We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Loved our stay at mahekal at the end of the November. Stayed in 12p penthouse overlooking the pool and it was sensational!! Staff were quick to address our needs. Despite other reviews construction noise did not hear or bothered by. Restaurants provided well priced food and pool and bar were perfect for relaxing. If I return to PDC will definitely book at mahekal again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank thecraig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,780)
There are newer reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 2,780 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

I booked here months ago but on arrival i was told i had to go to the 'other' reception. This turned out to be the reception of hotel las palapas next door.should have been told this when booking as i wouldn't have booked if id known i was being dumped elsewhere inferior hotel.don't make same mistake as me. To rub salt inthe wounds i have to pay for water with my included meals and my coffee afterwards.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kuepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Greetings to the UK,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Since some months ago, Hotel Las Palapas and Mahékal are undergoing a merging process, to at one point become the same Hotel.

Renovation works were done at both properties, to deliver a new beachfront experience in Playa del Carmen.

We understand your frustration, and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We hope you give us the chance to welcome you again sometime in the near future, to introduce you to the changes and updates done to the properties.

Hasta pronto,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were under the impression this place was quiet beach get away we found construction noise from morning till night on both sides of the resort. There is a strong sewer smell all the time. The food was ok I would suggest breakfast and lunch for meals and going into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RMM169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Greetings from Playa! Yes, our motto is to offer relaxation, and a place to unwind and disconnect. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our construction works, but we are working to offer a fully renovated 'mahekal' experience.

The construction you experienced, was done at some of our villas, that now have a similar layout but different interiors and decoration.

The smell you mention is harmless to humans, Although can be strong during certain season or time of the day. Scientists visit the Hotel regularly, to evaluate the quality of the water.

We really hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again, and deliver the magical experience that all our guests love.

Warm regards,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This review is quite late as we stayed in July, but was one of our best vacations ever. We booked a Garden Palapa, but stayed in a Ocean View single story palapa (3rd row from beach - 2nd palapa from public access) and enjoyed our cozy room for a family of 4. Grounds are beautiful and property is maintained very well. The location of hotel is the best if you are wanting to be near town. Prettiest beach by far of all properties in this area. Staff was attentive throughout the stay. Boli was wonderful about arranging transportation to the horse ranch and we loved our waiter, Rogelio, who served most of our breakfasts and dinners. Maids made cute little animals out of the towels each day that my daughter loved. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and you can order off the menu in addition to the buffet. We chose to eat dinner (instead of lunch) 5 of 6 days as it was price effective with two teenagers. Very pleased with the menu or buffet fare offered with exception of Italian night. We ordered lunch beachside a couple of times too. Happy Hour everyday from 5-6pm (2 for 1) at the Casa Club! I understand that a renovation is in progress or near, and will make this small, quiet and attentive resort even better when complete.

Room Tip: Stay in garden view rooms or 1-2 rows off beach.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just returned from a 7-night stay at Mahekal, our third in four years. As always, we had a wonderful time. The service continues to put this place in a different category: front desk staff were accommodating and helpful, Boli in particular; breakfast waiters were great - Rogelio, Luis and (Gabriel . . . slightly older than the others, been there a long time); beach waiters Florentino and Luis were very nice and quick; dinner waiters and bartenders were also helpful and quick, and all really made our stay that much more pleasant (as though it wouldn't be on the beach with the gorgeous view to see all day). The maids were so efficient and we appreciated their senses of humor with the towel sculptures!

As for the food, breakfast and lunch were excellent and fresh, and dinner was varied with lots of options. As some commenters stated, it is worth going out into Playa to check out a few other restaurants - there are great local taco stands and pizza places. The food certainly more than met our expectations.

We do hope the renovations don't impact the charm of Mahekal, with the local tile and furnishings. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the resort are quieter (garden view).
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at Mahekal over thanksgiving 2013. Pros: the bungalows/palapas are beautiful, whether on the beach or garden. Pretty walking trails, nice beach, smaller resort, so very warm and personable atmosphere. Quiet nights except for waves crashing. Food is good, with generous variety day to day (dinner, breakfast all the same).
Cons: hotel is located between public beach access. In some places resort footpaths are adjacent to public areas with car access. There is a sulfur smell in the beach area. The resort is under construction and will be for some time. Boli accommodated us generously and changed our room away from the noise. They start early and run around with wheelbarrows all day. Alcohol, water and soda is not included. There are shops nearby for retail purchase. This gets pricey after a week there. There a no onsite kids activities, other than ceramic painting.
Overall, vey romantic and quiet resort, unique too, given the palapas and balcony with swinging hammocks.

Room Tip: Request to be Away from noise, construction
Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank SunnyRN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Gerente at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor. It's always good to read them because they help us recognize our guests favorites, and those details where we need to pay more attention.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused by our construction works, and it's good to read the only interruption your nights had, was the waves crashing.

Phase one remodeling is over, and we are very happy to offer guests, some of our brand new units this Holiday season.

We really hope you give us the chance to welcome you again, and deliver the new 'mahékal' experience. Stay tuned for news and updates.

Warm regards,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHÉKAL BEACH RESORT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week and thought it was a wonderful experience. The staff and facilities are both wonderful. The food overall was good, but I would recommend eating breakfast and lunch at the resort and going out for dinner if you really want to experience the local flavor. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAAngieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,094 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#43 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $193 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing