We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Hotel Delfin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Delfin
Ranked #154 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed December 22, 2008

This hotel was fine basically fine for the price. The owner was very nice and easy to deal with. We arrived very late at night and they were more than accommodating. The room was large but basic. There is no communal space nor a pool. It also get be a bit a loud at night and in the morning. It is in the center of everything which is a plus and minus. In retrospect we would have preferred something higher up 5th ave...

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Delfin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 65 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2008

I found the hotel delfin on here and also through their website. I chose them because they offer free internet, well so their website and desk clerks say. They do not. I was looking for an extended stay while I look for an apartment and I had to have internet to work. When I checked in that night the person working did not know the password. No big deal I could wait until morning. In the morning I was given a password, but there was no internet connection. I tried two connections that were not the one that they told me, but as I figured the password did not work because it was not the hotel's. I have notified them of this and I was told that the internet works best in the lobby but does not reach me room at all. Kind of defeats of purpose of having internet in rooms advertised. I wasn't able to get a connection in the lobby either.

Other than the it was good. Basic Mexican hotel. Clean, no frills, inexpensive and great location and friendly staff. Although I would avoid their sandal store. I didn't realize I was paying 500 pesos for a pair of basic rubber flipflops until after it was too late.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bogogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

The Hotel Delfin has two things going for it: cleanliness and cost. Staff wasn't extremely helpful as some reviews stated. The room was clean, had A/C and was inexpensive compared to other hotels in the vicinity. My main complaint is the photos on the Hotel Delfin website shows a penthouse, which we reserved, but there are two other penthouses and the other one we saw was not the one represented on the website. In addition, the "ocean view" was a view of rooftops and a bit of the ocean. The patio area is separated from the other penthouse with a stick fence and has no shade. We stayed in room #19. I don't recommend it if you have expectations of it looking like the photos! The sheets were stained, but that's something I found throughout my stay in the Yucatan, even at $300 a night cabanas.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We arrived late and without a reservation and still got a great and cheap room, with aircond., a small fridge, tv and all, for a really fare price. Its location couldnt be better, on la 5ta avenida featuring the best restaurants, shops and bars.. If youre looking for a quiet place to relax this hotel wont suit you, but to enjoy Playa del Carmen village this is the place to go...just a 5 min walk from the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCorneliaBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

No Disco, No Bar, No Restaurant, Just clean cool comfortable rooms in primary location on the main street corner that couldn’t be closer to all that goes on in Playa Del Carmen. The owner’s Dan and Mirian, who built the hotel nearly twenty years ago, can tell you their favorite restaurants and hang outs of the locals or wonder in any direction and take in the melting pot of cultures and the independent shops they have created. Beach access is the closest you can get from 5th Ave (the Main Street). Bus access is close by and taxis wait across the street. I am also giving The Delfin a high rating for its ambiance and location.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank Colin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Paul, Minnesota
14
Reviewed March 12, 2006

Just three blocks from Playa del Carmen bus station and one block from the white sandy beaches of Mexico's Caribbean coast, Hotel Delfin is the perfect place to stay on La Quinta Avenida. Hotel Delfin is located in all of the action, but finding peace and relaxation is easy as well. Hotel Delfin took my reservations with less than a week's notice and Daniel and Roberto provided incredible service...our room was cleaned daily to perfection and the simple but charming rooms provided the perfect central location for myself and my four 25-year old friends to hang out between lying on the beach, shopping, renting motor-scooters and dining out and enjoying Mexico's finest tequila! This is the perfect small and affordable hotel in Playa del Carmen. This was my third trip to Playa and my third hotel... it was muy Bueno!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Cruz, CA
110
Reviewed December 4, 2005

I think there are at least two types of travelers. One kind goes to places like Mexico and goes to places that, besides the warm beachers, could be the US. The food is Mexicanized, so there are tacos and such, and you can go with little interaction with what's happening locally.

Playa Del Carmen is a rocking city. There are hundreds of restaurants, including one in a cave. There are many fun shops and people come from all over the world. There are far more Canadians and Italians there than US Americans. Hotel Delfin is located right on the main street of town, so you just walk out the door and you in in the middle of the fun. It is 1/2 block or so from the beach, so if you want to hang out on the beach, it is right there.

The hotel is solidly built, so if you decide that all the activity in the town (many nightclubs, music venues, and general fun) is a bit much and you want to get a good night's sleep, it is no problem, inside it is clean and quiet.

In an all inclusive, you might be anywhere, but if you experience Playa Del Carmen, you will never forget it. Hotel Delfin is probably the best hotel in Playa for having your cake and eating it too.

  • Stayed: February 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rana Cansada
La Rana Cansada
#152 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#180 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#99 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin

Address: Avenida 5, Norte 119, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $69 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Delfin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delfin Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing