We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WIFI problem but nice place to stay at!”
Review of Reina Roja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reina Roja Hotel
Ranked #104 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Okay where do I start! I stayed at the hotel for 9 nights. The place is in a good location I recomend it. The hotel has a pool on the roof but its only open till 9 or 10pm can't remember. The pool needs to be open longer so we could stay up late and talk and han out late. We brought our own bottles of alcohol and we couldn't evn drink them downstairs. We had to go to our hotel. The house cleaners are very nice. I stayed for 9 and the hotel had a problem everyday with the WIFI so we couldn go online at all through out our vacation. The only places that had wifi were restaurants and other places but not our hotel. The need to wok on the WIFI because everyday they kept making up storys that it was down last night ect.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinarojahotel, Gerente at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed your visit to our hotel, thanks for your comments regarding the pool service hours, we are going to take your experience as consideration for expending the recreation time on the pool.

Regarding the WIFI we apologize for the connection problems, we had some difficulties with our service providers but we are back online, we`ll love to see you again in Playa del Carmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Reina Roja Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 730 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

great spot to hang on a sunday night. great vibe, excellent electronic music. where the locals go to wind down at the end of the weekend. met the dj from la santanera there (great guy, very gracious). very similar to the poolside sunday socials we have here in LA.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank bob_dobolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinarojahotel, Gerente at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

We are really happy you enjoyed our Pool Parties, everyone it`s invited to our Rooftop on Sundays to live the Reina Roja Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Every once in while you come across unique hotel with either significant character and or a bizarre setting. How about a full dressed manikin on every floor just outside your room on the balcony! The theme of this outrageous hotel is experimental architecture. The roof top offers a great view of the beach and includes regular scheduled pool parties. There is a full size lobby bar with female creatively tattooed manikins that are just a few of the many visual amenities offered. My room was fully carpeted with grass from the floor to all four walls. Dark rich quiet green. Obviously an Ecco statement, but again a lot of character. There are solar panels across the entire rooftop encompassing the full length swimming pool. The music was great and the crowd was ready for any type of entertaining Dee Jay. Overall this hotel experience proves to be original. It’s loaded with sensuality, innovation and a cosmopolitan mix. The bar is also an experience with talented waiters and very comfortable seating and a lot of deep red lighting. Rooms are reasonably priced at $189.00 us and includes a full breakfast. If by any chance you want to go to the beach, it’s a ten minute walk. Despite my usual one night stand my experience was more like an elaborate comfortable funky high end hostel. I would come back to this hotel in my next life as a hippy.

Room Tip: Take back room and not too high near roof.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinarojahotel, Gerente at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and bar service, hope to see you soon in your hippie Mood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is now 3am and i am at your mercy. the loud music vibrates the walls of my house ,invaded my living space and i cannot even hear my own t.v. the roof top parties are so so loud ,the wind puts the music in all our backyards prohibiting us from using our outdoor spaces. all of the neighbors are fed up and are going to every and any authorty to make this stopp. why can't you be respectful of the community and obey decible laws or soundproof? we have a right to work,sleep and play-as do our children!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
20  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I should point out that this review is solely based on my experience visiting the the bar and is a reflection of the poor bar service we experienced. A group of friends and I were staying at the neighboring, and far superior, Aldea Thai Condos and decided to check out the property for a potential future stay. We arrived on a slow Wednesday night and still payed cover only to be treated to HORRIBLE BAR SERVICE!

OVER PRICED-WEAK DRINKS...are especially disappointing considering the club induced theme of the overall property. Our bartender (ALEJANDRA) was deceitful in purposely trying to trick me into paying for a superior top-shelf liquor, despite me specifically identifying the bottle I wanted. I even overheard her tell a bar back (in spanish) that she was still gonna serve me the other label and laughed about it. Unfortunately for her, I'm Mexican-American and speak fluent Spanish. Its shameful that a destination that thrives so much on tourism would resort to such tacky standards. Needless to stay we didn't even finish our drinks after this terrible introduction to the property and I doubt we would ever book a room at this hotel if the bar service is any indication of how they treat their guests.

My suggestion to management is that you coach your bartender's on the importance of customer service and how its affects the overall reputation of your property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Sdmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to our bar. We would like to express our most sincere regrets for the inconvenience you experienced.

We invite you for a free drink in our bar during your next visit to Playa del Carmen, so you can see the quality of our drinks and our great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Visited in April 2012

Pro:
- Spacious rooms and bedding and furniture looks and feels new and is comfortable
- Nice big tiled shower with tiled bench & luxe bath products
- Front desk helped us book a car and negotiate down the rate at our checkout (had not planned ahead)
- Breakfast is delicious & a la carte (they didn't only have eggs!)
- The website offers 50% off the rate through December 2012 so this was the best value by far
- Location is great - 1 block off 5a ave and 2 blocks away from Mamitas / Kool

Con:
- The decor is just too tacky and you would have some explaining to do if you came with kids
- we went the weekend before Easter and there was 0 ambiance at the roof bar on a Saturday evening

We asked to be put in the quiet area and did not hear any noise at night. Would return, especially if the prices stay this great. If not, might check out some of the other options further down the 5a.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We visited Playa del Carmen in September 2011 so it was the slow season and the hotel was really calm and not many people around town however that worked in our advantage bEcause the staff took extra care of us. They let us use one of the private rooms to do a bachelorette party at no extra charge. The breakfast was amazing!! We had to send some clothes to the cleaners and theyntookmcare of everything. We also used the karaoke room and had a great time, the bartenders are amazing! You could order from 4 different options and they were all great! The whole staff was really friendly and relaxed. This is not a hotel for children, if you want to have a great time and chill at the roof pool with your friends this is the right place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatSalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinarojahotel, Manager at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

We are very happy to read that you had an excellent stay with us, we always try to be aware of the needs of our guests and we like to make your vacation unforgettable. We hope you come back soon and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#86 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reina Roja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reina Roja Hotel

Address: Calle 20 No 128 | entre 5a v. y 10 Av., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $76 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reina Roja Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reina Roja is located in the quiet tourist district called by the Maya Xeman Ha, now known as Playa del Carmen on the Yucatan Peninsula.Experimental architecture that plays with the limits of conventional make your stay a unique and special.The red light and its properties are a constant element that is present in every corner of Reina Roja; this vital color symbolizes life, movement and activity.We invite you to explore the original accommodations, fun, and haute cuisine that Reina Roja has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Reina Roja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Roja Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing