We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The location is great, also the beach is really nice, the surrounding of the hotel filled with palm trees and nature is lovely and the concept of the palapa- rooms is really original and cool. unfortunately my room was old , the bathroom was filled with humidities in the walls, the mirror was all rusted, we couldn't even hang the towels cause it was broken, in my opinion at least you need a fridge and some drawers so you can at least have where to put your clothes .I wrote a mail to the manager of some things we were not happy about while I was there and he answered me until I left the hotel, and the excuse is they are remodeling the hotel, so in my opinion if some rooms are not presentable for the clients then they should not give them out until they are in good conditions or at least not charge so much money.
The breakfasts are not good they really need to put much more effort ! dinner is much better.!
Dissapointed of NewYears dinner comparing all the hotels we have been to. First they told us for the 2 nd booking which started at 8 o'clock we didn't need to reserve table cause mostly all European people preferred the first sitting which started at 6:30 pm. We emphasized if we were on the 2 nd booking we wouldn't have problems of not having enough food on the buffet and of course they reassured that will not happen and to our surprise the table for desserts was empty ! and there was just a big half a cake left!!! We asked the main chef and we talked with a a girl chef also the girl said that they calculated 2 different sweets per person and unfortunately the first sitting people took maybe 3 sweets per person so sorry there was non left!!! And it was just 8:30 pm and the restaurant was almost full, so the chef just sliced a green acid ananas and put it on the dessert table! We couldn't beleive it! Also the ambiance was terrible no music no nothing to put some atmosphere just a background boring radio. They didn't offer not even a newyears hat for the guests, the only thing they offered was a one hour Brazilian show after dinner that was nice but it's really sad the way all the waiters acted with no interest at all to tell the guests why they were passing around the 12 grapes ( which is a Mexican tradition or at least the Mexicans we always do it) so you would see everyone eating them without knowing why they got them before midnight !!
Big thing! My dad is 68 years and fell really bad on the floor just before going inside the room, cause the floor was really slimy for it had been raining , so we went to the reception to see at least if they had some pills for the pain or something they could give us and to our surprise they said they had nothing!!! so we had to go out to find a pharmacy and buy some things. HOW CAN IT BE POSSIBLE A HOTEL DOESN'T COUNT WITH A FIRST AID KIT!!?? NO ONE CAME TO TRY TO HELP US!
The hotel really needs to get some things together if it doesn't want to start listening to a list of complaints .the hotel could be a fantastic place if they take care of all this details cause it really has the potential to be fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    616
    155
    71
    51
See reviews for
676
1,223
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We checked in on January 8th and still here and can't wait to check out. Luckily we came for the festival so the hotel has been only to sleep and shower. First of all we didn't get our king bed and the ocean view can only be seen if you break you're neck in the balcony. The room quality is disastrous and the bathrooms are entirely ancient. The bed sheets and pillows are also low rate. You would think at $350 a night and ocean front location you would have better bedding and quality of room furniture. Save your money and go to the newer hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asanoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teague, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just stayed at Mahekal Dec 26- Jan 2. When we first arrived, I was a little disappointed at no tv or phone but that ended up being very nice. Pros: close to the beach, friendly staff, lots of security Cons: food, drinks, bathroom, costs. The breakfast was always very good. The lunch menu was ok but you could only pick one thing. The dinner was a large buffet but the food was usually not very good. Drinks, even water, are not included in anything. Even if you go to dinner, you have to pay for anything to drink. The resort would be much nicer if it was all inclusive. We stayed in one of the new palapas and anytime we took a shower, water ran all the way into the room. There was no barrier in the shower and no way to keep the water in. We had to call maintenance one night becuase there was a half inch of water in the room.. They got there fast and cleaned it up well. Everything was close by which was nice, including shops and nice restaraunts. Everything there is just very expensive but all in all a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blb0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Our second time in Mahekal: wants to come back again)
Leave in pueblo area (palapas). Very private rooms.
+
Great hotel garden
Great, outstanding staff!!!
Great food
Eco-friendly room (but still practice and comfortable)
Great sea))
Good location - end of walking 5th Avenue.
Service better than price
-
No frequent visitor discount program((
Poor lunch (you can change full dinner on one plate for lunch. Must be at least salad, main and desert).
Some location in hotel noise at night (laundry). Better to make additional sound protection for this place! In pueblo this sound quite strong at night((
Under reconstruction

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Артем Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just got back from spending Christmas week at this hotel. Stayed in the Aventura side (P27) in an Ocean Front Room for which I paid over 500 dollars a night.
Pros:
--Quiet
--Air conditioning worked great
--Front porch with the hammocks was very large and nice
--Nice bikes that you can use
--Security was all over the place
--Pools are small but decent.
--Grounds are nicely kept
--Beach is nice (although as others have mentioned it seems that people hog all the chairs by putting stuff out very early in the morning so that there are none available if you wait until like 8 am.)
--Staff is friendly, maid service towel sculptures are cute.

Cons

--Room was good size, but very dated. The curtains were too small to even cover the entire windows, which was irritating when the sun came up in the morning. Bathroom looked like it was done in the 70s, dark green toilet, Mexican tiles that had obviously had fallen off, shattered and been reinstalled many times over. The water pressure was very low, and the hot water was only lukewarm even leaving the cold all the way off. The electrical plug was in the bathroom was black from power spikes, it looked ancient and it was situated so that the blow dryer prongs had to actually be bent sideways to even get it to plug in. Very trailer park.
--Hazardous white pole. In front of Room P27 we witnessed two different people break their toes on this 6" white cement post that comes up out of the sand. No clue why it isn't painted bright red or something, but watch out for it if you walk that part of the beach.
--The smell !!!!!! Our room and everything in the vicinity smelled like a toilet, and I am not kidding. The Aventura section smells, and it gets worse as you walk to the north side of the resort. I checked with the front desk and was told that it is caused by a rotting Mangrove swamp and that they are trying to work with the government to get it taken care of. I don't buy it for a second. It is most definitely a sewer smell. We walked all over around the outskirts of the hotel and never smelled anything like it. you don't smell it until you get right in the Aventura section, and then the stench hits you. The smell does become less noticeable after your nose acclimates, but every time you come back to your room from being out, its back to the honey bucket inn. This is really totally unacceptable in my opinion and this was probably the thing that ruined the stay the most.
--No internet, anywhere. I knew from the website that there wasn't internet in the rooms, and I was able to justify staying here because they did supposedly have internet in the lobby, but the internet was non existent anywhere. To top it off, there are no phones in the room so no way to contact the front desk if you need something. You cant even use your data on your cel phone because you get next to no reception (I'm on ATT and could get no reception in my room, occasionally could get one bar if I walked out to the beach. The "internet" in the lobby and bar was a joke. When it worked, which was about twice while i was there, it was slower than dial up and there are always like 20 people crowded around trying to connect. So forget about using Skype to make calls, download any books from Amazon etc. Folks, this is the 21st century. People occasionally need to communicate with people back home for various reasons. There needs to be wireless throughout this hotel! If people want to disconnect from the world, let them just not connect to it :). I talked to the front desk about it and was told that it was the style of the hotel to not have internet. I am seriously surprised that they aren't having you boil your own water to take showers.
--Food - I only ate breakfast and lunch, so cannot comment on dinner. I would say it was just ok. Basic stuff, eggs, fruit, omelets, juice, cereal for breakfast. For lunch they had a pretty good selection, but the quality of the food was not very high, more like cafeteria quality. We much preferred the food in the restaurants on 5th AVE and would have gladly paid less for the room to have the food not be included and just get food in town.
--No gym
--Drinks are not included (I knew this going down there, but for the price that we paid, they really should have been)
--you get one room key, and have to wear it around your neck unless you want to lose it and pay $50. No small little plastic credit card keys like most every other hotel uses.
--No coffee maker in room. Closest Starbucks is about a 10 min walk.

Overall, I really felt like I got ripped off. I did stay there during high season, so maybe if I would have paid like $200 a night for the room it might have been worth it, but I really cant see myself ever staying here again. I walked down the beach to the north about 5 mins and came across the Paradiso La Perla hotel. Man, it is swank, stunningly beautiful and its about the same price. It really made the Mahekal look like a dump. I know where to stay next time.

Room Tip: Ocean front was nice, but if you are in the Playa section, don't get 27P unless they get rid of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Mahekal. When we first checked in, our neighbors told us our room had experienced a buzz of activity throughout the day, as the unit was being remodeled and they were finishing the project in time for our arrival. Well, it was very dirty with dust everywhere. So, our first job was to clean the place up, not what we wanted to do after traveling all day. Then, throughout the week, we repeatedly found rodent droppings on our bed. When we reported this, the maintenance person said they were coming from the thatched ceiling. We heard lots of squeaks so it appears that a family of mice or rats are sharing the palapa. The third negative was that it rained twice during our stay and the water poured into our unit from the roof. The first time, it flooded our night stand, ruining several books and creating a large pool of water. We reported it and the staff said they would take care of it but sure enough, nothing was done and when it rained a couple days later, we experienced a second flood.

The place is cute and has a lot of charm. However, the food is marginal at best and the atmosphere of the dining facilities is also marginal. We spent the second half of our vacation at a high rise all inclusive on the strip in Cancun. It cost around $100 more per night and didn't have the same charm but it was clean and the food was fabulous. The Mahakel has potential but if they want to be a $400 per night hotel, they need to clean up the place and fix the problems we encountered. Rodent droppings are completely unacceptable in my opinion and they didn't even apologize for the situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
You are 100 per cent correct and I apologize for not addressing the problems you encountered while at the hotel. Unfortunatley what makes MahekaL unique it also creates challenges for us.

Rain is diffcult to control and we have had an unusually heavy rainy season. We are doing all we can to avoid flooding and keeping water out of our guest rooms. Our palapa roofs, while very charming, they are made of natural fiber which attracts insects and other animlas. Mahekal is located within dense gardens, and sometimes animals choose our roofs to find shelter.

We just completed the first phase of our renovations and will resume them in May. We are doing renovations in phases to continue providing our services without affecting our guests. By mid-December 2014 the entire hotel, including what currently is Las Palapas, will be fully renovated. We hope you give us another opportunity so you can experience the new Mahékal.

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had just an awesome time at Mahekal. We added on a few days here after cave diving in Tulum for some relaxation and beach time. This place was great. The staff is so, so friendly and helpful. Literally, every staff person we encountered, from the front desk staff to the waitstaff were great. Their enthusiasm really made the trip wonderful. Plus we loved our Palapa - we had a garden view palapa and, even though there are other palapas nearby, we felt like we had complete privacy and we loved it. The beach is absolutely beautiful, the water is warm and clear. The restaurants here are great too - the food is good, waitstaff is awesome and they have beautiful surroundings, and having breakfast and dinner included made it a great deal. We felt very comfortable safety-wise here, and the hotel has a policy - if the cleaning staff comes into a room and sees phones/money/etc., they will not clean the room - this actually made us more aware of what we were doing with our valuables, which was great. Overall we just loved it here and can't wait to return. They have outdoor yoga classes 2x a week!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing