Origenes
Price range: $3 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: International restaurant food & bar. You can find everything from american breakfast to the most wonderfull italian food, we specially do mexican food because we respect what we hace , and the best of everything is that if we do not have what you want, WE DO IT JUST FOR YOU :)
highland park, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss Origenes!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from Origenes and had a great evening. First of all, the music was fabulous - an acoustic brother and sister duo who play there on the weekend were terrific. Their song selection is great and their voices beautiful. Try to see them. The food was interesting and delicious - we started with calamari and then my husband had tuna ceviche and a seafood soup that was heated with rocks and presented at the table and the rocks removed. I had mango shrimp that was served with a balsamic reduction and had a slow kick. I wanted to lick the sauce from my plate! For dessert we ordered the chocolate soup- it was a cold chocolate liquid over granola, blackberries and ice cream. It had cloves and cinnamon in it- it was so wonderful and different. The service was attentive and the restaurant beautiful. Don't miss Origenes!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodygs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    63
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Origenes is absolutely the best.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were is PdC and Origenes hosted our wedding rehearsal dinner for 80+ people. I cannot be more complimentary of the staff, the chef, and the manager. We came on an evening a few days early to do a menu tasting and make our selections. When we arrived for the event the tables were set, the bar was open, and the outside ambiance was fantastic. Nothing but rave reviews were received from all the people who attended the 7PM -11PM night event. Live, music, open bar, excellent ambiance on the patio, and then the outstanding food that was served to the tables family style. We will make Origenes our first stop for dinner the next time we come to PdC. Do not heasitate to use Origenes f you are planning an event or large dinner - this is the place to go. It was absolutely outstanding.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went here on the recommendation from a waiter at our resort. The food was outstanding- especially the grouper and shrimp mango. The drinks were strong and delicious:) Very friendly service that made you feel at home. Also don't forget dessert, the crepes and chocolate molten lava cake were the perfect end to a great meal! We definitely will be back on our next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bkstev711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We found this place on tripadvisor and made a reservation: we walked into an empty restaurant early for our reservation. There was no wine list ( hadn't been printed). We were very skeptical. Once the food came we got over first impressions. The tuna tartar was amazing . We also got the grilled shrimp in mango sauce with just the right amount of habanero , and rib eye tacos . We were the only ones in the joint and quite liked that. Get off of fifth avenue And get a high quality meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Navimassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This nice restaurant located near the beach the location is good for cool breezes off the sea. When we went the restaurant it was very quite although their was a very good duo playing. The staff were very good, unfortunately the food was very average. Not a very memorable evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origenes also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing