We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Delfin
Nearby Hotels
$331
$236
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$300
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$293
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$649
$345
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$535
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$487
$349
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
29
23
7
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
23
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenthouse roomthree blockstop floorroom was largerefrigeratoraveac
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 67 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2015

The rooms were decent and had flat-screen tvs. Drinking water available on each floor. Great 24 hour panaderia with good coffee half a block away. One block from ADO dropoff. Suprisingly quiet rooms. I would go back for 60 a night. If you aren't too old, go hit Tribeca on 12th after 11 pm.

Room Tip: Top floor was quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelSuperG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2015

We stayed at the Hotel Delfin for one night because the hotel we were staying for the rest of the week did not have availability for the 1st night we were in town.

The Good: The hotel is located right on 5th, where all the shops are. It is far enough away from the club scene that the music from the restaurants that were close didn't go all night just until about 11:00 pm. The price is very affordable. The rooms were clean. Wi-Fi was adequate, separate codes required for each floor. The hotel has a simple feel to it. The coffee cups were wrapped and clean. Safes and refrigerator in the room. Nice size shower. Security guard on the bottom floor, the hotel felt safe.

The Bad::: The beds were extremely hard. I ask if they had anything we could place on the bed to increase the softness the answer was no. I was lucky that we were on the top floor which had a balcony and outside lawn chairs with mats, I removed my mat and put it under the sheet to make the bed sleepable. The bathroom doors were slotted, not solid so you could see and be seen while using the rest room. The small window in the bathroom to vent it did not have a glass in it so there was no way to close it therefore the sound in the room of the music was high until it stopped playing and the sounds of the morning came early. No elevator so we were on the top floor carrying luggage to the top.

Room Tip: Top floor has a good view with the balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michaelandamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielShore693, Owner at Hotel Delfin, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2015

Thank you for the generally positive review,we have ordered a new sim ions
hotel supreme mattress for that room,we have no elevator but we will be happy
to carry your bags up and down for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015

If you are looking for an affordable hotel in an ideal location in Playa Del Carmen, look no further. Hotel Delfin is located on a corner one block from the beach just off popular 5th Avenue with its great bars, restaurants, and shops. It has all the creature comforts of home: Air conditioning, hair dryer, television, free (fast!) wifi, and refrigerators. The reality is, if you're hanging out in your hotel room in Playa Del Carmen, you're either sick or you're doing something wrong. That said, it's perfectly comfortable if you ARE in the mood to hang out inside. They have bottled water on each floor so you don't get sick drinking the water in Mexico, and they have a wonderful and cheerful staff who will point you in the right direction for restaurants, excursions, car rentals, etc. I would stay here again in a heartbeat rather than spending more money on another place, because for the 6-10 hours per day that you're in your hotel room--usually sleeping--this cute little place provides everything you need at a great price and in an insanely good location.

Room Tip: Noise from the street dies down around 11pm if you're in a street-facing room, so if you are a light sleeper and plan to go to bed before 11pm, ask for a room that is far from 5th Ave.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Eli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2015

I had a great stay at Hotel Delfin. The hotel is beautifully covered in bougainvillea plants and located on the corner of fifth avenue, just one block away from the beach. Rooms are simple, but have all the stuff you'll need: fridge, good wi-fi reception, air conditioning, hair dryer and daily cleaning service. Daniel and Miriam are friendly and very helpful owners who are not hesitant to supply you with good recommendations for restaurants and trips. All in all a pleasant stay and great value for $.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maxdelamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2014

I spent two weeks my cousin in a two-bed room facing the side street. Upon arrival, the nice lady from the counter welcomed us and helped us a with our backpacks. I could directly access WIFI and it worked perfectly all the time.

The rooms are basic, but with all the essentials: refrigerator, air conditioning, hair dryer, wardrobe and enough power outlets (today's important for all the technical stuff;)) I was surprised to be right in the center of the action and to have everything just around the corner. Beach, souvenirs, restaurants, supermarket and bus station only 10 minutes away. Although it was the middle of the 5th Anvenue, you notice little noise at night. The night watchman was always there and has friendly open us at our nightly exits the door.

Although there is no breakfast at the hotel, but including, but then if you prefer to take your breakfast or picnic right on the beach. I was able to look at the Penthouse me once and was blown away by the fantastic view of the sea from the balcony.
You should not expect luxury and frills, but the value for money is just perfect. Thanks to the nice advice from the staff we have eaten in the best, coolest and most unique restaurants. Tip: Although there are really typique restaurants just few roads inland.

I can't wait to check in again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank belindaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews