We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahekal Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rosa Mirador Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Real Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koox Hotel Banana(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Riviera del Sol(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Divina by Aldea Thai(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,112)
Filter reviews
3,112 results
Traveler rating
2,043
726
191
85
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,043
726
191
85
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshangri la caribehalf boardfuego restaurantpalapa stylegarden viewlas olasbreakfast and dinnerlas palapaspalapa roofocean frontping ponginfinity poolfifth avenuepalm treesthe wait staffcevichebug spray
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,540 - 1,545 of 3,112 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Loved our stay at mahekal at the end of the November. Stayed in 12p penthouse overlooking the pool and it was sensational!! Staff were quick to address our needs. Despite other reviews construction noise did not hear or bothered by. Restaurants provided well priced food and pool and bar were perfect for relaxing. If I return to PDC will definitely book at mahekal again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank thecraig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I booked here months ago but on arrival i was told i had to go to the 'other' reception. This turned out to be the reception of hotel las palapas next door.should have been told this when booking as i wouldn't have booked if id known i was being dumped elsewhere inferior hotel.don't make same mistake as me. To rub salt inthe wounds i have to pay for water with my included meals and my coffee afterwards.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Greetings to the UK,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Since some months ago, Hotel Las Palapas and Mahékal are undergoing a merging process, to at one point become the same Hotel.

Renovation works were done at both properties, to deliver a new beachfront experience in Playa del Carmen.

We understand your frustration, and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope you give us the chance to welcome you again sometime in the near future, to introduce you to the changes and updates done to the properties.

Hasta pronto,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were under the impression this place was quiet beach get away we found construction noise from morning till night on both sides of the resort. There is a strong sewer smell all the time. The food was ok I would suggest breakfast and lunch for meals and going into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RMM169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Greetings from Playa! Yes, our motto is to offer relaxation, and a place to unwind and disconnect. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our construction works, but we are working to offer a fully renovated 'mahekal' experience.

The construction you experienced, was done at some of our villas, that now have a similar layout but different interiors and decoration.

The smell you mention is harmless to humans, Although can be strong during certain season or time of the day. Scientists visit the Hotel regularly, to evaluate the quality of the water.

We really hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again, and deliver the magical experience that all our guests love.

Warm regards,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This review is quite late as we stayed in July, but was one of our best vacations ever. We booked a Garden Palapa, but stayed in a Ocean View single story palapa (3rd row from beach - 2nd palapa from public access) and enjoyed our cozy room for a family of 4. Grounds are beautiful and property is maintained very well. The location of hotel is the best if you are wanting to be near town. Prettiest beach by far of all properties in this area. Staff was attentive throughout the stay. Boli was wonderful about arranging transportation to the horse ranch and we loved our waiter, Rogelio, who served most of our breakfasts and dinners. Maids made cute little animals out of the towels each day that my daughter loved. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and you can order off the menu in addition to the buffet. We chose to eat dinner (instead of lunch) 5 of 6 days as it was price effective with two teenagers. Very pleased with the menu or buffet fare offered with exception of Italian night. We ordered lunch beachside a couple of times too. Happy Hour everyday from 5-6pm (2 for 1) at the Casa Club! I understand that a renovation is in progress or near, and will make this small, quiet and attentive resort even better when complete.

Room Tip: Stay in garden view rooms or 1-2 rows off beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just returned from a 7-night stay at Mahekal, our third in four years. As always, we had a wonderful time. The service continues to put this place in a different category: front desk staff were accommodating and helpful, Boli in particular; breakfast waiters were great - Rogelio, Luis and (Gabriel . . . slightly older than the others, been there a long time); beach waiters Florentino and Luis were very nice and quick; dinner waiters and bartenders were also helpful and quick, and all really made our stay that much more pleasant (as though it wouldn't be on the beach with the gorgeous view to see all day). The maids were so efficient and we appreciated their senses of humor with the towel sculptures!

As for the food, breakfast and lunch were excellent and fresh, and dinner was varied with lots of options. As some commenters stated, it is worth going out into Playa to check out a few other restaurants - there are great local taco stands and pizza places. The food certainly more than met our expectations.

We do hope the renovations don't impact the charm of Mahekal, with the local tile and furnishings. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the resort are quieter (garden view).
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews